We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a remodel, staff not the friendliest”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Reviewed 1 October 2012

If your travel plans take you to Calvi, and you simply need a place to stay for one night, Hotel Regina may be an option. However, it feels more like a hotel catering to business travelers than tourists. We were traveling with a group and universally everyone thought the cleanliness of the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. Our particular experience with the front desk staff is they were at best indifferent to their guests, and outright non-cooperative to some of us. If traveling to Calvi again, I would look into other options.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrichcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one week and found it to be very good, modern, smart, central, comfortable and peaceful. The standard room had air con, tv, great bathroom, comfortable bed, balcony with table and chairs and lounger. The room was cleaned, towels changed and restocked every day at some point when we were out. I've read other reviews remarking on the stained carpets and this is true, light blue is probably not the best colour for hotel carpets. The continental breakfast was an extensive choice of pastries, fruit, cereals, yogurts, juices, tea, coffee all self service or could be ordered to your room and all top quality. There is a beautiful small,deep, swimming pool which was great for a cooling dip and a drink from the bar. The hotel always seemed very quiet with not a great deal of atmosphere though all the staff were always friendly and efficient and helpful, don't expect them to fuss over you, its not how Corsicans are. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to the town centre, port or the fantastic, long, beach but it is a steep uphill walk on the way back .

Room Tip: Choose and pay for a higher room for a view but all rooms are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights upon arriving in Corsica. We had an incredible view of the port and the lovely swimming pool at the hotel. The lobby and restaurant/bar area were very modern looking. Our room had very nice furniture and a comfortable bed but the carpet just made you want to say 'yuck'. It was a pale color so the stains were everywhere and very noticeable. For our last night it was necessary to move us to a different room and unfortunately this room had stained carpet And the walls were noticeably in need of updating. Everything seemed to be clean but I would have rated this hotel much higher had they ripped out the carpet and had tile floors!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We had a very comfortable stay at the Hotel Regina - spacious room, effective and quiet air-conditioning, excellent breakfast and friendly staff. The pool was perfect for a quick dip to cool down. The hotel was ideally placed for a saunter into the centre for Calvi (only 5 minutes) - the restaurants we liked included La Padrina, Aux Bons Amis and the unforgettable Matahari at Aniella Beach just a short drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Family-owned hotel built ten years ago to modern standards so we couldn't hear any neighbour noise. It was hot at the time of our stay but the AC was just coping - cooling and drying the air to "comfortable" level but not so far that the room thermostat ever shut it off. The bathroom extractor was not working, which I always take as a sign that the hotel management are trying to economise. (Visitors are still coming but locals say takings are 30% down this year). Breakfast is a continental buffet; don't stay here if you want a full English! The pool was small but very well maintained; flocks of pigeons use it as a drinking fountain but the water was always clean with no feathers or pigeon poo evident and I often saw one of the owning family checking it carefully for cleanliness. The room was a decent size and very clean with quality fittings and nothing broken or worn out, though the shower-in-bath soaked the floor if you didn't aim it carefully.

In common with all French hotels the staff were polite, efficient and correct and Corsicans have their own rather formal manner, which can be taken the wrong way if you are expecting cheery familiarity.

If you stay more than a weekend in Calvi you will need a hire car (there are none available during peak French holiday season) and for this the Regina hotel is excellent as it has a huge underground car park accessible with your key card. The hotel is easy to reach from the two main roads entering the town and just a few kilometres from the airport. There are plenty of great restaurants (mostly meat, very little fish) in town and all the usual facilities like a supermarket within a few minutes walk. You can stroll into town in ten minutes but beware the Calvi sore calves syndrome as there are a lot of steps connecting the four main streets, which run parallel at different levels through the town!

Other reviewers have written about stunning views but to be honest all you can see is the citadel and a bit of the bay from the hotel, through a gap between some slightly tired-looking apartment buildings. All rooms face the citadel and the bay so all are quiet and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkGlobalrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Calvi has a tiny old historic center and then a loooong tail of new hotels wrapping around the bay. The Hotel Regina is one of the newer hotels closest to the old center. It is designed and run like any good chain hotel. What it lacks in charm it makes up with large, clean rooms with great views of the bay, snow-capped mountains, and old citadel. We had a room on the second floor with spectacular views. I don't know how the views are at lower levels. The pool was already open at the end of March (although we were too scared to try it due to the brisk weather). We stayed only one night, as Calvi was not yet really open for business (the tourist season starts April 1, and most of the town is actually closed until then). And it really seemed to be more beach oriented, so we headed inland.

Room Tip: the higher up the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ackerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Only a one night stay so not a complete 'exposure'. Arrived early afternoon and had to wait 20 minutes or so while room made ready. They upgraded me from sea view to 'panoramic' sea view. One floor up basically! It is a good view of the bay and the Citadel - the primary tourist site in town.
Some decent restaurants in town and the hotel breakfast (though expensive at 12 Euros) costs no more if you have it delivered to your room.
Room well equipped, fairly spacious. Nothing to complain about, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#3 of 30 in Calvi
320 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
522 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#5 of 30 in Calvi
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Corsica
Hotel Corsica
#6 of 30 in Calvi
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Calvi Hotel
Calvi Hotel
#9 of 30 in Calvi
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: avenue Santa Maria, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Calvi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calvi
Price Range: £57 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Calvi
Hotel Regina Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing