We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good as it gets” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calvi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calvi Hotel
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Calvi Hotel for 10 days and it was a very good experience. We had booked a standard rom and it was surprisingly big and with a modern and high standard. The bathroom was big with an with a large and exceptional good shower, I could have been there for ever. The rom also had a balcony with two chairs and a small table where you can have a beer and enjoy the warm weather. The beach was a two minutes walk and it was the finest beach I ever been too. The centrum of Calvi is about a the minutes walk from the hotel but it is plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. I would recommend Calvi Burger, that is burger restaurant two minutes walk from the hotel. Overal this is the greates hotel I haves stayed at so far at Corsica.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    90
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
84
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

A friendly professional welcome from reception staff. Can recommend room 216, whilst on the second floor (no lifts for luggage), lovely views of mountains in distance and beach only 50m away. Spotlessly clean with newly refurbished bathroom (only possible negative would be a lack of hooks!).

Calvi really is only a 10 minute stroll along the beach. Can recommend A Punta for an evening meal. They do fantastic pizzas (roaring take away pizza trade with locals) and able to accommodate true vegetarians. We chose not to have the hotel's breakfast and can highly recommend breakfast at Ile de Beaute cafe down at Calvi Marina. We had a fresh and plentiful continental breakfast for 8 euros each (they also do American style) with a lovely view.

Room Tip: Can recommend room 216 - newly refurbished bathroom and lovely views of beach and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mather_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
281 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is perfect! The rooms are spacious, clean and well-appointed, with balconies facing the sea. The staff is helpful and friendly, and the location couldn't be better. It's just a short, beautiful, 10-minute walk into Calvi, 500 meters from a grocery store (for picnicking on the beach)-- but it only takes a minute to walk to the beach from your room, where you have soft sand, clear water, and a great view of Calvi. Our only regret is that we didn't spend more time there!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

I was a bit apprehensive about booking this hotel because at the time the reviews really weren't that favourable (as least the ones written in English anyway!) I was torn between this hotel and the Hotel Saint Christophe but in the end decided to go with Cavi Hotel and how glad am I that I did!. The location of this hotel is perfect - it is on the beach. We stayed in room 208 which has a sea view - we did not request this so there was no extra charge - we just got lucky. Some previous poster was complaining that there werent any pictures in the room! Well they are correct but the rooms are huge, spotlessly clean, have free WIFI, room 208 had a walk in wardrobe and a big bathroom - all of these things are much more important to me than a few pictures on the wall - if you want something nice to look at go out on to the balcony! The only thing that would have been nice a nice addition to the room would have been a kettle.
We did not eat breakfast at the hotel so I can't comment on that - I thought 12 euro each was very pricey for breakfast but this seemed to be the norm as there were other hotels charging the same.
The beach is beautiful - lovely white sand and crystal clear water and a fabulous view of Calvi and the citadel across the bay. We went to Corsica at the end of August so it was starting to get quiet there but I could see how the beach would be very crowded during the peak tourist season, however if you want to get out of Calvi and go to one of the many other beaches there is a train from Calvi that goes all the way to Ile Rousse with several stops at various beaches along the way. The rail line passes behind the Calvi hotel.
The walk from the hotel to Cavi was a lovely 10 minute walk on the beach - 20 minutes if you go by road. If you do go to Calvi by road you will pass the Super U market which has absolutely everything - great for last minute purchases of cheese and charcuterie!
Staff at the Calvi hotel were very accomodating - we asked for a late checkout as our flight was in the evening and there was no problem doing so even though our room was being used again that day.
I did happen to come across Hotel Saint Christoph during a walk and was so glad we didn't book it. It is on the seafront but doesnt have any nice beach - that were steps down to rocks and some people were sunbathing there and swimming from the rocks but due to the direction these rocks face - they are in the shade by early evening - same with the pool that is also in the shade from the afternoon onwards.
All in all would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 208 has a sea view and is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SISTERACT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Excellent location to the sites yet far enough where you're not in the tourist noise. Cute restaurants all around and a view of the Citadel. Hair salon 1 block away, small markets for Corsican sausages and fresh fruit within 3 blocks. Port area fun for sunset drinks 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank champagnetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dobris, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

As part of our honeymoon, we stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel itself tries to look luxurious, but could do with a bit of refurbishing. Rooms were fine - noisy AC with the fan on balcony, which caused it almost impossible to sit there when it was running, minibar (2.50€per bottle of water), which we used for our food to keep cold (the only problem is the cleaners are supposed to get rid of all the stuff that does not belong in, so we always swapped it before they came;)). There is huge supermarket Casino nearby, the beach is just 5 minutes walk, packed though. There is not really a sea view, we had a lovely view st the citadel. Last morning went for a breakfast (12€ buffet), which was rather good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lepetitchaperonrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
1,707 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,991 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here for one night, which was fine for our early afternoon flight to Nice. The airport is only a 10-minute drive away. But we found nothing special about the hotel or the room. The hotel sits on the main road into Calvi and offers plenty of free parking with lots of traffic noise at the front. It is about a 10-minute walk into town, either along the busy main street or along the beach behind the hotel, which takes about three minutes to reach on foot. There is no lift in the hotel, so this is not a place to stay above the ground floor with lots of luggage.

Our basic room had obviously received much use and needed an update. But it was clean and provided a comfortable bed. We could see the sea off in the distance from our room's balcony.
The air conditioning worked well, which was much appreciated because of the heat and humidity. We had a bathtub but no standard shower, which we prefer. The wi-fi worked fine.

The hotel provides food service but we saw no one dining there. We ate dinner in town and found a nearby place for a continental breakfast in the morning.

We saw only one staff member during our stay. When she left the reception desk at 11 p.m., no one took her place. She returned in the morning. Her English was excellent and she was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed talking with her.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.2 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#4 of 30 in Calvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Erasme
0.5 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye
4.1 mi away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#10 of 30 in Calvi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calvi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calvi Hotel

Property: Calvi Hotel
Address: avenue Christophe Colomb | RN 197 B.P 18, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calvi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
#5 Family Hotel in Calvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Calvi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le calvi hôtel se situe a 50 m par accès privé de la plage de Calvi.43 chambre de 2 à 6 personnes de 20 à 50 m² hors terrasse. Bain ou douche. Toutes les chambres ont un dressing, coffre, sèche cheveux mini bar.Parking privé. Idéal pour profiter de la longue plage de Calvi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Calvi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calvi Hotel Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing