We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a good time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marcos Village Hotel
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Ios
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Such a good time”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We turned up at Marko's village by mistake as we could not remember which hostel we were booked into for the 3 nights we were planning to stay in Ios. We ended up staying at Markos even after we realised we were at the wrong place(ended up staying for 3 weeks). This place is the place to stay in ios for sure. So close to the village and bus stop across the road if you don't want to walk the 15m walk to the beach.
George was such a good host and dropped us off at the port when we were leaving.
Would definitely stay here again. some of the craziest and best weeks i've had.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jani_331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    10
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

So here i am once again in IOS just cant escape this lovely island.....i like staying at Markos Village as its layed back chillaxed atomsphere and the owners are young and very easy going. George is like family and he treats everyone with respect and only wants you to be happy! At the moment i am sitting in the bar playing music through his u-tube system.....Hotel California.....and the pool water has been warmed by the sun so its all good..)). Lots of new faces arriving everyday so your sure to make lots of friends here. And the location is so close to the clubs and bars and restaurants.....so much at your doorstep. Outside hotel is bus stop that goes straight down to the beach. Make sure u request balcony rooms as the view from this side of village is the best in the village. Cheap rooms but are very clean and will satisfy most travellers that stay in hotels, hostels and backpackers..check out the photos as what you see is what you get....all rooms in Ios are all the same style trust me. But here the cocktails are made to cater the budget travler at 2.50 euros for a Long island ice tea its cheapest i have seen on the island.....so for 15 euros u can get pretty drunk before you head out to the 30 + bars, they are a 3 min walk from the hotel. George definately trys to please all is guest by offering welcome shots at night and always asking if the need anything that can make there stay better. George even allows you to use the kitchen to cook...)) The island is a party machine....beach eat sleep and party.....thats it.....beach by day and village by night. Markos Village is also connected to a club named IOS BLUE and a restaurant Thai Smile they are also in the village. Giannis the barman is amazing and extreamly funny and friendly. Everyone that stays here is always happy but dont expect the ritz.....but most important it is clean fun and friendly......i am a Conciereg by trade and can say that this place is one of the top 4 to stay in Ios....but the main diff is that it has the cheapest drinks outta all the hotels in the village......free internet and wifi.....you cant go wrong with this place.......Ios is the party capitol......i have travelled to most Greek Islands.....this one is by far my favorite.....George will pick you up from the port and take you down when you leave......great service....i have spent the last 5 days here and have another 5 to go......i hardly have spent time in the room only when i sleep.....there is so much to do here......off to ride a 4 wheeler and see the beaches today.....George can arrange anything you need......so i do hope you make the choice like i do every year to stay at this lovely friendly and budget hotel....you definately will be happy...... i hope this helps.......enjoy your holiday!!!

Room Tip: Room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUSSIE3000_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I'm only giving one star because the hotel had taken reservations over its own capacity and didn't have any room left for us (!) even though we booked more than 2 months in advance. We were placed in a nearby hotel and the whole thing didn't feel very professional. They basically told us they had an additional building nearby and that's where we would stay, but would still have access to the pool and all. Turns out it was a totally different hotel... Thanks for treating us for freaking idiots. Anyway our room looked terribly outdated, depressing and tacky and had a striking view on a plain wall, standing one meter away from our window, with no sunlight at all.
On the plus side, the staff was rather friendly and nice during our stay there so the room problem wasn't that big of a deal since we barely stayed in the room anyway but overall, not a great experience. For those booking a room during high season: beware, you might end up in another hotel. Won't be coming back here, obviously.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank furrybanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Yet again i have returned to Markos Village hotel to my suprise it has satalite tv and all the main rooms have been renovated and look impressive. The host George was there to pick me up from the port, he is such a kind person who really wants to make your stay special. The main bar and pool area was great as always. This is my 5th stay at this resort its more of a hotel then a hostel, i must say that the new edition THAI SMILE restaurant is absalutely delightful, Giannis the bar man and the chef maria are always helpful in getting you a drink or a spaggetti and a well cooked breakfast. FREE WIFI.....and the return trip to the boat was great 2. I had a mojito which was made by giannis it is the best on the island.......would like to thank all the staff who made my stay as wonderful as always..........this hotel is well priced and is in the best location it has the medical centre next door and the bus stop outthe front, supermarket is one minute away......and the bars and pubs are 3 mins walk.....so at night it is easy to waik home.......during the day you can head down to the beach which only takes 7 mins by bus and cost you 1.60euro.........the room and sheets were changed on request and nothing was ever to much to ask for........Inclueding the welcome shots and the 12pm pub crawl that is offered from the bar.......George even arrange my ferry tickets and helped me with accomadation in Santorini.......see u next year.......most hotels in Ios are the same......basic beds and basic rooms but the difference here at Markos Village is the Views and the cheap price for me and the pool bar.........this hotel suite the budget traveller.....beds are great i had no problem they are wooden and very good for me.......and air con Tv.....thats all i need and like i said the price is better then half the other hotels.......dont be a fool and stay anywhere else.......MARKOS VILLAGE IS A GREAT PLACE......!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AUSSIE3000_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed there just 1 night after getting convinced by Marco at the harbour upon arrival by hydrofoil.

I asked to see a couple of rooms but I did not want to stay on the groundfloor and had to settle for a first floor room but with shared balcony. So you could never leave your balcony doors open when away because the next door guests could just go into your room.

They also had a bar and young people hung around just below room until late (midnight-1am). Fine if you're that sort of guest, but if you like your peace and quiet, it's just annoying.

One of the two mattresses (they didn't have double beds, only twins) was very uncomfortable and I could feel all the springs. I tried to tell the lady owner this the next morning, but she got mad and did not listen.

In the morning I swam in the nice big pool and Marco gave me a portion of homemade spinash pies which was a very nice gesture. My opinion is that he's much nicer than his wife.

All in all, I would certainly not go back because it's suited for party people and not quiet couples.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pernilleskokken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Very Basic Hotel well priced in town. Family run with pool and tunes. Rooms are dark and air conditioned great for sleeping during the day . Drinks are cheap and the pool bar is open untill 12 every night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicatsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Basic rooms with a bed & bathroom, not much space. Our room wasn't overly clean on arrival & there was a bit of mould on the shower curtain, but it's cheap. Location is fantastic, short walk to the town centre & laundromat right next door. Staff were friendly & helpful & there is a free transfer to & from the port. Cheap drinks & meals at the hotel bar & cafe.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippipip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ios hotels
0.1 mi away
Homer's Inn Hotel
Homer's Inn Hotel
#13 of 42 in Ios
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lofos Village Hotel
Lofos Village Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chora
333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#24 of 42 in Ios
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Far-Out Village Hotel
Far-Out Village Hotel
#7 of 10 in Milopotas
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Sun Hotel
Golden Sun Hotel
#22 of 42 in Ios
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Armadoros Hotel
Armadoros Hotel
#4 of 4 in Yialos
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marcos Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcos Village Hotel

Property: Marcos Village Hotel
Address: Chora, 840 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Ios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Ios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marcos Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing