We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot in Calvi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint Christophe
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Berkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great spot in Calvi”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed for two weeks at the end of August and found the hotel very good. Great location by the sea over looking the back of the Citadel and just a short distance from the shops and restaurants but away from any noise. Worth paying extra for the sea view and balcony. Pool was nice size, and rarely over crowded. Pool meals tasty and good value. Breakfast also very good with tables inside and out, all with white table clothes and napkins.

Room quite compact but had all you needed and was cleaned and linen changed regularly.

Staff throughout very friendly and helpful, with good English.

Calvi itself has a lovely beach, plenty of boats and people to watch around the harbour, and good restaurants, though prices on the high side (though not out of line with popular coastal towns). Was quite steep and uneven under foot around the citadel and parts of the town, so flat shoes recommended. Also found people were dressed a bit more casually in the evenings than expected. The weather was hot, even in the evenings in the first week, so this was probably a factor too. ( air conditioning in the room meant this wasn't a problem overnight).

Would highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucky_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    116
    28
    16
    9
See reviews for
31
144
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here fir two weeks in June. We were so pleased with the location, 10 minutes from the picturesque harbor of Calvi. Friendly and obliging staff. Spotlessly clean, super breakfast and lovely pool
With views of the Citadel and out to sea watching the luxury boats go back and too. We will definitely go back. Well done St Christophe

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We arrived off the ferry from Nice, trundled our luggage up the hill from the ferry to find the hotel in sight. it is comfortable with adequate and very clean bedroom ( with good air conditioning). Small bar and outside terrace; heated swimming pool on cliff edge with loungers; pleasant dining room with nice breakfast. Staff were helpful. Great location for the town - restaurants, harbour, beach all an easy walk. The highlight was the view from our room - pay extra for a sea view - sit on the balcony, great view of citadel and the sea, it's really stunning and a lasting memeory from the holiday

Room Tip: request a higher floor with sea and citadel view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilBathUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

When husband and I arrived for our one night stay, we were terribly disappointed with our room! We had requested a balcony with a citadel view, and instead got no balcony and no view. We requested being moved to another room but were unsuccessful. We got no cooperation whatsoever from the front desk. They basically said "sorry we can't help". We were fuming! And we couldn't wait to get on tripadvisor to rip this hotel apart!

We decided to check out the town which was an easy stroll. The hotel is very conveniently located.

We returned to the hotel and decided to walk down to the pool. The pool was refreshing and clean. It was situated on a gorgeous setting with sea and citadel views. It was really, really lovely. We returned to the room to freshen up and had probably the most exhilarating shower(great water pressure!) we had for our entire 2 week vacation having stayed at multiple hotels. We enjoyed very reasonably priced drinks and snacks from the minibar fridge before heading out for dinner.

Having returned from our evening out, we had a great sleep in a comfortable bed. Upon waking, we headed down to breakfast and enjoyed the single-best breakfast we had on our entire 2 week vacation. The service from the breakfast staff was attentive and the buffet was continually stocked and very fresh and delicious, with more choices than we could eat.

Parking was directly outside the front door so loading/unloading was a snap. And there was free internet.

So, although I had intended to rip this place apart due to my disappointment with the room and unhelpful front desk, in reality this place was really quite good. The room was not the best as it was dated and had no view. But it wasn't expensive and all of the other things the hotel has to offer completely made up for it. So although we really didn't want to like it we did and we recommend it. Be sure to get the room you want however. Then you'll have a realy perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank FlyByTheSeatOMyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Excellent location. Clean and comfortable rooms. Lovely food in a dining room with wonderful views. Friendly staff.
Particularly good breakfast- constantly replenished.
Used by tour groups but this just lends a lively ambience to the dining room.
Loved it.

Room Tip: Mysteriously, top floor is premier etage. Good views. No lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank optimistCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is an excellent hotel with friendly staff, a camaraderie among guests and excellent food. Wi fi is now free.

The only slight downside is that the rooms are a little small compared with more recently built hotels but their cleanliness is excellent and in our view the location is unbeatable.

It is, perhaps, a little expensive but you get what you pay for. We certainly greatly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMoyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi hotels
1.1 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
410 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
487 reviews
2.6 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#4 of 30 in Calvi
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Corsica
Hotel Corsica
#6 of 30 in Calvi
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Erasme
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#10 of 30 in Calvi
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Christophe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Christophe

Property: Hotel Saint Christophe
Address: Place Belombra, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Calvi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Christophe 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint Christophe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Christophe Hotel
Saint Christophe Calvi
Hotel Saint Christophe Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing