We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting but very many issues”
Review of La Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Villa
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hi... We splurged and took our family to this five star resort. The first surprise was that in order to get into town you had to pay $18 Euros per day... This is something we did not know. The 2nd surprise, was the cost of everything (9 euros for a cup of tea and soda). We arrived and it was raining so we were told to eat lunch in the Michelin restaurant, a salad was 45 euros. Our room was beautiful and clean. The next issue was the beach chairs... We were never given any information on how to book these chairs, how to get chairs or even chairs with views of the water... The rules kept changing. "The front row was already reserved".. (how?) "Book in the morning".. Every day this was an issue.. Some days we didn't get chairs.. The final straw was the shuttle... Our 2nd to last night we waited at the shuttle pickup for over an hour (which was a parking lot). They finally called a taxi which we had to pay for and the family was so exhausted that we decided not to go out to eat (we would have to rush, shower, get the shuttle).. We were informed that there was not room in the terrace and our option was the Michelin Restaurant or Room Service.. (had we known that the taxi would take over an hour we'd just stay and eat on the beach).... There were some lovely people working at La Villa but we were very disappointed in the lack of customer service and transparency... Again, the view is spectacular, there are some lovely people working at the hotel, the rooms are very nice.. But the logistics leave much to be desired.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JillHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were charmed by this place.A beautiful and visually stunning hotel,set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens with magnificent views over Calvi bay and the mountains.
We had a standard room but this was tastefully decorated in creams and chocolate and the bathroom with bath,separate shower, 2 hand basins and separate toilet had been recently renovated.
We found that we did'nt need to venture far from the hotel as it was so relaxing.
There are 5 pools including a quiet indoor pool,spa, tennis courts, hammam, a boutique and hairdressers.
The whole place was very well maintained throughout and the majority of the staff were charming and friendly. The owners appeared daily on a tour of their hotel and were courteous ,smiling but not too obtrusive to the guests.
During your stay you will come across the star of the show,Felix,such a charming man,helpful and amusing and a mine of information on the local area,speaks good English too.
The hotel has a shuttle to the town and beach for 100 euros for the week ,which we found very good, there was no problem at any time up to 11pm in getting a journey in/out of Calvi.
The hotel is a pleasant 15 min walk downhill to the sea front .
Breakfast was very good, continental style which suited us,plenty of fresh fruit,cereals,yogs,cheeses,local corsican meats and delicious home made cakes and pastries, everything was top quality so quite expensive at 32 euros per person.
We had a couple of meals at the hotel which were good,but our favourite is Callelu also owned by the hotel, down at the port.
Also do not miss Cafe Iil'e de Beaute on Quai Landry for brilliant drinks and cocktails
The last night of the stay at the hotel there was a very good jazz concert in the little courtyard theatre at the hotel
They have regular classical and jazz concerts in the summer.
What we liked about the hotel was that the owners encourage artists and musicians to their hotel as patrons of the arts, and you will find many visually stunning modern works of art dotted around the hotel.
Hopefully we will be able to return to La Villa and the beautiful town of Calvi next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank italytraveller099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I recommend it for all Corsica lovers that want to pamper themselves. Everything is gorgeous. We absolutely fell in love with the location. Despite the fact that we went at the end of the season (October), we could enjoy a warm weather (outside pool, long hikes, dinner on a terrace). The staff is really nice (of course we are in a 5 star hotel!!!) . You feel remote but at the same time, everything is close at walking distance (village, citadelle, port, beach). The SPA is amazing with a very professionnal staff and great products (same products provided in the guests rooms)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank babette2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I made a private booking and informed the hotel at he time that we were spending the last two nights of our honeymoon there. They confirmed the booking and added, " We are looking forward to this great event!" .


We enjoyed the hotel during our stay, made to feel welcome by the staff who were all very helpful and attentive. We had a fantastic suite with views over towards the citadel. Yes - this hotel is very expensive and I tried to play it cool as it was a final treat on a special holiday ( 20 euros for a cocktail !! ) .

The hotel decided not to acknowledge our reason for staying which was a pity, but no big deal. I wasn't angling for free champagne - just a nice touch to say welcome - enjoy your stay ( as other hotels had done earlier in the week ) . I made this comment to the manager at the reception, in the nicest possible way as we waited for out taxi. "Just a card or flowers would have been a nice touch." It was more advice than a complaint. He rather snottily replied,"We don't accept honeymoons." mmmmm I think he meant - we don't acknowlege honeymoons. Either way his delivery and choice of words wasn't appropriate.

I clearly spoke to the wrong man at a bad moment - having read other reviews on TA, it's clear that La Villa certainly have looked after couples celebrating honeymoons and looked after them well. Our one o'clock taxi appeared to be late. At 1.15 I asked the manager to call the taxi company to make sure it was on its way. At 1.25 I made it clear that if the taxi didn't appear by 1.30 we could miss our ( once a week ) flight. At 1.35 I had to put my foot down and ask him to get one of the hotel drivers to take us to the airport as soon as possible. In short - he wasn't looking after us. As we drove to the airport he called the taxi driver to make sure we paid 25 euro fee ? ! I'm sure a taxi was ordered but he handled it very badly. It left a bad taste in my mouth after a pleasant stay.

I would summarise - it's a nice hotel but it's not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank crystal072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights in September. Beautiful modern rooms. The restaurant has excellent food and service in a charming setting. Definitely one of the nicest hotels we found in Corsica. The suites are huge and have everything to make your stay comfortable. Good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Suites are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dineindulge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Wonderful view. Extraordinary food with extraordinary service. Great location, nice being slightly out of town, but the hotel offers car service. Very efficient. Took a lovely hike up the hill to a pilgrimage site. Beautiful pools and landscaping.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bfinearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Excellent rooms, facilities and people. Beautiful pools with views of the sea, great spa services, enchanted private atmosphere. Restaurants ok, but better to get out. They will drive you to and from places in the city. Beautiful clean and modern rooms with good amenities. Helpful multilingual staff. Expensive, but probably worth it. A lot of kids during high season.

Room Tip: All sea view rooms, best are rooms 47,48,49 i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvi
2.4 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#5 of 30 in Calvi
269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#3 of 30 in Calvi
320 reviews
46.5 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.3 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#4 of 20 in Bonifacio
632 reviews
82.4 mi away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#5 of 20 in Bonifacio
486 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#3 of 18 in Ile Rousse
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa

Address: Chemin de Notre Dame de la Serra, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calvi
#1 Family Hotel in Calvi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range: £304 - £959 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the hills surrounding Calvi, with a sublime view of the bay and the Citadel of Calvi, La Villa is an enchanted place where everything is in harmony ; the scents of the maquis, the sunlight, and the Corsican art of living.Totally renovated rooms and suites invite you to enjoy your stay with an easy mind.You’ll be charmed by the flavours of a sunny cuisine, inspired by the local Corsican products and in total harmony with the place.La Villa Spa offers a wide choice of treatments which maybe booked on an individual basis or as part of a day package, or short stay programme.We can arrange the rental of boats, jet-ski, quad bikes, mountain bikes or a helicopter. We can also organise activities such as 4X4 treks, horse treks, walks, canyoning, hiking, kayaking, rafting and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Hotel Calvi
La Hotel Calvi
La Villa Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing