We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average pricey Hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Belvedere
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Porto-Vecchio
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Average pricey Hotel”
Reviewed 19 February 2011

A bit of too much in this Hotel in terms of price, a bit of too less in terms if comfort and space. Decoration is nice but nothing exceptional though. The beach has no interest as the sand is very rough. The swimming pool is very nice and is the most positive point. The package is overall much too overpriced. What is sad to see is that which such a location and a bit of effort this can make this place a paradise.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe_Guisset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    61
    33
    22
    11
See reviews for
42
137
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

The room was small and dark with dated decor, looking on to waste scrubland. On arrival the room was full of insects, when we approached reception about this, we were told to turn on a plug-in device which would apparently solve the problem. We were given the impression this was not an isolated incident. The mosquitos died, falling off the ceiling on to the bed - charming. Unfortunately it did nothing to solve the ant infestation.

The food in the restaurant was wildly overpriced and distinctly average. The service was appalling. Despite enquiring about its delay, the wine failed to arrive at the table until after the main courses were served! After expressing dissatisfaction to the sommelier, we were told that he had better things to do with his time than to listen to our complaint.

Although none of the other staff were quite this rude, we found them to be generally indifferent and unhelpful.

After a completely unsatisfactory 3 night stay the icing on the cake was being overcharged for our stay as we checked out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bancocentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2008

The swimming pool, bar area, grounds & restaurant are superb... it seems this is where the money has been spent as the rooms are a let down. Very basic, very small and very dark... Very quiet though! The patio area outside the bungalow needed a lick of paint and some tiles replacing.
Food in the restaurant was amazing and well worth the trip.

  • Liked — Grounds/Restaurant/Pool
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Avoid the restaurant.
This place used to be a discothèque some ten years ago, and it shows. Decor is therefore very, very "kitch". Location is stunning, right on the water, use mosquito repellent at dusk unless it’s windy. The “gastronomic” restaurant's cuisine is sadly pretentious. Mediterranean fish, which in our opinion should be simply grilled and served with olive oil, is here “killed” with complicated sauces and all sorts of condiments that don’ t belong. Replace the fish with bread or meat and you will taste the same. A big show is made with pre-and after-desserts but the desserts you pay for are nothing special. I beats us how this place got a Michelin star. Expensive. Count over 100 € per person without wine.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

Delightful location, very quiet and overlooking Porto-Vecchio on the opposite side of a lagoon. The rooms are located in small, semi-detached bungalows set amidst the grounds. Very nice location to have dinner as well, right next to the water's edge, and food and wine good. Rooms are slightly dated and bathrooms very dated and small. Private beach area is nice to have but sand not good and it's all stoney as you eneter the water. However, there are some absolutely fantastic beaches nearby with the whitest sand I've seen in years. Brush up on your French as little English is spoken. Everywhere clean and tidy, and would recommend to those looking for a peaceful place to stay. Car hire is essential.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathrooms old and small
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMHazelwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
879 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2007

As unrepentant gourmets, we plan trips around fine restaurants. This one happens to be attached to a hotel. Porto Vecchio is one of the most popular destinations in Corsica, and for us foodies, it has three Michelin starred restaurants. All happen to be attached to hotels.

The Belvedere was the most modestly priced of the three. We were obsessive enough to drive by the other two, Casadelmar and Grand Hotel de Cala Rossa, which are more remote and seemed like closed compounds. All three are a distance from "downtown" Porto Vecchio. We were content with our choice.

Obtaining a reservation at Belvedere was somewhat of an exasperating experience for someone who plans ahead. We were prepared to make a reservation some 7 or 8 months ahead, but they weren't. Many of these hotels go into hibernation in the winter. Eventually, they realized we were serious, there new season rates were posted, and we were able to proceed.

The port area of Porto Vecchio was somewhat of a let down. Yes, there were some nice yachts, but the waterfront was rather bland, and certainly not as charming as many other small ports we have visited. The main town is about a mile away up a hill, a long series of intertwined streets on the spine of a hill. Again, not one of the most attractive places we have been, although the presence of a number of upscale shops suggests that it is a heavy tourist destination, particularly in the summer season. PArking was difficult in late Spring, and must be impossible in the summer.

Belvedere, and several other resort hotels are on the far South side of town, across the bay. Access is by a rather unkempt and winding narrow road, past a boat yard and horse riding stables and through the woods.

Parking is in a large lot across the road from the hotel grounds. It is a couple of hundred feet walk to the main office, which was only a problem because the path was dirt and muddy at the time we got there. It took us days to get all of the dirt out from the wheels in our luggage.

The accommodations are bungalow like structures which are adequate, but certainly not luxurious. With the door closed, it is a little claustrophobic. The door locks are fairly basic; ours looked like there had been an attempt to forcibly open it. We had difficulty with the key and even though we were in the country, I had some instinctive concerns about security.

The pool area and the restaurant are the reasons to come here. Superb cutting edge cuisine and a fine wine list with a lovely view across the bay were why we were there, and in that respect we were not disappointed.

Our stay was during the first few days the hotel was open (for their season). Perhaps they hadn't quite gotten there act together. Service was pleasant, but a little erratic outside of the dining room. The front desk staff were caring and willing to respond to requests for information on the area.

This might be a place to come and settle in for awhile. If pressed for time, we would choose Bonifacio over Porto Vecchio, but this is a nice place to while away the hours at poolside, or perhaps take a sailboat cruise on the bay. I would give them the benefit of the doubt when (and if) they were up to full speed.

  • Liked — View of the bay and elegant restaurant
  • Disliked — somewhat cramped and security concerns
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto-Vecchio hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Salina
Hotel Costa Salina
#1 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
400 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel le Goeland
Hotel le Goeland
#4 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mariosa
Hotel Mariosa
#2 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casadelmar
Hotel Casadelmar
#12 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
201 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Roi Theodore
Hotel Le Roi Theodore
#5 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
455 reviews
2.0 mi away
Les Bergeries de Palombaggia
Les Bergeries de Palombaggia
#6 of 42 in Porto-Vecchio
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Belvedere

Property: Hotel Le Belvedere
Address: route de Palombaggia, 20137, Porto-Vecchio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Porto-Vecchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Porto-Vecchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Porto Vecchio
Hotel Le Belvedere Corsica/Porto-Vecchio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing