We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the queen of hotels!”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Calvi
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had seen mixed reviews on this hotel, however, as we wanted a good hotel (4*/5*) that was in a central position in Calvi, there was very little choice. We opted for the Regina as the superior room specifications ticked all the boxes and it had a pool. The position of the hotel was very good - though the last bit of the hill on the upward journey was not for the faint-hearted! The free underground car park was definitely an advantage. However, we had a luke-warm reception on arrival - no offer of help with luggage, no information about the hotel eg time and location of breakfast, pool towels etc. and there was no information folder in the room either. The room was a good size with a huge balcony with panoramic views and the air conditioning was already on so it was wonderfully cool. But the furniture and the carpets were grubby - the carpets in the corridor areas were heavily stained. The pool was very disappointing - one set of somewhat rickety steps into the pool itself and no depth indicator - several attempts couldn’t find a shallow area. It was probably clean but it did have a rather grubby appearance. Pool towels were present on loungers but it wasn’t obvious where to get them from. Pigeons were also a problem - obviously birds are attracted to water but it was somewhat disconcerting to have about 30 descend at the same time. Pigeons were also a problem on the balcony leaving their mess on the floor, table and chairs - although this was cleaned it still meant that the balcony was unusable at times. The buffet continental breakfast was extremely limited and disappointing, and the availability of food and service was rather erratic. One morning the uncleared tables and lack of food/drinks made you think you were in a one star rather than a four star establishment! And, the area in which the breakfast was set out was very cramped - and a wire along the floor from the middle to the coffee machine was a potential trip hazard. On the health and safety front, we couldn’t find an internal staircase (not ideal for people who cannot travel in lifts) and the emergency procedure instructions were ‘hidden’ inside the wardrobe rather than on the back of the door which is where they are usually posted. We asked to record a minor accident and were told that the hotel doesn’t have an accident book. On one occasion the door to our room was left open after it had been cleaned - probably because it was so heavy and difficult to close. The receptionist was a bit laissez-faire about it but we did receive a full apology from one of the cleaning staff who, unlike the ‘management’ took full responsibility for what had happened even though it might not have been her. Overall, an extremely disappointing hotel and certainly it did not warrant the four star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We can´t recomend any one to stay att this hotel: Filthy and bad service, they don´t have a clue what they are doing, I travel 100 days a year and have some clue what is ok and what´s not - Get a new management, please. The carpet in the room was so dirty that they had to clean it, that gave that the carpet was wet for 3 days and the room got a terrible smell. We stayed 7 night with 2 children. Smallest bang for the buck, no restaurant and an overcharged boring breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Mr_Sweden1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was the worst hotel we stayed at in our 7 day cycling trip in Corsica. The welcome by the receptionist was rude and unfriendly and no help with our luggage was offered, which was a shock in a large, modern resort hotel. The room, while nicely sized was too hot and the air conditioning was non-existent. When we inquired about it, we got the same rude and indifferent response from the same receptionist. The pool was grungy. Breakfast was OK. I would not stay here again and would dissuade anyone from staying here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here - that's my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cycletourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in August. The hotel is ideally placed five minutes walk from the port (the main thoroughfare of restaurants) and ten minutes from the beach. It is perched at the top of a fairly steep hill which gives you a good opportunity to burn off some calories!

The rooms are big and clean. I think most, if not all, have a balcony and a decent view of the citadel / sea and free wi-fi. The pool was nice (but the side tiles could probably do with a clean) and we always managed to get some sun loungers. The private underground car park was also very handy.

This hotel is just a few tweaks away from being excellent. The service is "lite". On check-in, we were just handed a room key. It would be nice to feel more welcome with some basic info about the area (a map), when breakfast is available, how we get towels for the pool etc. Also, a 4 star hotel should have an iron and an ironing board - if not for each room, then one per floor.

Also, breakfast at 12 Euro per person (extra for eggs!) is steep - especially when there's a boulangerie on the doorstep which will provide a good breakfast for half the price.

Overall though, we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed for 7 nights and found the hotel to be perfectly positioned for exploring Calvi, although near to the Port it's ok on the way down but hard work on the way back up! Found the hotel to be as expected from all previous reviews, spacious rooms, very clean, great sized balcony with nice furniture, bathroom with separate wc and spotless and I'm fussy !! Pool was fine clean, and plenty of room even though the hotel seemed full, Air con was fine no problems with that, staff were friendly and more than helpful, but as always if you have a smile on your face so do they ! Wifi was not great had to be at a certain position by the pool and no chance after 6 pm. The only thing I didn't like was on our last night I noticed a dog staying oh my! Don't really go for animals in hotels but that's just my personal opinion, and the French love their dogs !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nelly016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My fiancé and I just came back from Calvi, and I truly believe if it was not a surprise birthday present it would be more on the poor side of a review. The thing is that this hotel has so much potential to be better.

Pro:
Spacious room and closet. The hotel has a good view... and our room overlooked the pool which was nice. There is also a big enough balcony to enjoy a snack. Friendly receptionists.

Con:
No bartender. I am not sure if it was because it is not officially the summer season.. but if they have a bar there should be a bartender. Luckily the receptionists were nice enough to be willing to follow my fiancé's instructions on how to pour a well drink. The bar also says it closes at 24h.. but by 22h we had to take drinks out of the mini fridge
The room says AC... but the room never really got cold. With the sunburns that we had.. we were in dying need of a cold room.
There were many pigeons going into the pool leaving behind too much bird poo to even try out the water.
Breakfast was 12e which is way too much for croissants that were not fresh, stale cereal and powdered juice

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NM51692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Pros:
terrace with view over the pool and the citadel
huge bathtub
large double bed
spacious room
free parking

Cons:
unmovable nightstand that was blocking access to the electrical outlets behind it;
when we first mentioned about our wifi issues in the room, we were led to understand that it's normal that the signal comes and goes, upon insisting on the matter the receptionist figured out that there was an unsolved problem

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexdeflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calvi hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Mariana
Hotel Mariana
#3 of 30 in Calvi
320 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
455 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Chez Charles
Hotel Chez Charles
#1 of 1 in Lumio
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Erasme
2.5 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#5 of 30 in Calvi
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: avenue Santa Maria, 20260, Calvi, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calvi
Price Range: £62 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Calvi
Hotel Regina Calvi, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing