We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go again!”
Review of Villa Mata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Mata
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Ios
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I came here with 2 of my friends for a week´s holiday and Villa mata was great. Lambros is really helpful and friendly, came to pick us up from the port on the first night and was usually around. We had air con, the rooms were cleaned regularly and we got new towels when we needed them too. I would have liked to have had a bin though but using a bag was fine. There are decent kitchen and bbq facilities and the buildings are just really pretty with a fun atmosphere. There are plenty of shops nearby for souvenirs and food, reasonable restaurants, and it´s right by a lovely beach. I wouldn´t really recommend going if you want a good night´s sleep though, it was full of other 18 year olds and apparently there was a retired couple bothered by our ´incessant partying´!

Room Tip: if you´re getting a room for 3, check whether 2 of you will have to share
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

Ios is just perfect and Villa Mata played a big role in this impression I have. Villa Mata and Ios will suit everyone from a baby to a pensioner. You arrive to the island with a ferry then Lambros greets you at the port and you walk 5 minutes to a beautiful villa with vivid colours. My favourite beach Koumbara was only a 15 minute walk and for those who do not like walking there are busses from the port to all directions. The night life is beyond description and the day life and the beaches are the best to chill out completely and forget about stuff you want to forget.

I got sick due to an alien virus and I was vomiting my guts without having drunk anything. At 04:00 I think Lambros' aunt Vicky brought me tea, then they told me that I could go to the hospital and they even gave me a stomach medicine. The family is extremely humble and welcoming and professional at the same time.

Just go to Villa Mata and you will see. The reason I wrote "What happens in Ios, stays in Ios" is because one can simply not have the same experience and holiday somewhere else. Alongside this, if you are young and adventurous some stuff really has to stay in Ios.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cantheman953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This traditional little greek villa is perfect. It is family owned which adds to the heart warming hospitality which all travellers receive upon entering Villa Mata. The hotel is on the beach and very close to the port, and only a 5-10 minute walk from the great night life and town centre. Additionally, the villa is spotlessly clean and welcoming, with all the decorations and gardens. It is definitely worth while staying here.

Room Tip: ask for number 10, it is probably the best room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Villa Mata is a MUST if you go to Ios! There's no better place i could recommend for you to stay in Ios, because Mata is simply the best on offer. The main attractivity of Villa Mata is without a doubt the staff; it's a family-run business and the man who is in charge, Lambros, is the nicest, most helpful and fun guy you'll ever meet! The location of the Villa is a close second in what makes it amazing, as it's a 30 second walk for the beach, a 2 minute walk to the port where all the cafés and restaurants are, and less than a 10 minute walk from the town centre where all the nightlife goes on! Definitely recommend this place especially if you are going with a group of friends looking for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaflet t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Wonderful place: we were a group of 60 people and we were welcomed joyfully and looked after in every occasion. It's in a comfortable position right close to the beach and 15 minutes walk from IOS. There are very nice relaxing areas with a common kitchen and tables always available. The most important thing was the great hospitality from Lambros and his family. They were there to give information and help in every situation. We lived 10 days like if they were a second family!! I greatly advise to go there if you want a fun, relaxing and crazy holiday in IOS.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank ElenaNAT94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Enjoyed my stay here.
The place is family owned and the owner is very helpful, welcoming and friendly.
The place is close to everywhere. All food and shops near the port is a 3 minute walk, the main town is a pleasant 10 minutes walk.
Good value

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Since i booked i received a very friendly email confirming my booking and also offering to pick me up for free from the port, something ABSOLUTELY new for me, since i never receive such a welcoming confirming emails, that make you actually feel like visiting friends instead of cold hotels. But this is indeed what made my time in Ios specially nice, since the hotel staff was always friendly and looking after any detail that i may need. I recommend this hotel not just for the good location, clean and cool rooms (with air-con) but on the top of everything for the lovely staff, great people!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pialovesgreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ios hotels
0.2 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#13 of 42 in Ios
145 reviews
0 mi away
Galini Pension
Galini Pension
#2 of 4 in Yialos
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Galaxy Hotel
Galaxy Hotel
#9 of 10 in Milopotas
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
445 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ios Palace Hotel
Ios Palace Hotel
#3 of 10 in Milopotas
540 reviews
1.2 mi away
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
Far-Out Hotel & Spa
#8 of 10 in Milopotas
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mata

Address: Yialos Beach, 840 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ios
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ios
Price Range: £20 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Mata 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Hotel Ios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing