We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A secluded resort with great spa facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Porticcio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A secluded resort with great spa facility”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in May with my partner and had a good time. As the reviews suggest it is quite expensive, but not outrageous.
Getting there is about au$50 by taxi from the airport, however we later found out the hotel has their taxi service for around au$30.
Hotel itself is very nice and enjoys a fantastic position on the seaside with great views in all directions. The grounds are well maintained and there is a small 50m private beach right out front which is okay for a dip and the heated pool is also very good.
Service here is very good for the most part, we found all staff very helpful and most spoke quite good English which made it easier for us. Only mishap was we were overcharged a number of times in the restaurant.. Around $200 all up which we cleared in the end but I'd recommend double checking your bill!
Food standard was below par for a Sofitel, nothing we ate was overly impressive and it was also quite expensive. Cocktails were also pretty average.
The day spa is massive at this place with many treatments available and they also have free saunas for use also.
The room we had was lovely, great views over the ocean and you can always hear the waves lapping away at the shores which was really relaxing.
The hotel is bit isolated so it's best to hire a car to get around as there isn't anything within walking distance, you can hire push bikes to get down to the local markets which takes about 10mins but that's about it.
All in all a pleasant stay. Go if you're after a secluded retreat where you don't plan to leave the resort and just enjoy the spa facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezalenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    312
    113
    56
    14
See reviews for
147
516
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Like the reviews suggest this is a very expensive hotel. On the whole it's probably worth it. On the minus side, there is no beach worth mentioning but on the plus side you have a great view of wild sea. Nice pool area. Very very disappointed with spa. If you're not getting a treatment you're not allowed to use the thalassa pool. That leaves only the hammam and steam rooms. 2 of the steam rooms close at six (most people are outside at this time!) so only a lukewarm hamaam was available. What a disappointment after spending over 500 euros to stay there for the night. Also you have to pay for the internet. Not only that but I couldn't print my boarding pass from their machine. What arrogance makes expensive hotels think that they can charge for services like printing your boarding cards that are normally available for free in one star hotels? We were willing to pay for facilities but the rip off factor is annoying. A fool and his money etc. Breakfast was nice but expensive and buffet supper was worth it (although the waitress took away our expensive bottle of wine even though it wasn't finished while we went up for another course.) All in all some positives but they should come clean on their website about use of spa facilities which was our main reason for choosing the sofitel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eoin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

A week in Corsica just as their season is ending proved a great way to get away from all the problems back home, and the Sofitel at Porticcio provided the ideal location. It is probably one of the most expensive hotels on the island, but this Sofitel does it's best to justify the cost.
The hotel is set on a headland overlooking the gulf of Ajaccio, and our "Superior" room was extremely comfortable and had a coastal view along with a balcony, as do most of the other rooms, whilst the hotel grounds are stunning, with comfortable seating under bedouin style canopies allowing you to relax, sunbathe and take in the views.
The sea-water pool is excellent although it is in the hottest spot in the hotel, and you can also use the hotel's private beach to sea swim from, although there is no sand available which is a shame when you see some of the splendid sandy beaches on the island (just down the road in Porticcio itself for example).
The restaurant is again on the expensive side, and tries to be a bit too clever with some of the combinations offered on the menu, but it has a superb location.
A small gripe concerns the car park which is very uneven due to tree roots coming through the tarmac, it also tends to get pretty full up. Unfortunately a trip over one such root punctured a fuel pipe under our hire car ( I am still waiting to find out how much that will add to the cost of the holiday!)
Altogether a great week, with splendid weather for all seven days, lots to see and do and this Sofitel provides a great base to enjoy the South West of the island.
P.S. - Corsican Rose wine is absolutely delicious!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have smaller balconies than first floor and if you are no a smoker make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Whilst the hotel is splendid, the view breathtaking and the Spa really pleasant, I thought this Sofitel is not to the standards of the astronomical prices (around EUR 3K per person for 6 days excl. flights & transportation...!):
SERVICE:
-at the Spa: the personnel is pleasant and attentive, fab!! it's really relaxing and we had a good time chatting with the personal trainers at the gym and the girls working at the Spa. thank you
-Pool area: very nice and professional. great, thanks!
- Restaurant: the service at the restaurant is appaling. It takes about 2.5+hours to get served a meal for 6. Breakfast is good, dinner is very good, lunch is at best mediocre.
- reception: not great. hypocritical smiles, no real service or useful information
- cleaning staff: I appreciated the impeccable service from the cleaning staff who brought fresh fruit and water daily a well as cleaned the room thoroughly. They were always smiling and pleasant when we ran into them. thank you!!
- director: the VIP jet-setter. the hotel view is absolutely amazing. He organized welcome drinks for us.. between the laudromat and the parking lot (with no view of course and nasty odors from the parking lot). And if you think I am joking, I am not. and he arrived late.. of course. All week it looked like we was on vacation rather than us. honestly, shoking!!
-PREMISES
There is no access to the tiny beach so nobody uses it (we asked the director but he said it was to keep people that were not from the hotel off the beach.. ?!??)
the property is beautiful, the salt-water pool is very pleasant, the pool area is darling with breathtaking views to the sea. i loved spending time lazying in the garden, it's really agreeable.
I think the rooms are fine. The decoration is not to my taste but the beds are very comfortable, the TVs are bad quality so the sound and image are quite mediocre. we had a small terrasse with a sea view. Nice to wake up to. my friends had a much nicer room i have to say with a terrasse that was fab.
The Spa and gym are superb: we had a great time working out and getting pampered every day.
OVERALL: I had a great time thanks to my entourage and thanks to the Spa/Gym. I dont think I will go back as I know many places where the standards are higher and the prices similar or cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The most positive was the view. It was breathtaking and that alone was worth it. I have recommended the hotel based on that. However, the staff service was below average, often at the bar, when you needed someone, no one could be found. The service of the pool was excellent. We especially appreciated when the gentleman helped us set up our sun bathing chairs, etc.; it was going the extra mile. The first night at dinner, it was a buffet. The food was ok, but I was surprised to be charged 60€ per person for a simple buffet (wine and drinks not included). I am happy to pay money, but for good food. I think the price for the buffet was too much. Overall though, the view was so great and the overall experience was positive, so I would recommend it to others, but with a note of caution. Especially when you check out, the bill was all wrong and we had been charged for dinners and other things that we did not have. So do check your bill carefully before you pay. But all in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The finest resort we have ever visited in Corsica. Infiniti pool reminded me of a ship's prow, 280 degree views of the ocean, wonderful grounds, comfortable outdoor furniture. Meals were superb, service devine. Room had an amazing deck overlooking the beach. The only downside is the price, I believe two rooms plus meals was around $2,500 for one night. Worth the splurge but be prepared.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front next to the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vintage16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

located directly at the sea, this is a dream.
pool, spa, fitness just perfect.
the hotels restaurant is too expensive for what it delivers.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristan3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porticcio
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
3.5 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
488 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kalliste Hotel Residence
Kalliste Hotel Residence
#1 of 9 in Porticcio
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.5 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
396 reviews
39.5 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
436 reviews
38.7 mi away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#4 of 20 in Bonifacio
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa

Property: Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa
Address: Domaine de la Pointe | Golfe d'Ajaccio, 20166 Porticcio, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porticcio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Porticcio
#2 Family Hotel in Porticcio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porticcio
#3 Romantic Hotel in Porticcio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing Ajaccio Bay and the Sanguinaires Islands, Corsica provides a stunning setting for the hotel and its thalassotherapy institute. With unrestricted views of sky, sea and rocks, the hotel boasts a small private beach, where guests can sunbathe and swim in total peace, plus a large outdoor pool . This is simply heaven. The ideal setting for long holidays or short and memorable healthy breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Golfe d'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Thalassa Porticcio Hotel Porticcio
Sofitel Porticcio
Accor Thalassa Porticcio
Porticcio Sofitel
Sofitel Golfe D'Ajaccio Thalassa Sea And Spa Corsica/Porticcio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing