We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“...a magic sea view”
other traveller has booked this property
There are pool towels and sun beds by the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
There are pool towels and sun beds by the pool
There is an outdoor sitting area and two outdoor dining areas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
There are pool towels and sun beds by the pool
There is an outdoor sitting area and two outdoor dining areas
On The Rocks Ios Cyclades Greece
The view is breathtaking
There is a spacious lawn garden
The two villas share a swimming pool
The villas are enclosed and private
The entrance
The beach is 5 min walk from the house
The town is 800m five min drive or 15 min stroll
The living room is spacious with flat TV and library
There are four double and two twin bedrooms
All bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms
All bedrooms have a pillow menu to choose from
There are complimentary bathrobes and slippers
The villas are cleaned daily and the bed linen changed twice a week
The villa is air conditioned throughout
The kitchen is fully equipped at a very high standard
Be inspired and stir up a great dish
There are complimentary toiletries
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ios, Cyclades, South Aegean

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Silvia S
Novara, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“...a magic sea view”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

An amazing solution in Ios. We stay with our friends in September. The position is spectacular, closed to chora and with a magical sea view. The villa is big, well cared, bright. There are two double room, a children bedroom and a play room for babies. The pool is large and with different deep. All around villa there is a green grass, great for children.
The kitchen and the bathrooms are large, modern, well equipped, clean. Every day was done cleaning the villa and the pool. Emmamuela and his housband are very kindly and hospitable and their beautiful villa had helped make our holiday wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Dear Silvia,

Thank you for your kind words. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests and we are delighted you had a wonderful holiday!!
Hope to see you again sometime in future!!

All the very best,
Yannis and Emmanuela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursula M
Schlieren, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Extra ordinary service, wonderful house with superb view”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Service: First of all I would like to mention the absolutely outstanding service Emanuela and Yannis gave to us - this was unbelievable. The house is cleaned outside in the mornings, when the maid is bringing the bread and water for the day. We got to try several greek dishes and got some wines as a welcome present. Really outstanding. In the afternoons, the house was cleaned and the beds were done. The retired Greek-English couple did everything to make you feel comfortable, better than in any 5 star Hotel.
Location: The house is located above the Little beach Valmas (7 minutes to walk down, some more to walk up) and about 15 minutes walking from the Chora. By car it takes about 3 minutes - a car is highly recommendable, but there are very frequent buses from Chora to the bigger beaches. The house is situated on top of a hill with no neighbouring houses - very nice. No direct sunset view, but in the morning you can see the sun rise. The gardening (nice gras and plants) makes the sunbathing near the pool very nice. Bigger beaches are within 10 minutes drive.
House: The furniture is chosen with lots of taste and local touch. The bedrooms on the second Floor (in each of the two houses) are of a nice size. There is a/c over the whole house, but it was very windy (not s hot also during the day, which we enjoyed), so we did not use it. On the first floor the bedroom is very nice, but small. The children's bedroom is a little dark, the beds are separated and can not be combined. There is though a playroom where you can store your luggage and extra things, if not needed in the room. Very convenient. Also the washing machine can be used, which is comfortable during a long vacation.
Ios: Offers really a lot. We were so surprised and pleased - good restaurants like the Katogi, excellent beaches like the Mylopotas and cheap Prices. We went alos to the Pathos club and had a good laugh (we are in our 50ies and the crowd there is vey young..)..My husband is not so fond of beaches and could go to drive 4 by 4 and enjoyed himself a lot. We also rented twice a boat with George - once to Sikinos, which is not very recommendable, as not so interesting and once to the South Ios, this is well worth it. There are a lot of secluded beaches, which are very nice to visit.
Ferry: This is an issue... Try to fly to Santorini (we flew to Mykonos and there are not so many Ferries...), where it is calmer (Airport is smaller) and there are a lot more ferries to Ios. Don't book them too early - there were lots of space left this year in all classes despite the high Season - the ferry schedule changes all the time and it is almost impossible to change tickets (the ferry companies just change your Travel times without asking and then it is almost impossible to change...), Shop around for the ferry tickets as the Prices for the same ferry vary significantly. The link which is on the Homepage of On the rocks leads to the Travel agent Acteon (is located on Ios). Stefano has good Prices, but the service is not the best (we had another Travel agent as well, which had difficluties as well....). In order not to loose too much money, I would book the ferries only 1 or 2 months ahead.
Groceries: There are 2 butchers in the old town - you get every kind of meat, but you need to ask (they have only a very small selection in the window of the shop). You can also get meat in the Supermarket at the port. Fish can be bought in the bigger butcher shop in the old town. The fish shop near the port has hardly any fish for shoppers, all go to the restaurants.There are 3 grocery stores - the one on the port is very frequented, the Aegean Market near the Chora is very organised (I liked it best) and then Rolan, which had not a lot of fresh fruits or vegetables - all the rest was very good. Vegetables can be bought also in the old town of Chora. here is an excellent bakery in the Chora and near the port (where you even can buy ice cream cake). You can really get everything on Ios to cook your own meals.
Summary: I celebrated my birthday and invited several friends and Family and all of them loved the house, the Island and Overall the superb service of Emmanuela and Yannis (and of course of Alina and her colleague, who cleaned the house daily). Thanks a lot for this memorable time !

Travelling group: Großer Gruppe
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Dear Ursula,
Thank you for your kind words. It was great meeting you all. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at "On The Rocks" and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Yannis & Emmanuela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annas1335
Munich, Germany
1 review
“An unforgettable getaway”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

"On the rocks" is an amazing property, with many different facilities. The owners Yannis and Emmanuela welcomed us warmly. I went with a group of friends during the end of may 2016. The house is close to the city of Ios, Chora (walking distance) and to many beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
Dear Anna,
Thank you for your kind words!!
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your fiends at "On The Rocks" and to know that you had a memorable holiday. We hope to see you again sometime in future!!

Best regards,
Yannis & Emmanuela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IoaMS
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This has been by far the best stay in the greek islands to date.We travel every summer to a different Greek Island destination with our family.This year we selected the Greek island of Ios.Last time we visited was 1983.We made the reservations from the US after exploring several different options.We tried to accommodate 2 families of 5 plus a maid.Every family consisted of 2 adults and 3 children ages from 8-18 y/old.We were only interested in luxury accommodations.The location and property looked perfect and the arrangements were easy to make.Before arriving the owners/managers of the property made everything super easy.Island only 4 hrs from Pireaus with fast speed ferries.We were traveling using our own SUV's rented from Athens.
We stayed for 8 nights.The Island was great.Amazing beaches.Easy to drive around.The property was amazing.Better than expected.Clean and accommodating.Had everything you could ask for.The owners were the most hospitable couple we have met so far and they provided the best service we have experienced.

Here are some highlights:
Private property/ large parking space,secured and gated.

Gated property

City easy to access even by foot/about 15 min walking.We tried this several times.Makes great family time with great views.Try it at night time

Super nice large pool.

Accommodating Rooms.

Property fully air conditioned

High speed wifi.

Beds with superb mattes/pillows.This is an important item since when you are traveling most of the time you will end up with sleeping accommodations not up to expectation.This was no the case here.The sleeping /Bed/pillow quality was PERFECT.

Personalized service.Every day we had a maintenance lady bring us everything we could wish for plus complimentary muffins for the kids,fresh baked bread,fruits,etc.

Small items like charger converters were available for us!!

Complimentary wine,fruits, and Drinks.

The very last day the owners took us out and we got to know them better and to socialize.So Sweet of them .

John and Emmanuela were the perfect hosts and their property is a gem.
I would highly recommended.I will definitely return since the island stole my heart.
I tried hard to find something off or that they did not have but could not find any.This has been a great value for our money.One word.Superb!
Thank you for a great vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners hospitality
Liked least: Cant think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind words and lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your holidays in Ios and that we were able to make your stay at "On The Rocks" a enjoyable, relaxing and memorable experience.
It was great meeting you all and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again sometime in the future.
All the very Best.
Yannis & Emmanuela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emanuela4...
Bissone, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect vacation”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a wonderful vacation! Breathtaking views. We rent the two villas for a family reunion and everybody loved it. Emanuela and Yannis were perfect hosts making us feeling like being guests of family friends. Alina the housekeeper, spoiled us every morning cooking muffins....everything was fantastic!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Dear Emanuela,
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure meeting you and your beautiful family. We are delighted you had a memorable experience at "On The Rocks" and hope to see you again!

All the very best,
Yannis & Emmanuela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chiara_as...
Bissone, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing villa!”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

On The Rocks is simply stunning, the best one can ask for (and much, much more!). The villa is beautifully furnished and has specular views over the sea; the hosts, Emmanuela and Yannis, are amazing and helpful. Each day Alina, the cleaning lady, brought us home made baked goods and cleaned the house to perfection. The villa is in a quiet location, only 1.5 km from the Chora (village) and is the perfect starting point to explore the beautiful island of Ios.
Everything about our stay was perfect. I traveled there with my extended family and guests ranged in age from 79 to 8 years old: everyone loved the villa and we are looking forward to going back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing, it was all perfect
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
Dear Chiara,

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a great pleasure meeting you and you beautiful family. We are deligheted that you enjoyed your stay at "On The Rocks" and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Best wishes,

Yannis and Emmanuela and Alina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belleg47
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just spent nearly two weeks with our children and grandchildren . All the previous reviews grouped together cannot do justice to this amazing spot. Literally heaven on earth!!
The villas are gorgeous and immaculate and in the most magical setting. Sheep herding in the fields to our left, views of Santorini and the magnificent Mediterranean in front , the idyllic town of Chora in the near distance and just a short way from the villas.
We woke every morning to perfect weather greeted by the lovely Alina ladened with freshly baked goodies. Delicious!!
John and Emanuella are the perfect hosts who manage to make you feel like family. It was sad to leave but we plan to return.
Thank you for a most memorable holiday!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2015
Dear Belle,

Thank you for your kind words. It was a real pleasure to meet you and your lovely family. We are delighted that we have assisted in making your "Greek Odyssey" a memorable experience and hope to welcome you back again.

All the very best,
Yannis and Emmanuela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing