We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed twice - comfortable and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Magnolia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Magnolia
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Stayed twice - comfortable and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Le Magnolia on our first night in Corsica just of fthe ferry from Nice and again on our last night. It is right in the middle of the old town but quiet, behind high walls, and with a magnificent Magnolia tree shading the restaurant in the courtyard. Charming and helpful staff apart from the owner / manager (?) who was not too keen on climbing the stairs to reception, and who we had to call back for a second trip because she forgot to provide the password for the (excellent) wifi.
Extremely comfortable and clean rooms, classy traditional decor.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lonnielayabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    44
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
68
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
242 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Best location in between the harbour and better restaurants. Also close walk to the citadel. Friendly service, good breakfast, and not all that expensive. Make sure you walk up to the citadel to see the birth house of columbus, his own square and statue. Then ask yourself, wasn't he born in Genova? -:)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnotherKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This small hotel is lovely. It's hidden in the quiet street and it may take a while to discover, but it worth it. Small, but very nice garden where you can have breakfast, nice rooms. be sure you will visit this hotel with your beloved one, otherwise it's not for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel is situated in a very centre of Calvi very close to all interesting places. It is very charming like an old English style pension. Very clean, with discreet service and family atmosphere. They also run a nice restaurant in front of the hotel. We really recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orléans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

very nice place, warm welcome, charming rooms, very good restaurant !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank laetitia140484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina di Massa, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

We slept for one night, paid 70€ without breakfast, if you'd like to add it is€10/pp, we decided to go out in Calvi the next morning having a quite nice breakfast (cofee, orange juice, croissant, baguette, butter and jam) for 6.50€uro/pp
The rooms have different prices and we discovered why: our at 70€ was upon a very noisy street full of pubs/restaurants and locals, I think we could sleep only early in the morning.....maybe spending much money rooms are larger and quieter than ours.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Masoni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

What a deception! If only hotel owners would take some money and do a make-over of a hotel which looks surely the same for the last half century....old furniture with no taste, very small room, breakfast not worth mentioning...what a waste of time and money. Urgently needs a whole renovation - also the restaurant. With its location could be a gem of the city...

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva_Maria_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Erasme
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye
0.1 mi away
Le Rocher Hotel
Le Rocher Hotel
#15 of 30 in Calvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#4 of 30 in Calvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calvi Hotel
Calvi Hotel
#6 of 30 in Calvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#10 of 30 in Calvi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Magnolia

Property: Hotel Le Magnolia
Address: Rue Alsace Lorraine, 20220, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Calvi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Magnolia 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Magnolia Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing