We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine but not memorable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel de Calvi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel de Calvi
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fine but not memorable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

While I had high expectations for this hotel, I found it strictly adequate.
Nice location near the marina and the Citadel made it convenient. I was
disappointed at how tired and run down the public areas of the hotel were,
like the throw cover over a forlorn sofa on the 3rd floor landing near our room.
Lobby, bar, hallways, elevator all smelled like cigarettes. Breakfast upstairs on
the top floor was nothing special. We happened to be in town during a special
event, the Polyphonic concerts of Corsican song held at the Citadel, but the hotel
staff knew nothing about them nor acted at all interested. The room was clean,
the water hot. One night there was enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a better room if they try to put you in a shoebox. We requested a room with a window that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bensmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    60
    72
    27
    14
See reviews for
19
108
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hovik, Norway
Level Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We used the hotel for the 1st night of our round trip on Corsica. It is; like most other hotels in Calvi centrally placed regarding down-town and the beaches. Quite ok, but nothing very special. No hotel parking, you are depending on the public places, but the hotel informs you about it. We had a room to the back side of the hotel, but still "enjoyed" the sound of early morning activities in the city. Still though, even the Bouleward is rather quiet, one way traffic makes the traffic less.
Breakfast is on the top floor with beautiful view of the city, but nothing but ordinary.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jørgen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Small, dark and kitsch but who cares? You're in the lovely town of Calvi and will probably be wandering around the tiny streets eating Nutella pancakes and watching the rich folk on their yachts rather than sitting in your room. Yes it's expensive for what you get, but that's Corsica for you and nothing's cheap, which is why there are no union jack clad yobs or Kerry Katona types on the island.
The hotel room was basic but did the job: hair dryer, TV, air con, clean sheets and towels; could have done with a shower curtain, more light and a decent mirror. There's a place to park your car opposite Super U (small charge) and a few free spots if you hunt around. Warning - you definitely need a car on this island - Corsican public transport is totally inadequate!
The location was perfect and the staff were polite. Didn't have breakfast because of the poor reviews and it was another 9 euros so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairebear100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We spent three nights at this hotel. We were upgraded to a 'chambre comfort' which was spacious and clean. All hotel staff were friendly - the reception staff were very helpful in recommending places for us to park the car and restaurants to eat in, as well as giving us advice on the best route to take to get to the next town we were stopping at.
We had breakfast one morning in the panoramic restaurant but it was quite basic so we ate elsewhere for the rest of our stay.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurawors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

Website is very misleading - roof terrace is not all that impressive and you cannot eat outside as the photos suggest. Breakfast very poor - bad coffee, orange juice, stale-ish bread and croissant every day. No pool, no fridge in room, no room service, no English channels on television. Staff are not especially helpful or friendly. Extremely disappointing for a 3 * hotel (not even the standard I'd expect from 2*). It didn't look like it had been refurbished since the '70s!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calvi hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
CONSTANTA, ROMANIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2008

we stayed at Calvi Grande Hotel for four nights in may 2007 and we loved it. The rooms are spatious, the bathroom is clean and huge, breakfast is "french": croissants, coffe or tea, butter and jam. The hotel has an "antik" air, very chic. The location is great, in the very heart of town, beautiful view, not far from the beach. Hope to go there again, it was the vacation of our life.

  • Liked — scenary, confort
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

Grand it may have been but no more. The Grand Hotel IS well situated, only a couple of short blocks from Calvi's beautiful citadel, but the rooms, well, lack any charm. They are clean, basic, functional, if a bit dark (especially the bathrooms). Breakfast is uninspired and includes all you can drink bad coffee. Without much effort this hotel could be exceptional. As it is, it is simpy mediocre -- albeit with a friendly staff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dark bathrooms, lousy coffee, a bit rundown
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WolaWola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Rocher Hotel
Le Rocher Hotel
#15 of 30 in Calvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Magnolia
Hotel Le Magnolia
#14 of 30 in Calvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sole Mare
Sole Mare
#21 of 30 in Calvi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Balanea
Hotel Balanea
#22 of 30 in Calvi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Christophe Colomb
Hotel Christophe Colomb
#24 of 30 in Calvi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#10 of 30 in Calvi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de Calvi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de Calvi

Property: Grand Hotel de Calvi
Address: 3 boulevard Wilson, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel de Calvi 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is located in the heart of Calvi, just 250 metres from the beach and within walking distance of the marina and the shops. The port is just 20 metres from the hotel and free Wi-Fi access is provided. The air-conditioned guest rooms are equipped with a minibar and a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms have balconies and rooms have views of either Calvi, the sea or the mountains. Grand Hotel De Calvi serves a daily breakfast in the restaurant located on the top floor of the hotel. The restaurant terrace has panoramic views of the Gulf of Calvi. Calvi-Saint Catherine Airport is 7 km away from Grand Hotel De Calvi. Private parking for motorcycles and scooters is available on site and there is a pick-up and drop-off area directly in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel de Calvi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel De Calvi Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing