We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of La Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Villa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
Le Vesinet, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The dream within reach!! Wondorful!
Just one night half board. The reception was very nice, nothing to say. We were upgraded, the room was large with balcony.
Place in a fabulous scenery, attentive staff, refined food, the rooms are beautiful. I missed it. An unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    105
    37
    14
    3
See reviews for
58
258
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wonersh, surrey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

La Villa is a small, boutiquey hotel overlooking Calvi. Location above beach and harbour excellent, Michelin starred restaurant. Lovely spacious rooms. Several pools to choose from. The main one lacks sun lounger space and shade so there is a fight for both. Best part of the hotel is the shuttle to town and the way guests can book sun loungers on the private part of the beach where there is an excellent beach restaurant. A negative would have to be price. Great hotel but a bit too pricey therefore not good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rustsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We came here after La Signoria also a Relais and Chateau property and La Villa would be our second choice of the two.

We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite and ate at the restaurant (michelin star 1) which was a beautiful meal.

Pool was great and we also spent most of our time at the small pool by our room and we had it to ourselves for two days.


Only negative points were we never received complimentary water in our room at all from housekeeping or the bins emptied - something I would expect paying 745 euros a night. Location was near Calvi but if you don't have a car expect to pay 18 euros a day for them to shuttle you.

Hotel is v well designed and luxurious but not as calming a vibe as La Signoria.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YYKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at La Villa for 4 nights from September 5 - September 9, 2013 and paid 480 Euros per night for a sea-view room. The views and grounds of the hotel were fabulous. When we checked in, the room we were provided (Room 10) smelled strongly of cigarette smoke despite being a non-smoking room. The front desk staff who showed us the room agreed that it smelled of smoke. We were shown a suite that did not have the view we had been promissed and elected to live with the smoke odor in room 10 when we were told that was the only sea-view room available.

Upon check-out we were provided with a survey both physically and on-line. We completed these forms noting the cigarette smoke smell and the worn nature of certain pieces of furniture in the room. I have attached a photo of the arms of the chairs showing wear that I believe is not to be expected in a room where the nightly rate is higher than the cost of the chair. Overall, this substandard level of furnishings in addition to the smoke issue were not enough to significantly impact our stay and we rated the other elements of the hotel very highly including service and the external grounds.

Today I was very surpised to receive the following email from Mr. Jean-Pierre Pinelli, who's title on the email was President:

"First of all, the Direction would like to thank you for staying with us, and to have taken time to send you comments about your stay in our hotel. Our main concern being the satisfaction of our guests, we really regret this comment, however please be aware that most of our customers do not agree with you. Nevertheless we take note of your comments and thank you for it."

OK, so apparently I made up the cigarette smell and the worn furniture according to Mr. Pinelli. Not the kind of response I would expect from a Relais & Chateaux property, and a big dissappointment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simarkusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel has a lovely setting and sits on a well located site with great views. Very relaxing atmosphere.
The following points should be noted by the owners, their management and anyone wishing to stay there;
1. The hotel is understaffed in all areas. 80% of the staff are not trained to 5 star level. They have no sense of urgency and no attention to detail.
2. Breakfast - they have 2 members of staff providing service which results in unsatisfactory delivery of an enjoyable experience. Tables are not cleared quickly enough or even at all resulting in being attacked by wasps and if your order any eggs etc you will wait at least 20 minutes.
3. Internet - almost non existent. If you are a business person you will be frustrated beyond belief. In this day and age this is shocking. We have had better Internet connections in third world countries.
4. The management - could not care less no matter how many times you complain about anything. Their stock answer is a shake of the shoulders and that's how it is.
5. The beds - are extremely uncomfortable
6. Concierge - non existent. They are unhelpful and have no knowledge of their own town and couldn't care less if they guide you in the wrong direction. If you choose not to eat in their hotel establishment they don't care where you eat.
7. Shuttle service - expect long waits in the town when being collected. We had to wait up to 45 minutes. Bear in mind you are charged for this service on a daily basis.
8. Gym - the gym is not sufficiently kitted out and lacks the necessary equipment for a proper workout. There are no dumbells above 5kg which is not appropriate for a man and most women into training. There are no weight machines and no weights. There are cardio machines in a room which is like a sauna.
Hopefully the owners will read this and realise that their 5 Star hotel is incorrectly rated and try to improve. If their aim is to secure return business then they need to get these issues straightened out.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hi... We splurged and took our family to this five star resort. The first surprise was that in order to get into town you had to pay $18 Euros per day... This is something we did not know. The 2nd surprise, was the cost of everything (9 euros for a cup of tea and soda). We arrived and it was raining so we were told to eat lunch in the Michelin restaurant, a salad was 45 euros. Our room was beautiful and clean. The next issue was the beach chairs... We were never given any information on how to book these chairs, how to get chairs or even chairs with views of the water... The rules kept changing. "The front row was already reserved".. (how?) "Book in the morning".. Every day this was an issue.. Some days we didn't get chairs.. The final straw was the shuttle... Our 2nd to last night we waited at the shuttle pickup for over an hour (which was a parking lot). They finally called a taxi which we had to pay for and the family was so exhausted that we decided not to go out to eat (we would have to rush, shower, get the shuttle).. We were informed that there was not room in the terrace and our option was the Michelin Restaurant or Room Service.. (had we known that the taxi would take over an hour we'd just stay and eat on the beach).... There were some lovely people working at La Villa but we were very disappointed in the lack of customer service and transparency... Again, the view is spectacular, there are some lovely people working at the hotel, the rooms are very nice.. But the logistics leave much to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JillHer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were charmed by this place.A beautiful and visually stunning hotel,set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens with magnificent views over Calvi bay and the mountains.
We had a standard room but this was tastefully decorated in creams and chocolate and the bathroom with bath,separate shower, 2 hand basins and separate toilet had been recently renovated.
We found that we did'nt need to venture far from the hotel as it was so relaxing.
There are 5 pools including a quiet indoor pool,spa, tennis courts, hammam, a boutique and hairdressers.
The whole place was very well maintained throughout and the majority of the staff were charming and friendly. The owners appeared daily on a tour of their hotel and were courteous ,smiling but not too obtrusive to the guests.
During your stay you will come across the star of the show,Felix,such a charming man,helpful and amusing and a mine of information on the local area,speaks good English too.
The hotel has a shuttle to the town and beach for 100 euros for the week ,which we found very good, there was no problem at any time up to 11pm in getting a journey in/out of Calvi.
The hotel is a pleasant 15 min walk downhill to the sea front .
Breakfast was very good, continental style which suited us,plenty of fresh fruit,cereals,yogs,cheeses,local corsican meats and delicious home made cakes and pastries, everything was top quality so quite expensive at 32 euros per person.
We had a couple of meals at the hotel which were good,but our favourite is Callelu also owned by the hotel, down at the port.
Also do not miss Cafe Iil'e de Beaute on Quai Landry for brilliant drinks and cocktails
The last night of the stay at the hotel there was a very good jazz concert in the little courtyard theatre at the hotel
They have regular classical and jazz concerts in the summer.
What we liked about the hotel was that the owners encourage artists and musicians to their hotel as patrons of the arts, and you will find many visually stunning modern works of art dotted around the hotel.
Hopefully we will be able to return to La Villa and the beautiful town of Calvi next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank italytraveller099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvi
2.4 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#5 of 30 in Calvi
246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Corsica
Hotel Corsica
#4 of 30 in Calvi
418 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.5 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
72.5 mi away
Hotel Casadelmar
Hotel Casadelmar
#16 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
205 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa

Property: La Villa
Address: Chemin de Notre Dame de la Serra, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calvi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Calvi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the hills surrounding Calvi, with a sublime view of the bay and the Citadel of Calvi, La Villa is an enchanted place where everything is in harmony ; the scents of the maquis, the sunlight, and the Corsican art of living.Totally renovated rooms and suites invite you to enjoy your stay with an easy mind.You’ll be charmed by the flavours of a sunny cuisine, inspired by the local Corsican products and in total harmony with the place.La Villa Spa offers a wide choice of treatments which maybe booked on an individual basis or as part of a day package, or short stay programme.We can arrange the rental of boats, jet-ski, quad bikes, mountain bikes or a helicopter. We can also organise activities such as 4X4 treks, horse treks, walks, canyoning, hiking, kayaking, rafting and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Hotel Calvi
La Hotel Calvi
La Villa Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing