We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you will love it”
Review of Villa Mata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Mata
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Ios
Reviewed 16 November 2013

cute little place right next to the beach. quiet and clean, just what we wanted.
the owner georgia was always there to help us in everything we wanted.
the rooms are clean and the bathrooms are big.
very cheap, very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank xrist s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (351)
There are newer reviews for Villa Mata
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have stayed in Villa Mata with friends this summer and I have to say.... BEST PLACE IN IOS!!!
There is nothing bad to say! Lambros picked us up from the port and he and his sister Georgia were also so happy to assist us. Always with a smile and sooo friendly!! The rooms are spacious, well decorated and very clean, the garden is amazing, the overall feeling is just perfect!! If you go to Ios, you must stay there!!!! See you all in a few months!! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It was my first time and i will definitely go back to this gem!! A very traditional, peaceful, and homey place to stay, owned by an extremely friendly family! Lambros and Georgia are so so great - they are always willing to help you out and provide you with any information needed, always point out honest suggestions of what to do and where to go, plus they are great company!
The location is really close to the port, which is extremely convenient and very close to amazing beaches and beach bars.
Definitely the best value for your money.
I loved the place and the people...I cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I really suggest you go to Villa Mata ( i have been twice) if you are lucky enought to go to Ios. It is definitely the best value for money and the rooms are perfectly clean and the owner Lambros is always there and able to help with any problem you may have. Its also really convenient ( right next to the port) and very close to the centre and only a very short bus ride from all the best beaches. If i had the chance to go to ios i would not think twice about choosing villa mata again. There is everything you need and more with lovely restaurants only a short walk away too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexbox25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Everything was great! After we booked Lambros the owner sent a very friendly email asking our arrival details and arranged to meet us at the port. It a short walk to the villa which had lovely vines and flowers in the garden. A 2 min walk to the beach and bars which is great an very close to the shops and bus stop to get to the main town. Lambros and his sister were so lovely and greeted us every morning an suggested great places to visit such as Maganari beach, which is a must if you come to Ios. The room was a good size and comfortable and lovely view of both the sea and mountain. Definitely recommended this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jassy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Villa Mata really is a home away from home! I went back to stay here this year for my SECOND time as i loved it so much. It is in a great location close to the port and supermarkets and only a short quad bike / bus ride away from the town. The small gardens and outdoor kitchens are beautiful and very peaceful to relax during the day. Last but not least the service here is FANTASTIC! Lambros really makes you feel welcome from the second you walk in to Villa Mata and he is always there to help with anything you need. I highly recommend this place and i will be staying there when i go back for my third time !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keelinmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

(Sorry for my english, I'm from Milano) I stayed in Villa Mata from 24 July to 3 August with my friends: I think that if you haven't been at Villa Mata, you haven't really been in Ios! The place is very nice, with many plants and a delicious common kitchen. The rooms are perfectly clean! The position is convenient: you cross the road and you're arrived at Yialos Beach, you walk along the street and you find the harbour, restaurants, car/moto/quad rentals, the coach station and a Carrefour Supermarket; close to Villa Mata starts also the path to the Village. But the best reason to stay in Villa Mata is the owner: Lambros Karasoulas, whose kindness accompanies you during your journey, always reliable and very funny; he manages Villa Mata with his wonderful sister Georgia, who's ready to give you infos whenever you need. I really can't find any reason not to go here when on holiday to Ios!

Room Tip: If you want quietness, ask for upstairs rooms. If you prefer looking for relationships, ask for grou...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mendiz92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ios hotels
0.2 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#13 of 42 in Ios
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helena
Hotel Helena
#22 of 42 in Ios
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marcos Village Hotel
Marcos Village Hotel
#28 of 42 in Ios
53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ios Resort Hotel
Ios Resort Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chora
445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Hotel
Golden Sun Hotel
#20 of 42 in Ios
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mata

Address: Yialos Beach, 840 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ios
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ios
Price Range: £19 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Mata 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Hotel Ios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing