We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Corsica”
Review of Hotel Shegara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Shegara
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Corsica”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 days. Very nice hotel. We had a room in the new section with a sea view. Room spacious with a good sized modern bathroom. Parking on site.Good breakfast to start the day.
About a 10 to 15 walk up into the old town where there are lots of places to eat.Some good beaches to drive to with lots of parking.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    105
    31
    18
    9
See reviews for
45
125
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We spent 3 day at the hotel which was used as base for day trips to different parts of the isle.
The pool and all other installations are in good order and clean.
It's not a luxury hotel but it has everything you need, including a parking area.
I can recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flacuchentos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When rating this very nice venue it all comes down to your requirements: we were looking for a room where the four of us (2 adults, 2 kids) could sleep and have breakfast during our stay in Porto-Vecchio. We planed to visit the area so we did not need to stay hours in the room or in the hotel. We get more than that at Hotel Shegara with an excellent buffet for the breakfast and a very nice infinity pool (though we did not use it) at an ubeattable ratio price/quality (three times cheaper than the hotel accross the road). The room is rather small (but again we did not care) but the bathroom is modern, nice and clean. Private parking is free and it is a walking distance from city center (~20 minutes walk). Staff is very polite and pleasant. I can even recommend the restaurant which is located in the hotel (but not related to the hotel, different tenant).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Simply one of the most attractive spots we've found in our travels, this hotel boasts mature gardens and plantings, an infinity pool, a lovely view of the bay, and quite a nice restaurant as well. The hotel is not only immaculate, but it even smells lovely throughout, and the rooms are quite comfortable. I was reluctant to leave!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dobiemom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This hotel is right at the top of the 3* category I would say. The front desk staff were extremely helpful. It was more like a concierge service. The buffet breakfast was excellent and served by a very cheery young lady who remembered our room number after the second day and welcomed us like old friends every morning. The room was small but more than adequate (that, I imagine, is what makes it 3 rather than 4*). The bathroom had been refurbished recently and was lacking only in an attachment on the wall end of the bath to hold the hand-held shower. The infinity pool was immaculately clean and surrounded by lovely landscaping.
The position of the hotel was excellent as we could walk back from dinner in the marina or the Goeland Hotel opposite (fab food and location) within minutes.

Room Tip: It was definitely worth paying the small premium for a sea view room on the top (2nd) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is along the main road crossing Porto-Vecchio. Dining and shopping is available within a 10 minute walk radius. The lobby and hotel areas are pleasant, its restaurant was really tasty and high quality food. The 3-bed room on the ground floor however was extremely small, we barely had any private space for our luggage and personal effects. The bathroom was modern, nice and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BPwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Coming to the end of a week's stay here in this lovely 3* Hotel. Rooms are spacious and seafront rooms have balconies looking across to the bay. Aircon in rooms works very well (down to 15c). No separate shower but bath has a shower attachment. No big deal. Breakfasts excellent both in range and quality. Staff pleasant, helpful and (unsurprisingly) prefer you to speak French. Restaurant within hotel building is apparently not owned/operated by hote. Haven't eaten there so can't comment. Infinity pool is lovely. Gardens around pool have a "child proof" locking gate. Easy walking distance from centre of town. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto-Vecchio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Goeland
Hotel le Goeland
#4 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Roches Blanches
Les Roches Blanches
#16 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kilina Hotel
Kilina Hotel
#31 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
260 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mariosa
Hotel Mariosa
#2 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
295 reviews
2.5 mi away
Les Hauts de Porto Vecchio
Les Hauts de Porto Vecchio
#20 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shegara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shegara

Property: Hotel Shegara
Address: Avenue Georges Pompidou | La Marine, 20137, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shegara 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Shegara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shegara Hotel Porto Vecchio
Hotel Shegara Corsica/Porto-Vecchio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing