We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“had a lovely stay, very convenient location, excellent helpful staff :-)”
Review of Le Tilbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Tilbury
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“had a lovely stay, very convenient location, excellent helpful staff :-)”
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Room had a great view of the bay (we were on the second floor) and was fairly spacious
Room was kept spotlessly clean and tidy, separate toilet from the main bathroom with a good bathtub and also a bidet.
Continental breakfast was included in the price and served until 10.30am which was useful when having a lie-in. Liked our own private balcony and you can get your breakfast delivered to your room for no extra charge which was a nice touch.
We appreciated the free garage parking too, it is a town where off road parking (or indeed any parking spaces) is in short supply and would expect to pay to park, and as it is not such a busy time of year we were able to get a space each night of our week stay. This was a key factor that made us choose this particular hotel in Porto-Vecchio
Laurent and the rest of the team at the Tilbury were very authentically hospitable and warmly sincere and helped us with a restaurant reservation and recommendations on places to go in the area and local cuisine.
It occurred to us that it would be have been nice to have a mini fridge and a shower that was more robust/powerful. Also a double bed rather than 2 twin beds would have been better!
We booked and paid for our hotel through a third party booking agency so we thought the price we paid for what we received was reasonable for the location, given that it was the end of the season also.
There was some work taking place at the hotel but it did not bother us, only could hear it when not in the room, like in the communal hotel areas or outside on the balcony.

Not being French, I got a bit confused by the lighting in the hotel corridors (it was very dark there as no natural light in those areas) as the light switches are activated by pushing a timer switch button which looked like UK door bells! It might be better to have motion sensors to activate the light in those shared but infrequently used areas like in the parking garage?
Pool was a bit 'green' at the start of the week but got cleaned a few days later on. The sea was warmer than the pool so we did not use it in the end. Nice pool terrace with sofas and atmospheric lighting.
There is a jacuzzi spa/sauna/hammam but it seemed quite expensive (50euros for 2 people but unsure of duration of session). I would expect to pay 15-20Euros an hour for 2 people for such a facility as it did not include any treatments.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    67
    37
    26
    10
See reviews for
28
95
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Hi,

My wife and I stayed here for almost a week a few weeks ago.

First impressions were awful... the hotel feels like a hotel that hasn't been decorated much since the 80's dare I say 70s.

After settling in and on reflection I would have to say the following:

a - location is great - really close walk to the heart of Porto Vecchio.
b - ask for a room with a view - view is great.
c - breakfast as one person described here "adequate" e.g. fruit salad out of a tin.
d - air conditioning works really well.
e - bus ride to the most amazing beaches ever e.g. Palambaggia.
f - nice pool, with towels.
g - ferociously overpriced for anywhere I have ever been in the world.

Nice, but be willing to cough up for average hotels in France.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I would strongly recommend against staying at Le Tilbury. We checked in as advised, and were told the room was unavailable until 16:30 (far later than the official time). Then had problems getting information on how to park the car, even after several requests.

Staff hardly speaks English, and addresses customers informally and without reasonable professional attitude.

One of the worst experiences in France for a few years, so would not recommend unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mantelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto-Vecchio hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Great location three minutes walk from town centre with all the bars and restaurants , yet the location is quiet. Hotel have there own car parking area which was very useful.
Yes the rooms are a little tired but they are very clean and the air con is very efficient.
Breakfast was served either in the room or by the pool and was perfectly adequate.
I would certainly recommend this hotel although the room rates look very expensive in July/August.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victorGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

One of two hotels we stayed in on Corsica. We had expected a smarter hotel but with the exception of the pool area it all looked a bit dated. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel looked clean. Great view from our room which was was a really good size including the bathroom. Breakfast was very poor - we would have expected a buffet but were just given a tray with a selection of continental breakfast items. Wi Fi out of action. Car parking was very limited - if we did manage to get a space we had to leave the car in for the evening or risk no space on our return. Although the same star rating as our second hotel in the Calvi area it was definitely of a lower standard.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This hotel was such a disappointment - it makes you wonder about the authenticity of some of these reviews. The pool area is okay, but the rooms are tacky, malfunctioning and not particularly clean. Our balcony was tiny, and at night, our room was too hot, and we could get nothing done about it when we complained. We stayed at a number of hotels while in Corsica - this was one of the priciest and definitely the least appealing. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zentraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Hotel lovely. Beautiful pool and terrasse with a lovely view over the sea from all balconies. Big and nice room. Friendly staff. Good food. Plus for free parking indoor. In the heart of Porto Veccio, but quiet and calm. We are very pleased and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariss77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto-Vecchio hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Alcyon
Best Western Hotel Alcyon
#35 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Le Mistral
Hotel Le Mistral
#23 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Roches Blanches
Les Roches Blanches
#15 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shegara
Hotel Shegara
#17 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holzer
Hotel Holzer
#13 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Residence Hoteliere Alcyon
BEST WESTERN Residence Hoteliere...
#31 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Tilbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Tilbury

Property: Le Tilbury
Address: Avnue du General Leclerc | Haute Ville, 20137, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Tilbury 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gulf of Porto Vecchio, this charming hotel welcomes you near the old part of the city and the citadel for your leisure or business stay. Le Tilbury offers 33 spacious and air-conditioned guest rooms and suites. All of them come with private balcony or terrace with view of the sea. Full range of quality services is available on-site : Jacuzzi, hammam, beauty centre, there is something here to each and everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Tilbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Tilbury Porto Vecchio
Le Tilbury Corsica/Porto-Vecchio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing