We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway a bit too far from the center”
Review of La Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Villa
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Excellent rooms, facilities and people. Beautiful pools with views of the sea, great spa services, enchanted private atmosphere. Restaurants ok, but better to get out. They will drive you to and from places in the city. Beautiful clean and modern rooms with good amenities. Helpful multilingual staff. Expensive, but probably worth it. A lot of kids during high season.

Room Tip: All sea view rooms, best are rooms 47,48,49 i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

Had a four night stay at the La Villa in Calvi. Beautiful setting and view of the Citadel. We had two Jr. Suites which were modern and spacious. The pool server and bar staff were attentive and knowledgeable! We really liked the room layout and the large tub and shower. There was a separate toilet / bidet. The rooms were clean and tidy! We had a problem with the air conditioner leaking water from the ceiling in the entry way, this caused mold and a slippery floor. The irritant was so bad it caused my eyes to water, as long as we kept the door to the entry closed the room was satisfactory. I mentioned the problem verbally and by letter twice to the front desk, their response was "o.k.!" Was not prepared for the 20 Euro per cocktail or 7 Euro for a Coke prices. We ended up purchasing a coffee maker in town so we could have it available in our room without the high cost.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaptHMSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This is a splendid set of buildings in an excellent location, with fine views across the bay, and excellent staff and service. However, prices are exorbitant and the hotel management is indifferent to problems with infrastructure. Our shower flooded the floor every time it was used, the mini bar did not work and the air conditioning in both the bedrooms and public places was inadequate. The response of management was the offer of an "upgrade" to a larger room with the same problems but further up the hill (declined) and a daily request for ice. Not at all the sort of standard expected from a 5 star hotel in the Relais and Chateau group.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bruneler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Let me start by saying that the hotel and grounds are beautiful, with a full view of the citadel and the harbour in Calvi. Our room was well appointed, modern, spacious, and cleaned to a high standard twice daily by the friendly and efficient cleaning staff. And the facilities: swimming pools, table tennis, pool table, tennis court, business centre, all top notch. Even though we stayed at the peak of high season, it didn't seem overcrowded. Crowd was a nice mix of young couples, families, and retirees.

What would I improve? There seems to be a disorganised way of managing the front desk staff. When we arrived at the hotel for check-in, we pulled our car up to the door expecting help with our luggage. Nobody arrived. After 5 minutes, one of the desk staff came to help after I had unloaded the car and brought the suitcases into the lobby. We noticed a similar ad-hoc approach with restauant reservations and helping to book activities. Some of the staff were excellent and gave us great tips, especially for restaurants. Other employees seemed to view guest requests as a distraction -- we began to seek out some staff and avoid others. Separately, a few of the front desk staff spoke little or no English, which would have been difficult if my wife did not speak French. All of these quibbles would be fine at a normal French tourist hotel, but at a 5-star Relais property, at this price point, my service expectations were not met. The problem seemed to have to do with the way things were structured: everyone did a little bit of everything, but nobody was a specialist. Why not have dedicated porters, and a dedicated multi-lingual concierge?

As an aside, the extras (especially the drinks) were expensive, as others have pointed out here. This was more an annoyance than anything else. The food prices were in line with the setting, and the quality. But paying €20 for a margarita made me wince.

Bottom line: we would probably stay here again, because the hotel is beautiful and the location is perfect. But not because of the service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Safar_Maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Gorgeous hotel, with large modern rooms, great food, and friendly service.

14 of us stayed here in both the 5 BR and a 2 BR suite. We all loved it. Hotel took care of everything for us (not easy with such a large group for a week) and things went nearly flawlessly (except for a dinner in the main restaurant where they were just overwhelmed by our group size and various dietary restrictions although they did try). Note that the spa got mediocre reviews from the group.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank SuitNflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed here whilst on the island filming for a client. I had a junior suite with a great view over the old town. The staff were always helpful and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. Tried room service. Meal arrived promptly and was hot. Also had a nice meal in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Wonderful hotel, generous rooms, where you can get lost, beautiful surroundings and truly delicious cuisine.
But. Receptionists are desperately unwilling, rude, unresponsive. Everything is a huge problem. Such conduct would expect in a youth hostel or a dirty pension somewhere outside town.
Never more!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank robPrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvi
2.4 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#5 of 30 in Calvi
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Corsica
Hotel Corsica
#6 of 30 in Calvi
428 reviews
46.5 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
520 reviews
72.5 mi away
Hotel Casadelmar
Hotel Casadelmar
#13 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
216 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel A Piattatella
Hotel A Piattatella
#1 of 3 in Monticello
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa

Address: Chemin de Notre Dame de la Serra, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calvi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calvi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range: £323 - £3,112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the hills surrounding Calvi, with a sublime view of the bay and the Citadel of Calvi, La Villa is an enchanted place where everything is in harmony ; the scents of the maquis, the sunlight, and the Corsican art of living.Totally renovated rooms and suites invite you to enjoy your stay with an easy mind.You’ll be charmed by the flavours of a sunny cuisine, inspired by the local Corsican products and in total harmony with the place.La Villa Spa offers a wide choice of treatments which maybe booked on an individual basis or as part of a day package, or short stay programme.We can arrange the rental of boats, jet-ski, quad bikes, mountain bikes or a helicopter. We can also organise activities such as 4X4 treks, horse treks, walks, canyoning, hiking, kayaking, rafting and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Hotel Calvi
La Hotel Calvi
La Villa Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing