We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather expensive hotel near crowded beach”
Review of Calvi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Calvi Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

As part of our honeymoon, we stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel itself tries to look luxurious, but could do with a bit of refurbishing. Rooms were fine - noisy AC with the fan on balcony, which caused it almost impossible to sit there when it was running, minibar (2.50€per bottle of water), which we used for our food to keep cold (the only problem is the cleaners are supposed to get rid of all the stuff that does not belong in, so we always swapped it before they came;)). There is huge supermarket Casino nearby, the beach is just 5 minutes walk, packed though. There is not really a sea view, we had a lovely view st the citadel. Last morning went for a breakfast (12€ buffet), which was rather good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lepetitchaperonrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for one night, which was fine for our early afternoon flight to Nice. The airport is only a 10-minute drive away. But we found nothing special about the hotel or the room. The hotel sits on the main road into Calvi and offers plenty of free parking with lots of traffic noise at the front. It is about a 10-minute walk into town, either along the busy main street or along the beach behind the hotel, which takes about three minutes to reach on foot. There is no lift in the hotel, so this is not a place to stay above the ground floor with lots of luggage.

Our basic room had obviously received much use and needed an update. But it was clean and provided a comfortable bed. We could see the sea off in the distance from our room's balcony.
The air conditioning worked well, which was much appreciated because of the heat and humidity. We had a bathtub but no standard shower, which we prefer. The wi-fi worked fine.

The hotel provides food service but we saw no one dining there. We ate dinner in town and found a nearby place for a continental breakfast in the morning.

We saw only one staff member during our stay. When she left the reception desk at 11 p.m., no one took her place. She returned in the morning. Her English was excellent and she was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed talking with her.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We went in April 2013, this is a good place and you are almost in the front of the beach of Calvi, you just have to pass a private path to reach the beach,
The hotel was quiet and clean, the bed also was good too

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeSabNoam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

huge room by Corsican standards but my goodness what a soulless place-no pictures, no ornaments, not much furniture just the absolute essentials. Rather like a motel really. Breakfast was ok. Oh -and there were ants in the bathroom!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

The first nice surprise: romanian national lady at the reception desk! The hotel is located on the main route of access from Bastia, easy to find. Free large parking space. The architecture of the hotel is something different and quite functional: large outdoor passageways for each "floor", with independent access to each room (see the photos). The room was HUGE on any standard, especially for anyone with some experience with mainland France hotels. Good, but tired air conditioner. Large (3 by 2 meters!) balcony facing the sea and the citadel! Very nice bathroom and dressing. Large storage space for luggage. Wifi internet access limited to reception desk area. Never had a breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Two large supermarkets located in opposite directions on the main road, 5min, respectively 10 min. away. Two petrol stations, roughly similar located, with washing car facilities. Hotel is separated from the beach by 200 meters of pine forrest and a railway. The train passes about 3 times a day, at very low speed, like a tram - no danger whatsoever. The beach: pure sand, no rocks, no nasty biting creatures, just few friendly fish! Perfect for children. View: the Calvi bay and the citadell. Other more "wild" beaches within short driving distance. The center of the town about 15 minutes slow pace walking away. For the price we payed, comparing with alternatives available at the time on booking.com, we expected much less! If we will ever return to Corsica, this will be for sure our first choice!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Decebal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Quite good hotel close to the beach. 10 min walk to the harbour. Nice and clean (big) rooms. Personell spoke English!! No enlish tv-channels:-( But had an empty minibar:-) (the only place during our three week stay (and 6 hotels) in Corsica...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ewi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vue sur la pinède obligatoire
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MARC7762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#3 of 30 in Calvi
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Erasme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Corsica
Hotel Corsica
#6 of 30 in Calvi
430 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
522 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#13 of 30 in Calvi
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calvi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calvi Hotel

Address: avenue Christophe Colomb | Rn 197 B.p 18, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calvi
#4 Family Hotel in Calvi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range: £70 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Calvi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le calvi hôtel se situe a 50 m par accès privé de la plage de Calvi.43 chambre de 2 à 6 personnes de 20 à 50 m² hors terrasse. Bain ou douche. Toutes les chambres ont un dressing, coffre, sèche cheveux mini bar.Parking privé. Idéal pour profiter de la longue plage de Calvi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calvi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calvi Hotel Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing