We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and now, good English spoken too”
Review of Hotel II Tramonto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel II Tramonto
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Maybe we are biased towards the Tramonto because it was our honeymoon hotel, many years ago. But we just love it. It's basic, but look at the wonderful view from your room (choose a "vue mer" room).

There's no TV in the rooms. More time to sit on the balcony and look at the view (or later in the evening to watch the often engaging activities in the turning circle across from the hotel). The bathrooms have showers of the "NVQ level 2 in domestic plumbing will be useful" type. But look at the price you're paying for a room – about half that which other hotels in Calvi (which have nothing like the position of this one) charge.

Breakfast is basic but good value at only €6. And sitting on that terrace first thing looking at the bluest sea you'll ever clap eyes on is wonderful.

This is a family concern. Mother has passed the baton onto daughter, and now granddaughter is also involved. She is charming and speaks very good English. The service is good too – we asked for extra pillows and they were delivered in about 3 minutes.

If luxury is important to you, pass by. But if the simple pleasures from a time when holidays were what you made them count to you, then pick the Tramonto. And put the savings you make towards a slap up meal or two at places like Les Dunes (see my review).

Room Tip: Second floor is best. always choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NorrisHatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Very reasonably priced. Nice balconies in some rooms, with a beautiful view in the Mediterranean. This view also makes breakfast a lasting pleasure, even though the food is rather mediocre. The staff is efficient in a Corisican manner and accomodated special requests. Far from the center of town but right on the northern coast walking path.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WizoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed in the Tramonto on our honeymoon 25 years ago, so we decided to go back on our silver wedding anniversary. It's still owned by the same family (daughter now runs it). We booked by fax as they don't seem to have e-mail yet! You need to ring the bell on the front desk to summon assistance and when you reach your room you will find something quite basic. We never watch TV on holiday so weren't upset that we didn't have one. The shower did take some mastering but the room was clean and the bed was actually very comfortable and we slept well. At a hotter time of year the lack of air conditioning would be a problem perhaps. Now for the positives - if you book a room at the front the view from the balcony over the bay is wonderful and the chairs on the balcony are really comfy. If you do use the balcony there's always plenty going on to watch, either on the water or in the turning circle opposite the hotel. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning is also a delight - basic provisions but a stunning view. Then there's the price - €55 a night for a hotel just a 5-10 minute walk from the town centre. Corsica is expensive, so 3 nights at the Tramonto enabled us to push the boat out in other places. Its a quirky, slightly old fashioned hotel like many other 2 stars in France but if you want good value its really hard to beat

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorrisHatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

This is a budget hotel and unfortunately you get what you pay for and 49 Euros a night in Calvi will not get you a lot!

We booked a double room by phone (don't expect anyything other than a French speaker at the other end of the line), checked in but unfortumately checked out almost immediately.

Reception was manned by a pleasant enough young girl (and a bad tempered little dog who tried to bite me!) but the whole place looked like it had not seen a coat of paint or even a decent cleaning since about 1975. The windows of the public rooms on the ground floor were all whitewashed out giving a real "closed" feel to the hotel, as did the handwritten notice roughly cellotaped to the reception desk reading "carte Bleu en panne". Good job we had cash with us.

Our room on the first floor had a great view but again was equipped to the standards of 1975, smelly and outdated bathroom, dripping WC cistern, no fridge or TV, one pillow for a very hard and low double bed, the sheets on which felt damp andf musty - hence the speedy checkout.

Perhaps our expections were too high (we subsequently checked in to a much more expensive hotel nearer the town centre) but even for 49 Euros a night I do expect a bed I can realistically expect to sleep in and facilities that look as if they might have had some care and attention within the last 30 years

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silkman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

This hotel was great! The view from the balcony was spectacular! There are no buildings to obscure your view and as such you have a great 180 degree view of the sea! If you are booking though, make sure you book a room with a sea view. The views from the rooms at the back were of a wall! Our double room was 50Euro per room per night.
The walk into town took us around 7 minutes (certainly no longer than that). It was nice not to be staying in the town as walking down from the hotel you walk along the coast and have a lovely view of the citadel.
The room is basic (no fridge for example) but we knew this when we booked and we more than mangaged without it. Our room was large and the bathroom was more than big enough! There isn't a shower curtain but the shower was sunk into the floor a bit and you only get water round the shower, there's bags of floor space that remains dry as a bone!
There's no pool to swim in, but then that's what the sea is for!
The staff were friendly and the guy who speaks English there was more than helpful.
All in all a great hotel. The only downsides were a lack of fridge and a fan/air conditioning would have been nice.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelsbytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Il Tramonto strikes you as a drab example of 1960s brutalist architecture- a dated oblong of concrete 3 stories high. When you're in it, though, you don't have to look at it. The views of the sea are lovely from the balconies, which are furnished with a table and comfy lloyd loom chairs. The bed is OK, although the pillow is one of those low sausage shaped tubes, like a big draught excluder. The room, along with Bridget Bardot, has seen better days. The decor is of une certaine age, but there is plenty of space: it is clean, and there is a table and two chairs, and the shower is functional. Maid service is good.

Il Tramonto's position is excellent, a short walk from town. Many of Calvi's hotels are on an ugly coastal strip, on a busy road, behind the beach. The hotel has free parking. The breakfasts are fine, but we didn't bother having one every day. You don't save much buying fruit, yoghurts, pans au chocolate, pans aux raisins etc from the supermarket, but if you can be bothered, it is an improvement on bread, jam, coffee and pan au chocolate at €5 per person. The nearest supermarket is a mile or so away, but boulangeries and patisseries are closer, a 15 minute walk. The beach is a bit further than that. A car is useful, but not essential.

In August, rooms with a sea view cost €70. They go down to €50 in June and September. We paid €60 in July. Rooms without a sea view cost €10 less, but sitting on the balcony is worth every cent of the €10. We wouldn't bother with a room at the back of the hotel, where the views are non-existent.

The rooms could be improved by the addition of a fridge. The hotel has no bar, so there would not be a loss to revenue. The balconies have no light, making reading after dark rather difficult. Rooms have no air conditioning. During our stay, temperatures rocketed to 35 degrees C plus.

However, we would return without hesitation. This is an expensive resort. The clientele of the hotel are a broad mix of mostly French, Italians and Belgians. Despite the budget prices, the ambience is not that of a budget hotel. Despite all the criticisms, it's a really nice place. We yearned for a fridge though.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Idler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

After a few issues finding the hotel (it's 5-10 mins walk out of town), we were really impressed with what we got for 45 Euros between us! Rooms were clean, beds were very comfy and the view from the balcony was lovely! The hotel is just up from the road, but still quiet. Breakfast was 5 euros extra, and wasn't great, but better than the one we paid more for at the port the next day! A definite recommendation and somewhere I'm sure we will return to again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowball21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel de Calvi
Grand Hotel de Calvi
#22 of 30 in Calvi
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Arbousiers
Les Arbousiers
#26 of 30 in Calvi
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#29 of 30 in Calvi
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sole Mare
Hotel Sole Mare
#18 of 30 in Calvi
137 reviews
3.1 mi away
Cesario
Cesario
#10 of 30 in Calvi
169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#3 of 30 in Calvi
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel II Tramonto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel II Tramonto

Address: Route De Porto, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Price Range: £48 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Il Tramonto ** at Calvi, is a smallfamily and cordial hotel of 28 rooms. Ideallylocated, with just 800 meters of the centre town, offering a remarkable panoramic view on the sea and the point of Revellata. Its sunset is part of most beautiful of Calvi. Located on the road of Porto by the coast, a calm and peaceful place where you will take pleasure in remaining with the advantage of being close to all the conveniences at 5 minutes with feet. The cordial and accessible staff of our hôtel is entirely at your disposal to advise you at the time of your stay at Calvi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel II Tramonto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel II Tramonto Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing