We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU MUST BOOK.”
Review of U Fanale

U Fanale
Ranked #4 of 134 Restaurants in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“YOU MUST BOOK.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were recommended here by a local couple and it turned out to be a great evening. The food each course was exciting and it was interesting as to what other people had ordered the presentations were a work of art. It was value for money and by 20.00 it was packed, siting outside created a lovely atmosphere. We will be back there by the end of the week I promise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 30Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    299
    69
    27
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really good Corse Cuisine!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very good food and also nice price with the Menu...but there're always lot of people! So, I recommend you booking!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kiko190432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
217 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Artistic Corsican Cuisine”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Last week we dined in the Citadel at A Candella and enjoyed a memorable meal, more so for the view and charming service. However, U Fanale is a notch above them all with dishes that could rival restaurants in London, Paris or San Francisco.

The Chef gets my five stars for presentation but the dishes themselves are creatively concocted.

I've read some criticism that the service is slow. It's not fast but it's actually quite nice to not feel like you're dining in an establishment that wants you to eat it and beat it, just to turn the table over for another sitting. I'd suggest going with the expectation that you'll have to wait but when you see how the dishes are presented you'll realise the chef and his partners in crime in the kitchen can't produce such art if they are rushing to sling a plate of food in front of you. it's worth the wait.

A real gem and very good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Xplor138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wrong time? Wrong orders?”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Maybe the restaurant was especially busy that night...Maybe the chef was no feeling so well...Maybe we should have gone at another time of the day (e.g. not dinner) maybe we should have stayed away from the menus and instead chose from the many dishes not included in the menu...maybe i just have bad luck with restaurants...

I was excited to go to U Fanale who had received so many wonderful reviews....maybe i hadtoo many expectations... There was absolutely no scenic view whatsoever. As in NOTHING. We were a stairway away from the road and the sea was a relatively long way away

I do not know whether they put all their 'bad' dishes with the menus; but out of 5 menus...none of us were very impressed with our food, especially since most of it was cold...and so while other Trip Advisor's' reviewers were not bothered by the bill, we found the price outrageous! And may i add that the service was not very warm :/

I would not 'not-recommend it' because so many others seem to have had a good experience, and i guess even the best of us have a bad day...but i am just sorry that it had to happen to us...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxime S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Corsican pearl”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

After having been upset about eating at "tourist traps" for almost a week, we found this superb restaurant. Although it is located 20 minutes walk from "downtown" Calvi, it has survived for years. Owned and run by a sister and brother. The place was packed both of the days we went there. The food is tasty and really well presented. It looks like art. Lots of choices on the menu, fish, meat and also typical Corsican food. The main courses are € 25-28, but they also have a really good 3-course menu for € 18 (several choices of starter, main course, dessert). "Safe" choices - steak and fries for kids.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gjedde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed U Fanale also viewed

Calvi, Haute-Corse
Calvi, Haute-Corse
 
Calvi, Haute-Corse
 

Been to U Fanale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing