We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Alta Rocca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alta Rocca Hotel
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Lovely place with a lovely staff. They told us the best beaches to go, best places to visit. They are really helpful. Hotel has a nice view, our room has a little terrace. i can strongly recommend here. Just one advise, signs for the hotel can be bigger for someone who doesnt know the area well.

Room Tip: We have a terrace but i m not sure if all has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank anilimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALTAROCCA, Responsable réception at Alta Rocca Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Madam,

We thank you for your compliments. We hope that you spent a good holiday on our island.

Looking forward to receiving you for a next time

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

Contrary to some reviews, I found this hotel superb. I booked online independently and as I was travelling alone asked for a non ground floor room. Everything was confirmed quickly by the hotel via email. I had only booked a standard room but when I arrived the room (which was a standard) was superb....spacious, light, with a balcony overlooking the fantastic views of the harbour and the distant mountains. It was spotlessly clean, huge king size bed, loads of room.
The receptionist and all staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. I only ate breakfasts as I ate out at night but the breakfast was excellent - lots of choice on the buffet and freshly cooked pancakes when I asked for them. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

we were very excited as we pulled up in our cars. the place looks lovely, and the scenery is to die for. but what a shame - from the receptionist with the sour face to the stink of the sewers. to make things worse they had muddled our reservations and the rooms that were to be shared by men, only had double beds, and they refused to do anything about it other than offer us extra rooms - at our own expense. we were trapped ,as porto vecchio was packed, and it was getting late. we had reserved a table at the hotel "restaurant" - what a joke. i felt sorry for the girl serving us, (who was the nicest part of our stay (thankyou)) as we were given the choice of egg mayonnaise, or chicken nuggets! and i dont think i have ever tried to eat anything as tough as the entrecot that we were given. have to say that my room was very pretty, and the view amazing, but it is a little disconcerting when you flush the toilet and it pumps into your shower!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tiffMontecarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The pictures looks ok, and the reviews are so so. However, on arrival at this hotel I was extremely disappointed. We were in a standard room on the ground level. Although the rooms were clean, they we small, much smaller than many better cheaper hotels we have previously stayed at in this area. The decor was very average, and dated. For some unknown reason, these dreadful incongruous electric shutters covered the entrance to our room.
The pool was advertised as being open until 19h, but actually shut at 16h, so there was nowhere to get a drink or snack before dinner unless you wanted to drive down the road.
Breakfast was poor, just pastries and Orange juice.
Finally, on departure (to return home) we left some clothes in the wardrobe, and on arrival at home we immediately emailed Alta Rocca to inform them and ask for them to post the left items of clothing back. We instantly received an email back saying that they had found the items left in the wardrobe, and would send them back. Unfortunately the items never arrived, and subsequent emails from Alta Rocca claimed that the clothes were never found. When we forwarded their initial email to them, the refused to contact us.
I would not recommend this hotel, simply because there are much better cheaper hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qwerty1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2006

Just returned from a week at the Hotel Alta Rocca. The staff were very friendly, our room was lovely with stunning views and spectacular scenary and kept very clean. The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the south and close to beautiful Palombaggia beach. In hindsight we would probably rent a villa next time around as the hotel has no restaurant and eating out is on par if not more expensive than London. All in all the island of Corsica is something special.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Solange D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto-Vecchio hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casadelmar
Hotel Casadelmar
#11 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Belvedere
Hotel Le Belvedere
#19 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
259 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Palombaggia
Hotel Ambassador Palombaggia
#28 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Isulella Hotel - Restaurant
Isulella Hotel - Restaurant
#15 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
49 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Don Cesar & Spa Nuxe
Hotel Don Cesar & Spa Nuxe
#8 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
147 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Shegara
Hotel Shegara
#20 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Rocca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Rocca Hotel

Address: route de Palombaggia, 20137, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#8 Spa Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
#17 Luxury Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
Hotel Class:4 star — Alta Rocca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 500 metres from the sea, Hotel Alta Rocca is 15-minute drive of the beaches Palombaggia and Santa Giulia. Guest rooms feature a terrace or balcony with panoramic sea and mountain views, air-conditioning, a flat-screen TV and free WiFi. The private bathroom has a shower and bath. Breakfast is offered at the property. Drinks and tapas can also be enjoyed next to the outdoor pool. As well as an outdoor pool, the hotel has a Wellness Centre with a heated indoor pool, spa with hot tub, sauna and hammam. Treatments and massages are available for an additional charge upon reservation. Guests of the Hotel Alta Rocca can enjoy sailing, diving, fishing and hiking nearby. The hotel is located 7 kilometers from the beaches of Palombaggia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Alta Rocca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alta Rocca
Alta Rocca Hotel Corsica/Porto-Vecchio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing