We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but a bit expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Caravelle

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
La Caravelle
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice but a bit expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is perfectly located, next to the beach. It's quiet but it must be overcrowded during the Summer holidays. We thought the room was comfortable and the breakfast OK. It's at walking distance from Calvi's city center and the owners were very helpful to advise us for must-see stores and restaurants there. The staff is very friendly and professionnal. It's a bit expensive for what is is, though, even if the whole island is.

Room Tip: Try to pick a room as far as possible from the restaurant if you're looking for peace and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    56
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
69
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Nice hotel! We had room facing the garden on ground floor, rooms are not big but quite good. Nice, new bathrooms.
We only got options of half board when booking, but if you can - book only with breakfast. The 4 course dinner that are included are not bad, just boring and you get much better dinner options in town. We therefore ended up going to town half of the nights we stayed there.

Really nice staff, specially our waiter were really charming and took good care of us.

Hotel is greatly located right on beach, like 20 meters to walk :-) Nice facilities on beach, including a beach bar/restaurant to have lunch.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank li_ze100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I was very nervous when I booked this hotel, as it was the only one with availability, I was very pleasantly surprised, the gardens are lovely, we had a garden room with a very dainty view. The hotel is the closest to the beach, maybe 30m max! A very short walk to the harbour and town for restaurant options. We split the week into half board and breakfast only and as eating out can be expensive this seemed to work well. The staff could not have been more helpful. I agree the rooms are small, but they are clean and comfortable. Facilities are limited (no fridge and the hairdryer is pretty bad - my only complaint) but really for the money and other more important requirements I'll survive.
We hired a car so the parking was very useful and we managed many day trips around the island.
You won't be disappointed if you book here, a pair of safe hands!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllaS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wennington, Nr Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very good location for Calvi beach and short walk into Calvi town. Rooms clean, adequate but not much space, good ensuite shower room. Gardens outside are well kept, not allowed to lie on the grass!! Two chairs provided to sit on outside. We booked on half board basis - set menu which unfortunately was 4 courses all cheese based! The vegetarian members of our group struggled to get a suitable option. Car parking facilities outside hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Modern hotel within walking distance harbour and citadelle Calvi.
Public car park right ourside hotel.
Very close to Calvi beach and a nice walk over beach to Calvi.
Rooms modern but on the small side. Modern bathroom with walkin shower.
aircon good and flat screen tv.
Busy hotel and I think being used by coach parties so usuaal fully booked.
Rooms on ground floor facing small garden with french doors.
Restaurants /shops/coffee shops etc all nearby walking distance.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms with balcony probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dutchguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Just a few steps away from the train stop (ask to get off at Lido), and the beach. The beautiful old town is about 15 minutes walk, although there are cafes, restaurants, an ATM and a large supermarket nearby. The supermarket does hot food, which is ideal for a beach picnic.

As seems to be the norm in Corsica, they insist in taking a deposit to confirm booking. Their online booking system was not working at the time, so I needed to make a euro bank transfer, which could be costly if you are not set up to do this.

The hotel does push the half board and breakfast buffet options, but they did quote for room only when asked. The breakfast buffet is a little pricey, at €15, so we opted for a nice cup of coffee in one of the nearby cafes for €2.50.

The garden rooms are very small, but fine if you are only there for a day or two. The garden is immaculate.

The only negative was that when I asked if they could book a taxi to Calenzana, they called around and quoted €40. When I spoke directly to the drivers at the train station the price was actually €30. I can understand a markup but 33% is excessive.

Overall a good choice for a day or two in Calvi

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank tcee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

On a visit to Europe from our home in Australia, this was a perfect place to spend a week in early September and to meet up with an old friend from France. We had rooms opening on to the beautiful, well-maintained garden. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We chose half board: breakfasts were generous buffet-style and could be eaten on the patio; four-course dinners were delicious and varied. Next day's menus were posted the previous night, and guests are able to request a different dish if something on the menu is not to their taste. Quantities are nicely judged. Some very good local wines are available. The hotel is ideally situated both for swimming at a good sandy beach, and also for strolling into the picturesque old town with its intensely blue harbour surmounted by the Citadel. The little train stops just outside the hotel gate and several excursions can be taken by it.

Room Tip: Ground floor garden rooms are small but adequate and comfortable, and are well placed for older visi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.0 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#4 of 30 in Calvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Erasme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Calvi Hotel
Calvi Hotel
#7 of 30 in Calvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Corsica
Hotel Corsica
#6 of 30 in Calvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Caravelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Caravelle

Property: La Caravelle
Address: Route de la Plage, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Caravelle 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Caravelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Caravelle Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing