We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in the area of Porto - Vecchio”
Review of Hotel le Goeland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel le Goeland
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 10 days in this cozy and elegant hotel at room 40. The most important part of this hotel - the people working there: everybody pays attention to you and cares about you, trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you once more to everybody!
Our triple room was big enough for us, though at the beginning it seemed to me that it was not silent because of the road. It is better to sleep with the big balcony windows closed and air cond switched on (it works noiseless). The food part was fantastic: breakfast was our favorite part, you found everything you needed, took a big cup of coffee and enjoyed picturesque surrounding. We had HB (semi- pension) and my only recommendation to the hotel management is to make the HB dinner menu more variable and to give guests a possibility to feel free in tasting excellent French cuisine probably with a separate but own menu offering each day several options for starters, main courses and desserts. I hope to return to this hotel once again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

After an extremely disappointing 2nd night at Les Grillades, glacial service and overcharged, we booked this just across the road from where we were staying. Booking was effortless and the staff charming.

The hotel is set in beautiful grounds with pre-dinner drinks served in the gardens looking out to the bay. We ate on the terrace at the back of the hotel which look onto the gardens. The table was beautifully set, the service prompt and menus in English were offered.

All of the food was of excellent quality with stand-out items being Swordfish and John Dorey. Alas, one of my fellow diners ordered an Argentine Steak when we are surrounded by Aberdeen Angus at home. He was delighted with it. Deserts were delicious and well presented.

Wine list is interesting and modestly priced for what is on offer. I recommend trying the 2012 Domaine Pieretti that was a new (to me) white wine.

Final bill, after a glass of 20 year old Calvados, was @ 200 Euros for 4 of us. Not cheap but great value for a truly memorable evening. Really couldn't fault the place. As at 31.07.13 the best meal in Corsica to date.

Hotel looked nice and wish I was staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The view, the garden and the beach are very nice. Very nice trees also. But do not have dinner there. The food is really bad. Having frozen fish in a place like Corsica is unbelievable. We were 8 people and we ordere 8 different dishes. All were really poor, close from bad. Waiters and personel is very nice but cannot compensate the low quality of the food.

Room Tip: We only went to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is the best place to stay in Porto Vecchio. The restaurants and bars are easily accessible and whilst the hotel is on a fairly busy road it is oriented towards the bay and offers a superb setting for breakfast and sun set dining. The room wasn't huge, the view restricted and only the enormous stone bath had any wow factor. The staff are all first class but there aren't lots of facilities and it just couldn't in our eyes justify the price tag. I think this is due to the areas overhyped and busy beaches and low sterling exchange rates.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermioneYule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had 3 nights in the Goeland, teh setting is fantastic out front of the hotel. Unfortunately our room was at the back of teh hotel in the main block (number 20) and the airconditioning did not work. we reported it three times but had to sleep with the windows open and were woken at 6 in the morning by traffic and hotel deliveries. Had some of teh best and some of teh least considerate staff we met on our holiday

Room Tip: Go as close to the front of the hotel as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This small, friendly hotel has a fabulous seaside location. The views from the rooms, restaurant and breakfast terrace are unbelievable. The staff were incredibly polite and helpful, and the food and service in the restaurant was first class. This was the perfect base for visiting the southern part of Corsica.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Booked in on spec and staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely peaceful location on the edge of the town and water's edge but only 5 mins walk to Marina/ eating out restaurants on waterfront. Room was very spacious, on third floor overlooking the water. Nicely furnished, very nice ensuite wet room with lovely complimentary toiletries. Breakfast - very good selection of fresh fruits, yogurts, patisseries, breads, cereals and bacon and scrambled eggs if wanted. Large selection of teas and fresh coffee. Herbal infusions are fresh from the herb garden and served in lovely cast iron tea pots! Pricey cost for room but it was the end of our holiday touring the island by bike and we needed a treat and creature comforts! Beautiful outdoor lounging area next to water's edge, can moor a boat alongside hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto-Vecchio hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
470 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Casadelmar
Hotel Casadelmar
#14 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mariosa
Hotel Mariosa
#2 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Private Hotel
Private Hotel
#16 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Cesar & Spa Nuxe
Hotel Don Cesar & Spa Nuxe
#8 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Roi Theodore
Hotel Le Roi Theodore
#5 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Goeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Goeland

Address: avenue Georges Pompidou, 20137, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
Price Range: £120 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Goeland 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just above the sea, few steps from the marina and Porto-Vecchio's citadel, surrounded with pine trees, eucalyptus, oleanders and palm trees, with a private beach and a private marina : Le Goéland Hotel - La Casa Santini with its own restaurant.House of the Sun, house of the sea, a genuine welcome tradition for a like home spirit, enhanced by Jean-Marc and his team... Refinement and simplicity.Already feels like you want to come back... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Prestigia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel le Goeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Goeland Hotel
Hotel Le Goeland Corsica/Porto-Vecchio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing