We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine delicious Corsican food”

Auberge San Ghjuvani
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Propriano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Genuine delicious Corsican food”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

If you are looking for a place with typical Corsican food, in a restaurant run by a family that makes you feel like home, where you can enjoy delicious dishes on a terrace with a scenic view, this is the place to go. We ate at San Ghjuvani's all the 5 evenings we were in Propriano, so almost needless to say that we had a great time there and are still dreaming of the Veal sauté, Wild boar casserole, Ventru - the incredibly tasty black pudding, not to mention the juicy and flavoured Fiadone - the delicious brocciu cheesecake... We highly recommend Auberge San Ghjuvani.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aotearoa_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    114
    23
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Schaffhausen
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant with very good food”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Probably the best restaurant in Propriano. It is around 2 Kilometers outside of the town. Beside some tourists also a lot of domestic people go there. The food is typical Corsican. The service is really good and very nice. From the restaurant there is a nice view over to Olmeto, a small mountain town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissbear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awful food.... avoid!”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We went through all the reviews on Tripadvisor before choosing the restaurant near Propriano and chose San Ghjuvani. When we arrived on 26th of September we were the only guests there. I ordered rabbit terrine, my wife ordered a salad with eggs, beet root, and potatoes. It looked and tasted like it was from a day before (same as my terrine). Then we got our main dish - my meat was OK, but the cannelloni with broccio were not eatable. The culmination was the dessert - apple pie soaking with oil, old and very gum-like. We were shocked that after that many positive Tripadvisor reviews our experience was completely different. Definitely NOT the best Corsican restaurant we've been to! Not reccomended! PS: The lady that was serving the food was very kind though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Huckstero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Went here on a Friday night with live Corsican music. Staff was friendly, food was great with typical Corsican dishes. Food is fresh, saw an employee harvesting out of a small garden before dinner. Great place if you are in the area. nice view. Bug spray is a good idea since it is out of town and the dining room is open, although they did have citronella candles which worked pretty well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kc27mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST SUSSEX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Authentic Corsican Restaurant In The South!”
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Auberge San Ghjuvani in Viggianello near Propriano has got to be the very best authentic Corsican restaurant in the south of the island. My husband and I keep going back time after time since first discovering San Ghjuvani in 2007.

Situated down a quiet road just a mile or so from the centre of Propriano, this restaurant has panoramic views of the hills and mountains above the Golfe Du Valinco. It's in this tranquil and beautiful setting that you will experience some of the best cooked traditional Corsican food you will ever taste. In particular, we can highly recommend the Soupe Paysans as a starter. This is a very tasty hearty vegetable soup, which is served with plenty of good fresh bread. A meal in itself.

However, if you require a main course, then we would highly recommend the Saute de veau corse aux olives, a dish comprising veal in a rich and tasty sauce of tomatoes and olives and the Courgette farcies a la viande, a dish comprising courgettes stuffed with a garlicky, herb and pork filling with a tomato sauce. Both dishes are accompanied by plentiful amounts of spaghetti or rice.

In the unlikely event that you can manage a pudding as well, then there is a fine selection of creme caramel, fruit ice creams, tarte au pomme, fruit charlotte and traditional chestnut cake served with two flavours of ice cream.

The restaurant, which was established approximately 21 years ago, offers a comprehensive wine list and a good choice of aperitifs and digestifs.

The staff are most welcoming and speak very good English and the service is excellent. The patron often comes out to speak with customers once she has finished her duties in the kitchen.

The restaurant is open every day apart from Monday evenings and no reservation is required unless you are visiting after mid June when it is best to reserve a table as they are very busy in peak season.

If you are looking for an authentic, freshy cooked and beautifully presented, Corsican gastronomic experience, then our advice is to forget the plethora of restaurants which line the quay in Propriano and plump for the real thing at Auberge San Ghjuvani.

Helpful?
16 Thank MOFFERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge San Ghjuvani also viewed

Propriano, Corse-du-Sud
Propriano, Corse-du-Sud
 
Propriano, Corse-du-Sud
Olmeto, Corse-du-Sud
 

Been to Auberge San Ghjuvani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing