We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Clos d'Eguisheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed for two nights while on a trip around France. Had rented the sheet package online, didn't realize it didn't include towels which of course coming from overseas didn't have. They wanted 6€/person for just the towels, so drove to the large store about 10 min away to buy some for 3€ each. Mostly stayed there because they had laundry, it was 9€ a load, doing it yourself! Have to pay for wifi. Have to clean kitchen before you leave, but no cleaning supplies or dish soap. Bathroom smelled bad. Very tiny, not well kept, cheaply built. In 30 years of traveling have never had to rent sheets and towels before, even in apartments. Good location by a fantastic town, but stay elsewhere, there are lots of cute, historic gites in town to rent. In 3 weeks of traveling in France, this was the only place I would have to write a bad review. The staff member was nice, but seemed embarrassed about the sheet/towel situation.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonGal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    374
    131
    51
    20
See reviews for
505
165
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

This is a strange complex to review. It's not your regular hotel, as it's reception opening hours are irregular (more on this in a minute) and you are required to strip your own bed and leave sheets and towels in the bath when you check out.

Our check-in time was 2pm, but we actually arrived at 1.30pm on a Saturday afternoon. We didn't realise that reception (and therefore the front gate) are locked from midday to 2pm on Saturdays. And if you're arriving on a weekday, then reception is closed from midday to 5pm. I should say, the hotel did quote the reception opening hours in the confirmation letter, but, really, we didn't realise it's relevance.. Have you ever been somewhere, costing 120-Euros a day, where you can't check in at 1.30pm on a Saturday afternoon...?

So, armed with two young hungry young children, we arrived at the locked gate, could SEE the sign for reception, but couldn't actually get to it, short of climbing over the fence. Eventually, another guest did let us in, we were able to walk into the reception area, but were harshly told, "We're closed, we're closed.. Open at 2pm."

So, our first impression of the complex was loitering around the children's playground, and hoping my 2-year-old daughter's nappy would survive for an extra 30 minutes.

Booking direct with the complex's website, we paid 356 Euros for 3 days, mainly as I'd decided to book the larger, 2-bedroom apartment, which apparently, is suitable for 6-7 adults. What a joke.

Don't get me wrong, they HAVE managed to cram a bunkbed into one bedroom, a double bed into the other bedroom, and the sofas apparently contain three pull-out beds in them, but seriously, we were two adults and two small children, and WE were cramped.

We only needed three of the beds, as we'd brought a travel cot, but even then, we seriously struggled to find enough space in either bedroom for it to fit in it.

Our apartment included a fridge, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, kettle and small TV. You'll need to bring your own hairdryer though.

The complex itself seems much smaller than online photos suggest. It's certainly colourful, and it's just a 5-10 minute walk from the beautiful old village. The playground consists of a few wooden animals on springs, but there is a public playground 5 minutes walk away which is suitable for 4-10 year olds.

The paddling pool was closed when we were there (start of October), and the indoor pool was 0.85m deep. This made it too deep for our almost-3-year-old, but fine for our 4 year old daughter.

There are two massive hypermarkets, both about 10 minutes drive away. The old village is full of places to eat, and you can certainly tell that this is the wine region! We bought some really excellent bottles of wine for about 8-Euros a bottle.

There doesn't seem to be any shops for basics though, other than milk and bread. The complex itself doesn't have a shop, although there is a baker who visits each morning from 8am to 9am, with a gorgeous selection of breads and pastries.

Wi-fi isn't included in the (over-expensive) room price, but at about 2-Euros a day isn't too bad.

Summing up, this isn't a bad place. Really, it's not. But it IS expensive for what you get, and you really shouldn't believe the claims that these rooms could accommodate 6-7 people. I would definitely return to Eguisheim, but, personally, I think I would go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleMikeAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

For the price we paid to stay here we expected more. The appartment was very dark and the furniture was worn out. The stools around the dining table were very uncomfortable and there wasn't a sofa where you could sit and relax - there were two sofabeds, but they are not relaxing to sit on. The bed was a queen size and very hard.
You could buy fresh bread every morning between 8 and 9 - and it was very good and quite cheap.
Our appartment was in the part of the building called Le Cerf and it was directly towards the road, so it wasn't very nice to sit outside with all the cars passing through only 10 metres away. We had an appartment with garden access, but I would have preferred an upstairs appartment with a balcony instead.
Eguisheim is a lovely town with plenty of good restaurants, but next time we will try to find an appartment privately instead - we have done that before and you get much more for your money by doing that.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rikke21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
436 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

The self-catering resort is quite new, 5yrs in operation but maybe in the most beautifull area of France, Alsace! The 1bdrm apartment we had was on the small side but for two was adequate.The bedroom,bath,living area and a balcony with a distant view of castle ruins. The staff is nice and speaks: French/English/German. The resort is well maintained as is the underground parking. The indoor swiming pool was great along with changing rooms, that's rare to find. The town of Eguisheim only 10min.
walk was charming. Full of cosy restaurants, small shops & vineries.
The supermarket is 15min.drive to the edge of Colmar also known as a
Little Venice due to it's many canals. Also on the way to Colmar you may
run into a Statue of Liberty located in the middle of a roundabout.
Well worth visiting is town of Kayserberg & Bergheim also Castle of
Koenigsbourg.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1trekky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
379 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

A very good deal for a family travelling with friends as well.
The room are not huge but the layout of the room is very well done. People are friendly and it's easy to find. Just 10 minutes walk from the town center or 2 minutes by car. Worth staying there.
Everything is very safe. You have a code to go in, to go to the parking to the pool and so on.
Plus the baker coming in the morning to bring fresh pastries. Way to go Pierre & Vacances.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Za036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JERUSALEM , ISRAEL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Although We spent holydays in the pierre et vacances group ( inc. Adagio and citea and accor group ) during the last Years We thought that the egisheim complex will be great and so was our deception .
The basic datas and the potential of the complex are great but the behaviour of the staff and certain elements in the flats ( studios ) are not proportionnal to the price You're paying :
- The staff is "cold" vis a vis the clients and You can't feel a real desire of service .
- The roomaid who came to our room was rude
- The carpets were stained and the shower was leaking .

The rental price is very high for the general product ( service + flat ) You're getting .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ILAN2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

travelled to region of alsace and this location was perfect for getting around all the towns!
It is self catering. Wireless was pricey at 10 euro/day and only in reception area, but at least they have it. The resort is spotless and well maintained, quiet, yet a very short beautiful walk to Eguisheim town centre and restaurants/local shops and yet only a few mins from major roadway to connect you to towns and tourist attractions like Bioscope, Cigoland, Ecomusee, Strasbourg, etc! Theres so much to see and do in this area!

Perfect for families, we booked a 'baby package' and it included a modern highchair, travel cot with sheet, stroller/pushchair, baby bath and diaper changing mat. A kit including kitchen cleaning supplies was also incl! There is a good size for children indoor heated pool and outside a grassed area around pool to enjoy. We had a corner bottom aptartment which was perfect for us as we could take the dog out for a walk and it had a very large terrace to eat out on. There was a local backery delivery each morning incuding sundays and holidays! This was excellent! Delicious and worth waiting in line line to get a hold of the fresh baked breads! Great service. The reception area was cozy, had a small play area, was convenirênt to check in/out. We arrived after reception was closed but they had everything ready and key was waiting for us at door. There was an information book in the apartment with details of resort/apartment and the area incl all inf on things like shopping, tourism, etc. Reception did speak French/German/English.

Only 1 'downside', but not complaint, just FYI:
we had an apartment with 2 bdrm (very happy with! very modern decoration and large!), 1 shower/wc, 1 bath/shower. this apt sleeps 8 (4 possible in living room on comfortable pullouts with firm mattresses) but the apartmet only had one toilet! we were ok, but with more it would be very inconvenient unless you use the toilet in reception during opening hrs?

we would definitely go back! we were very impressed and satisfied with all services and location!!! Best we've experienced in a long time (and i'm picky)!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butterfly_happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eguisheim
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Chateau
Hostellerie du Chateau
#1 of 8 in Eguisheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hostellerie des Comtes
0.4 mi away
L'Auberge Alsacienne
L'Auberge Alsacienne
#2 of 8 in Eguisheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Les Rives de la Fecht
Les Rives de la Fecht
#1 of 1 in Ingersheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Expo Colmar
10.6 mi away
Le Clos Saint Vincent
Le Clos Saint Vincent
#3 of 11 in Ribeauville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Clos d'Eguisheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Clos d'Eguisheim

Property: Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Clos d'Eguisheim
Address: Route de Wettolsheim, 68420 Eguisheim, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Eguisheim
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Eguisheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Clos d'Eguisheim 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the prettiest villages in France and home to the Alsace wine growing region. The typical Alsace architecture and hilly countryside with vineyards - a short cycle ride to the village centre with bike hire available at the residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Clos d'Eguisheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing