We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wine list in town”
Review of Le Tire Bouchon

Le Tire Bouchon
Ranked #38 of 136 Restaurants in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Clare, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Best wine list in town”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

On the busy Rue Clemenceau, this restaurnant has a wonderful array of quality Corsican wines,at reasonable prices, combined with high quality food .The service is excellent and I recommend making a reservation to get a table on their small terrace, or,a bas on the road,to add people watching to the other pleasures of the establishment

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank turtle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    92
    34
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We ended up in this place after first trying on of it nabours that were full, and it was a great find. I ended up trying their pigs cheek with Mash potato and it was absolutely delicious - one of the best meals while in Corsica :-). My husband had grilled squid that were okey but a little over done, but all in all a great place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank li_ze100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerdydd
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great stuff”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We had lunch here on the little balcony/terrace outside. All other customers were French / Corsican, which is always a good sign! We had wild boar lasagne and a Corsican platter (charcuterie, pate, cheese, etc), which were both delicious. Service was attentive and it was good value - above plus two beers and two coffees was about €45.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YGraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“One of the best of Calvi”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I went in this restaurant this year in June. Le Lonely Planet Tourist Guide suggested us to try this restaurant. We tried some "corse" dishes, very very good!! I still remember the "panna cotta with cream of cataignes" ... delicous! Also very very beautiful the location, in the main street of Calvi. Suggested!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clauderay80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Satisfactory wine bar with a nice choice of plates”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This looks like an unimposing wine bar but the assiettes are good. We had top-of-the range Assiette Corse for 16.50 (hmm, that's not cheap) and it was comprehensive - a slice of omelette, cold meats, hot saucisson, cheese, and salad (well, lettuce and tomato). Washed down with a 12.80 bottle of local wine it was a satisfactory late supper. Desserts however, croustillant de pommes at 6.50 and dessert du jour at 7.50 were underwhelming and not worth the price. Neither the bread nor the coffee was up to much either. There are other assiettes and other dishes too, and they all looked good. Overall a rather mixed experience in a busy little wine bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Tire Bouchon also viewed

Calvi, Haute-Corse
Calvi, Haute-Corse
 
Calvi, Haute-Corse
 

Been to Le Tire Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing