We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Sun Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ios Palace Hotel(Milopotas)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homer's Inn Hotel(Ios)(Great Value!)
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brothers Hotel(Ios)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hermes Hotel(Chora)(Great Value!)
US$23
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
43
16
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
16
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelthe ownerferry porttown centrewalking distancerooms are cleanalexpool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2009

The hotel is very decent. The rooms are clean and the owners are very friendly. It has a nice view when sitting in the pool area. It has a/c, tv, fridge in the rooms but the rooms themselves are pretty simple for what you pay.

What we found really unacceptable was the so-called breakfast. 2 slices of toasted bread, one butter and two marmelade caps, of the most cheap ones. 1 small glass of preserved juice and coffee with a strange taste. TOTALLY unacceptable. For a 110€ triple room, we would expect a small buffet, offering milk & serials, yoghurt, cheese & ham, eggs and fruit.

We also had a problem with the wc, which from time to time flooded and drained by itself. One last thing: every time we switched the a/c on, the room was smelling badly for several minutes... (do not have a clue why!)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I stayed in the Golden Sun for 10 nights at the end of June and I cannot say anything bad about this hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and very helpful, the rooms are a good size and all have large balconys in the sun all day, Rooms are equipped with a bathroom with a shower, fridge, tv, air conditioning which was essential - even in June! and a wardrobe. We had everything we needed - you are even supplied with a towel for the pool area, towels for the shower and the rooms are cleaned every day.

The best bit about the hotel was the pool area, the swimming pool is amazing and all the sunbeds have padding. There is a pool bar with snacks and drinks available during the day at a reasonable price and the pool is in the sun all day.

The location of the hotel is walking distance to the port, the hotel provides free transport too and from the hotel to the port daily for catching a ferry. The port has a few restaurants and a supermarket, A really nice place called Zest does amazing ice cream cocktails!!!

If you fancy the crazy nightlife in the town itself you can either catch a bus from just outside the hotel for 1 euro 40 (bus comes every 20 mins up until 12am) or walk it in 20 mins (although it is all uphill and can tire you out - but is a nice walk back). If you do decide to walk call in to Escape restaurant on the way, our favourite restaurant for our stay, we went 5 times!! Lovely staff , great atmosphere and amazing food!!.

Is nice that this hotel is not in the town centre, the town is noisy until 8am and not the cleanest. It was good to be able to visit the town when we were looking for some crazy drinking then retire back to the nice peaceful hotel.

I dont have anything bad to stay about this hotel and would definately stay here again if I ever go back to Ios. The atmosphere was very relaxed, the place was spotless, the people were very friendly, no complaints. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlesthobo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I am also shocked that anyone can write a bad review about the Golden Sun.My husband and i have been been going to this hotel for years.As drunken teenagers and now with our young son.The owners jani and his wife alongside his daughters and son in laws have been so hospitable and we witness year after year the care they show all there guests and the special relationship they have with people.Indeed time and again we meet guests who have stayed here over and over again for the same reasons.
The hotel is so well maintained and they update something every year.This year gone are the white plastic loungers and in there place was the most comfortable padded ones with lovely yellow towels provided.
The rooms are cleaned daily and the hotel is spotless.
The pool is a delight with beautiful views alongside a bar that provides drinks and snacks.
It is in a great location about 5 mins walk to the port with a few lovely restaurants or a 5 min bus journey to the village(bus stop located outside the hotel)where there are even more lovely restaurants and a great night life.
This hotel is a good honest hotel which has brought us back to the island of Ios so many times.It represents great value for money.If you have children ask for a room without a balcony but an outside area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel19Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

Had the most amazing stay in this hotel for 18nights. It is a small family run hotel located near the port and only a short walk up the hill to the village. We booked it because it was the only place we could get but it turned out to be just perfect.

The rooms are average size with a balcony which has an amazing view. The room was cleaned so well everyday and left immaculate.The pool is by far the best part of this hotel. Its so clean,safe and most of the time we had it all to ourselves. The family that run and own it are so great. They looked after us so well and made us feel like we we're part of the family.

I cant possibly understand how anyone could write a bad review about this place. when i go back to Ios in the future i would never consider staying any where else but the Golden Sun.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank meabhrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

Having just returned from Ios and staying at the Golden Sun hotel I was very surprised to read one review about the place,what do these people want.We found the amenities were excellent,very clean and tidy,rooms maybe a little small but I have stayed in smaller. Please don't let one review put you off the place because both myself and my wife had a wonderful time there.The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate you with whatever you wanted.We would certainly go back because overall I think It was excellent value.Good luck to them I hope they have a wonderful season.Look forward to perhaps returning next year.
PS The photograph celebrates my wife's Birthday,the flowers were from the hotel owners.What a very thoughtful touch.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WalesCosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews