We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Shegara
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel le Goeland(Porto-Vecchio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Tilbury(Porto-Vecchio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Aiglon Bylitis(Porto-Vecchio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Costa Salina(Porto-Vecchio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Roches Blanches(Porto-Vecchio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Holzer(Porto-Vecchio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Le Mistral(Porto-Vecchio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
72
108
33
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
108
33
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townprivate parkingport areaenjoyed our stayour honeymoonnice hotelmarinahilleurospoolcorsicabalconygardenbeachescitadeltidyloungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We had to move hotels after 4 nights as we were not able to keep our room due to booking late via the internet ( we knew this when booking ). We had 3 very comfortable nights in the Shegara and saved 80 Euro each night over the Goeland across the road !
This well run 3 star hotel unfortunately had no restaurant service available for dinner , but served a 14 euro breakfast if required. Lovely rooms , very comfortable bed , window onto garden at rear. Lovely garden and large infinity swimming pool facing the sea across the main road. 10 minutes walk to port and harbour.
Well recommended for a B&B style hotel.

Room Tip: Quieter at back facing garden
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at Shegara for 6 days as part of our honeymoon trip and were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel.
The rooms are spacious and clean, the balcony was great for relaxing after a day in the sun. The location is wonderful, since there are very few hotels in proximity to the sea.
It is located 2 mins walking from the port and 10 min walking from the old center. We were very happy not having booked a hotel right in the old center because it is a very steep walk there, which leaves you breathless.
The breakfast is standard but has enough choices. The staff is great, have wonderful recommendations and will help with just about anything.
The pool is very nice, although the water was a bit cold.
I would absolutely recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank miruna_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This was a great hotel, ideal for being in the centre of the port and a stroll away from all the restaurants and shops.
The staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was ideal with a great view and the pool was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The hotel is 2 minutes from the port with it's selection of bars and restaurants, the hotel itself was really nice, everything worked fine, and it was lovely having breakfast overlooking the sea. We found the staff to be really helpful and able to speak English (which helped us as we couldn't speak French!) and they were able to give us lots of information on points of interest in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We walked into the lobby and watched as the woman at reception was reciting her standard welcome spiel in French to the guests before us. Cold, mechanical. Half way through she stopped and turned to us, saying "you might as well listen too" and then continued. Beyond basic pleasantries, the hotel staff were disengaged and unresponsive.

Our room was in good condition, on the ground floor, facing onto the front parking area. A little noisy as people and cars drove over the coarse gravel. Porto-Vecchio is absolutely teeming with mosquitoes in May, and the rooms were warm. The aircon wasn't functioning (I suspect it doesn't cool unless the management flicks an "it's summer now" switch somewhere), so we had to open the windows frequently, then chase mosquitoes around the room before bedtime.

We were two people in a three-bed room, so housekeeping removed the third towel after the first night! The gate to the small but pretty swimming pool was broken and wouldn't open, but when we approached reception the response was "we don't have time to help you". When we worked out how to fix the gate temporarily and get in, reception just shrugged when we told them how. Free wifi was largely imaginary, given that our room, a stone's throw from reception, could barely get a signal. On the last morning, there was no wifi at all - when we enquired about it at reception, the response was "oh, it must be the technician checking the systems"... nothing more helpful.

In summary, this is an expensive hotel (like many in the area) with unwelcoming service and a distinct mechanical rigidity. The location for the marina is good, except for the significant noise from the road. It's a 10 minute walk up steep roads to the old town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews