We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For every course a different waiter”
Review of La Transat

La Transat
Ranked #65 of 132 Restaurants in Calvi
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“For every course a different waiter”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed outside Calvi in a horrible hotel called Cesario and wanted to flee the dreadfull place. Then you arrive in the little yacht harbour and you see restaurant La Transat. Lovely atmosphere, for every course we ordered we got a different waiter, which was funny because who do you leave the tip. great food and a pinchet of the local wine is recommendable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    59
    28
    32
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Slow, listless service and ordinary food”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

At first sight, La Transat looked quite attractive among the many bars and restaurants along the quay facing Calvi's harbour. Besides looking less pretentious and thus cheaper than some of the nearby restaurants, its blackboard offered a good variety of options, such as a €14 paella and a €15.80 three-course meal with four different choices for each course. Unfortunately, La Transat turned out to be more of a tourist trap.
The service was the worst thing. A waiter unwillingly took our orders without saying a single word, then he brought us a salad forgetting to bring any dressing with it. We had to explicitly ask for some bread, oil and salt, as if it were the first salad they had ever served. After finishing our entrées, we were left waiting for an hour or so for the main courses to come, while a waiter with a white shirt open to the navel – apparently the head waiter, maybe the manager or even the owner – kept doing nothing except giving orders to the other listless waiters.
Had the food been excellent, it would have made up for the bad service, but it was actually nothing better than ordinary. The only good news left was the affordable price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Looked promising but give it a miss.....”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We chose this place as the set menu looked good value and the place was busy which was a good sign. We got seated, with menus.....and waited......and waited.....and waited! It is understandable when a place is busy but we would have expected to have had drinks orders taken - but no, nothing. We waited 20 minutes, giving them the benefit of the doubt but when it became apparent we had been forgotten/ignored, we decided to take our business elsewhere!! Which was the best choice we had made all night.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTwins2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
243 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Try the moulles calvais with estragon”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The speciality of the house, very good. Other food was less good, but then you also pay for the location down at the quai. Best restaurants are 3 streets up.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnotherKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Transat also viewed

Calvi, Haute-Corse
Calvi, Haute-Corse
 
Calvi, Haute-Corse
 
Calvi, Haute-Corse
Calvi, Haute-Corse
 

Been to La Transat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing