We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly”
Review of La Signoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Signoria
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 days here in a Grand Demeure Suite - room number 5 ( on the corner so larger terrasse).

Close to the airport

Restaurant was exceptional in terms of staff and food quality

Fun bar

Beautiful swimming pool and grounds

Perfect for relaxing and for calm.

We were sad to leave and would return in a flash. Nothing bad to say at all

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YYKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

La Signoria is in a pleasant rural setting in well maintained grounds. The staff were welcoming and helpful during our 3 night stay. We didn't eat at the hotel other than for breakfast, which was really good. Given the rates, however, it is worth considering the following negatives. The room was fairly basic, dark and relatively small. The pool while pleasant is small and the gym is very poor, both in terms of equipment and location. The hotel is located 7k from Calvi and the beach, which is not as impressive as other beaches along the coast to the north of Calvi. Surprisingly given its profile, the hotel does not provide loungers for its guests on the beach and, rather, has an arrangement with a concession which charges €40 per day for two loungers. Other reviewers mention the airport - it is very close but the noise is negligible. In the round, while perfectly nice, this is a hotel which just doesn't merit its rates.

Stayed: September 2013
6  Thank Sinead_3087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I can't say anything negative about the place. I actually tried to come up with something negative, but I couldn't. The expensive breakfast? It's so good, and you are staying at a five star property, and if you just want to order coffee they will bring you a bread basket with perfect pastries for free.

The rooms are all clean, comfortable, bright and smell great(like natural herbs and perfume, hard to explain). Maybe a glimmer of a complaint - we had a larger suite for 2 nights and then shifted to a different room for the last two nights, and the room was a little dark, compared to the airy suite.

The pool is small but beautiful. The grounds are well manicured, beautifully laid out, different sculptures and pieces of art everywhere. The weather, location were all perfect. Away from the madness of the beach area and town, but only a 5 minute drive. Want to go hiking? Drive 10 minutes the other way and you are in world class hiking with amazing views.

The food at the restuarant was fantastic, one of the top 5 meals of my life. The chef and his team are top notch. Everyone was at top speed and language was not a barrier - everyone there seemed to speak French, Italian English and some Spanish.

I couldn't recommend this hotel more strongly to anyone looking for a special getaway, a romantic weekend, or a week in paradise.

An extra note - Jerome, the manager, went above and beyond in his duty to help us. Our credit card was flagged (our banks fault), and we only had the one card for the trip (dumb, I know, we left our house in a hurry on way to the airport). It took us three hours to sort out, and Jerome was patient and very, very helpful along with the rest of the front staff. A very embarrassing situation was made more livable thanks to Jerome and his staff.

Thanks again to La Signoria for giving me a fantastic 40th birthday!

Room Tip: The suites away from the main house are brighter, but all of the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crabjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was our second visit to La Signoria and I have to say that this year's visit exceeded our already very high expectations.
The enormous room and roof terrace was comfortable and welcoming. we never tired of the gorgeous views of the ever-changing light on the mountains and the goats with their tinkling bells on the neighbouring smallholding.
The food in the restaurant was as exquisite, as the service attentive, by the largely youthful and eager waiting staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
I can vouch for the marvellous products used in the spa whose ingredients grow in the maquis, chosen and developed by the wife in this privately owned hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nichola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

What an excellent hotel. A beautiful location with the mountains as a backdrop. snow capped when we were there in late April. Great service throughout. A very peaceful and restful place. Food was first class - both breakfast and dinner. An unbelievable jacuzzi must be 10 metres in diameter.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MT1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This is our second time to this hotel. We stayed here 3 years ago as a family and stayed in Casa Leria number 27. This time we shared Villa number 28 with some friends. As the hotel was completely booked and this was the only option. The set up is alright for two couples as you have separate baths and a common sitting area between rooms.

There are a few issues that the hotel needs to deal with....

First, the lights in bedrooms control the electric plugs, which means if you are sleeping no devices will be charged overnight. Very annoying when you wake up to ahead phone or iPad. Secondly, there is a major ant infestation around the plunge pool. The ants do bite and well not particularly painful is annoying! There is an in room coffee machine that with four adults requires more than 4 capsules in the room. I also would like to see cotton buds and cotton pads for makeup removal. Another thing that I like to see in the bathroom is conditioner and here you need to bring your own.

The grounds of this hotel are beautiful and enchanting! Which is why we came back. The rooms are charming and well supplied with places to sit and iPod docks in the sleeping areas. The staff mostly do not like to speak English so it is better if someone in your group speaks French.

Room Tip: Try and get a pool villa if you can, room 27 or 29 are especially good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marlena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Hotel LA SIGNORIA in Calvi, Corsica, is perfect for a summer break. Situated in a shadowy park, this small and cosy hotel offers tastefully furnished accommodation, swimming pool, beautiful spa stocked with plant-based, locally produced organic products, a great restaurant serving outstanding selection of local cheeses and refined menus, a bar serving drinks under palm trees.... Hotel has its own sandy beach about 10 minutes drive away ( guests can also borrow bikes from the reception).

If there is a downside to this lovely place it is its closeness to the airport - some planes could be heard landing or taking off, but the noise is remote and did not disturb us.

Closeness of Calvi is also attractive - it is 15 min drive away and offers wide range of restaurants to cater to every taste and budget. And then there is the legendary piano bar TAO, not to be missed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasignoria, Room Division Manager at La Signoria, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear Irina H,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Hotel La Signoria.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back in Calvi.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly for your futur reservation.

Warm regards,

Jérôme Bertrand
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calvi
2.4 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
458 reviews
10.3 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
487 reviews
80.5 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#3 of 30 in Calvi
321 reviews
45.2 mi away
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa sea and spa
69.3 mi away
Grand Hotel de Cala Rossa & Spa NUCCA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Signoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Signoria

Address: Route de la foret de Bonifato, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Calvi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calvi
#3 Family Hotel in Calvi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range: £282 - £920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — La Signoria 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"At the gates of Calvi" the old Genoese estate of Paratella once granted by King Louis XV of Mr Murat Serpriere, now houses its guests in 27 rooms, Suites and Villas customized. Isolated in this charming 18th century, the rooms open onto the Bonifato Valley and offer a panoramic view of the mountains bordering the coast. A 3 km from the sea and 4 km from the city center of Calvi, in a park of 3 hectares of Mediterranean accents - Eucalyptus, palm, olive and pine trees reminiscent of the beautiful place of eternity - here everything is quiet, calm and voluptuousness . One area in nature, ten minutes from Calvi, through forests and hills. Corsica and especially a visceral and authentic that appears in the layout, decor and atmosphere created by the owner Jean-Baptiste Ceccaldi. A house to live to learn more about the Corsican soul, nice rooms, which open on the mountains, indigenous materials, wood, terracotta, of great refinement in sobriety, large suites with pool and private garden and a service tailored to the wishes of the residents. New Spa 100% organic cosmetic line associated with a bio-Corsican. Meeting space for this year. The hotel "La Signoria" also called "A casa Ceccaldi," is undoubtedly one of the finest luxury hotels in Corsica. The former estate of Paratella is the source of this lovely building. Built under the influence of the Genoese island, the estate was then granted Mr Murat the Serpriere by Louis XV. Today, this wonderful home exceptional charm, surrounded by a beautiful park, well deserves its fame. Fascinating in its beauty, we could stay for hours to watch. Stroll through this garden of 3 hectares, while savoring the smell of the maquis and orange trees, singing fountains, will be a real fun time! It is in this extraordinary setting that welcomes guests to the Signoria. The Signoria has 27 Rooms and Suites customized, single-storey opening onto the gardens and terraces, with magnificent views of the mountains and the valley Bonifato. All offer luxury and amenities of a 5 star hotel. Here, the union of different styles from several periods, with an exotic note, is a success and elegance is still present. The Signoria also has 5 luxury villas, all stone, with private pool and garden ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Signoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Relais La Signoria Hotel Calvi
Auberge Relais La Signoria Calvi
La Signoria Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing