We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“view on harbour” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Balanea

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Balanea
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“view on harbour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

building outside very poor, but don't warry that insede it has been totally refurshed. rooms very nice, contemporary furniture and clean. ask for harbour view, 4/5 floor. it's worth it!
limited choise at breckfast.
a bit expencive.
unforgotable experience.

Room Tip: ask for harbour view, 4/5 floor. it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gpellegr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    31
    22
    17
    15
See reviews for
12
42
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Had room at fifth floor with sea view. Elevator goes to fourth floor, stairs to fifth. Private terraces are divided with approx 1.5 meter tall wall, so not super private. Wifi connection unreliable at fifth floor. No pool, but city beach a few minutes walk away. Good centrale location. Service ok. Not best value for money, but ok.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panzer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsica, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We booked three rooms last Saturday night and looked forward to experiencing the so-called design hotel. What a joke. While the view is indeed rather impressive the rooms leave a lot to be desired especially for €180 a night. Frankly it's a rip-off. We spent between €150 and €180 per night during our stay in Corsica and this hotel came nowhere near the standard we found elsewhere.
I travel rather ra lot both professionally and privately and this is the first time I've ever felt compelled to post a review.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodner22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calvi hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
antwerp
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

i just returned from a 3 week trip in Corsica. i did not ended my trip in beauty. Stayed with my friend and the dog for 2 (last) days in hotel Balanéa in Calvi. i can put here an entire list of what you dont want to have or find in a hotel. but than the list will be long and boring.
just a few keywords. DIRTY OLD RUN DOWN just a 1/2 star hotel and that's than for the location. money trap!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank licence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2009

I was in Calvi with some friends and they all wanted to stay in town. We booked the Balanea. My room was dirty, the floor looked like it had not been vacummed for ages, there was an old apple under my bed and a lot of hair on the floor. The room smelt. I complained and they moved me to an other room which had loads of cockroaches. The room also smelt bad. They did try to get of the insects. Some of the rooms had great views but it was dirty, smelly and not friendly. Service was none existant. Not recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Songodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

After a day of biking I arrived in a very cosy room, well decorated. The hotel is near a pedestrian street full of shops. You are within walking distance of the marina.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank int2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

We had spacious and colourfull twin room (one double and one single bed) on the street side. If you pay extra you can get the seeview. Big bonus was that there was parquet floor not wall to wall carpet.
Hotel is near everything: port, station, shops, restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Rocher Hotel
Le Rocher Hotel
#14 of 30 in Calvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#20 of 30 in Calvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Magnolia
Hotel Le Magnolia
#15 of 30 in Calvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Calvi Hotel
Calvi Hotel
#7 of 30 in Calvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#10 of 30 in Calvi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balanea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balanea

Property: Hotel Balanea
Address: 6 rue Clemenceau, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Calvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balanea 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Balanea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balanea Hotel Calvi
Hotel Balanea Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing