We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little villa!”
Review of Villa Mata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Mata
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Ios
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little villa!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Lambros the owner of this villa was very helpful - he collected us from the ferry, talked through things to do and see in Ios and was also happy to make reservations for us over the phone at popular restaurants. The room was clean and comfortable with a fridge and cutlery to allow us to be self sufficient. Only difficulty we had was the shower head flooding the bathroom. But the rooms are cleaned daily. The villa is located in the port which is a bit of a walk into the town but with quad bikes this was not a problem. Would recommend staying here to friends visiting Ios!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    33
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
77
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laveno-Mombello, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I went to Ios for a week with about 80 friends to celebrate our graduation. Our hotel, which has become a home to us, was Villa Mata, run by THE man of the island, Lambros.
Villa Mata is located very conveniently close to the port of Ios, to the beach of Ios bay and to a whole range of facilities close to the port (supermarket, loads of restaurants, motorbike/car rentals). The center of the town is about 10 minutes away by foot.
The Villa itself is very homely, with a relaxed mood and perfect for big groups who want to hang out together outside of their rooms. Every room is well-provided, with a shower, fridge and airconditioning. Lambros can always be found in his spot at the entrance, always available and always ready to have a chat and a laugh.

Life in Villa Mata was like nothing I had experienced before. If you're looking for a place where you can feel at home, comfortably close to everything you need and with Lambros as your superhero host, then Villa Mata is THE place to be for you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiSp96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnago, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We went as a group of 80 people to villa mata for our graduation hollidays. The villa is beautifull and peacefull. Lambros, the manager, is extremelly hepfull for anything you need (booking ferries, quads etc) and above all extremely friendly! The room were cleaned every day and so was the whole villa making it extremely clean.
The way up to town is fast (around 10min walking slowly). Also, I would advice taking a quad to visit the other beaches around the island because it is an amazing experience and the beach of the port is not that great.
We passed 9 days in ios, villa matta is an amazing place. Would totally come back and advise it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I came here with around 80 of my friends and had the time of my life. I felt like we were all a big family. The location is perfect; a minute walk from the beach and just next to the port where you have several shops. Lambros is absolutely amazing and there whenever help is needed.
I absolutely recommend Villa Mata!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindeBurssens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here at short notice, recommendation from a friend and it was a wonderful surprise. Tucked away just behind the beach on the port, very simple and pretty place with Bougainvillea all over, very clean rooms, extremely friendly owners (Lambros will do his best to make your stay as enjoyable as possible), and 2 minutes walk away from a lovely port beach. maximum 5 minutes walk from beach cafe/bar, small super market, ticket office by the landing bay, scooter rental, and little shops selling local stuff. All very quiet, friendly and peaceful, you would not know its a port at all. I have traveled a lot all over, and enjoy simple beach hotels with no fuss. This is one of the best I have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lambros is the best host possible. You leave feeling like an old friend rather than a guest. The rooms are nice and very clean. We even had our own kitchen. When I go back to Ios this is the place I will stay at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Second time I have stayed here and wouldn't stay anywhere else. .Lambros is the most helpful person on the island always around the hotel offering advice on everything from Ios to other parta of Greece...will even go out drinking with the guests if required. ..what a great host

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ios hotels
0.5 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#13 of 42 in Ios
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brothers Hotel
Brothers Hotel
#1 of 42 in Ios
402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ios Resort Hotel
Ios Resort Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chora
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helena
Hotel Helena
#18 of 42 in Ios
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Francesco's
Francesco's
#11 of 42 in Ios
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mata

Property: Villa Mata
Address: Yialos Beach, 840 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Mata 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Mata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mata Hotel Ios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing