We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantabulous!”
View of house from hill opposite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of house from hill opposite
Front of house from across road Back of house showing terrace/sunshade
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
View of house from hill opposite
Front of house from across road
Back of house showing terrace/sunshade
Back of house from stream
Side of house showing main entrance
Side of house showing main entrance
Front of house
Front of house
Front of house
Terrace/barbecue area
Terrace/barbecue area
Upstairs shower
Jacuzzi Bath
Upstairs shower
Living room showing fire/fireplace
Living room showing fire/fireplace
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen view on to terrasse & stream
Stairs
Sauna
Sauna
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Barr, Bas-Rhin, Grand Est

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Cyberhell
Heywood
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantabulous!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

From the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and the gite was like a home from home.

After asking about parking for the motorbikes Simon offered to rake away the gravel to make things easier and sure enough we turned up to a lovely patch of gravel free driveway! Straight onto the most amazing roads, complete heaven for motorcyclists.

Simon and Alison's hospitality was fantastic, couldn't have asked for more - had some good banter too as we found they're literally from round the corner from our home! Having the owners next door was handy for those little queries you always have (like do you have any spare allen keys?!!) but we never felt looked upon. Like a previous reviewer booking via Gite de France was a little tricky but we managed with my little French and the odd Google Translate! However, booking through them does give you peace of mind.

The gite was very comfortable and extremely well equipped and excellent value for money. Shutters on the windows kept it cool during the day and there was a fire we could have used if it had turned cold. Amazing bathroom with huge shower cubicle and a lovely relaxing spa bath. WIFI was a godsend when our satnav decided to freak out and had to be fiddled with!

Supermarket at the nearby Gertwiller was excellent and great for reasonably price fuel for the bikes. Lovely patisserie in Barr itself.

I would recommend this gite to anyone looking to stay in the area, and the area itself has loads to offer, whether it's historical visits to the many fabulous castles we visited, visits to wineries along the Route du Vin, shopping and touristy stuff in Colmar and Strasbourg or just chilling out. Have already recommended to a workmate looking to do the Alsace wine routes!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: Leaving to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonyg2407...
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Loved the house, very well equipped. Simon was very helpful and friendly.
I'd recommend this place as a base for exploring Alsace or just for relaxing.
Outside terrace is shared with the owner so there isn't a private space outside to relax.
Setting is great too, stream at the bottom of the garden delightful.
All communication with Gites de France were in French, not a problem for us, but could be for others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House amenities, space and facilities
Liked least: No private outside space
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLWTiptre...
tiptree
1 review
“Best Gite in 15 years of French holidays”
Reviewed 14 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Really first class property with very comfortable accommodation. Fully equipped. Quiet location. Good size well finished kitchen with quality appliances. Very helpful owner, who lives next door.Easy access to Strasbourg
and all the attractive villages in the area. Would be hard to find better place to stay at this price

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury and comfort
Liked least: Outside area limited
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Reviewed 14 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Netherlands
Reviewed 29 January 2013 for a stay in May 2012

Value Rooms
Location Check-in / front desk
Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Burbure (france) Pas de Calais
Reviewed 25 January 2013 for a stay in June 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
VirgAl
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Grandes Vacances !!!!”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most wonderful few months staying in this Gite, The house is so clean and comfortable with everything you need or want. The kitchen is modern and well equipped, the lounge/dining is great, with very comfortable lounges in a lovely bright setting. The main bedroom is spacious with a bed that is just too comfortable! Bathroom is modern, roomy and the spa bath is so good to relax in, as is the sauna in the basement. A log fire in the lounge adds to the ambiance and works particularly well - good to curl up on one of the lounges with a delicious Alsace wine or two and enjoy the fire! Plenty of chopped wood was on hand too. We enjoyed the sound of the stream behind the house with the forest as a backdrop - it added to the peacefulness of the area. Whenever we took a trip for a few days, returning to the Gite was just like "coming home" and the owners, Simon and Alison are lovely people who go out of their way to assist with information and their hospitality was fantastic. They even picked us up from Strasbourg train station and took us to collect our car, showed us the way to the supermarket, and so, so much more.
We found the location, 2.5km from Barr, set in the forest area, to be good - easy to walk the trails in the forest and just far enough from town to be lovely and quiet.
We would definitely recommend this Gite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bed and comfortable lounge
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing