We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must stay here when visiting Alsace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostellerie du Chateau
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Eguisheim
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“You must stay here when visiting Alsace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a wonderful three nights at the Hostellerie du Chateau. All the sites and towns in Alsace are within easy driving distance and Eguisheim is a perfectly quaint and beautiful village. The architecture, flowers and yes, the storks are amazing. We stayed during a heatwave and not having air conditioning was not a problem. The town cooled off at night and we had a quiet fan and a cross breeze in our room. You may be awakened by the storks, but this is why we travel; to be immersed in the charms of a location. At the Hostellerie du Chateau you are right in the middle of quaint Equisheim.
The owners were incredibly helpful and welcoming throughout our visit. Our luggage was brought to our room, dinner reservations were made, and service during the amazing breakfast was perfect.
Our hotel room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and we felt an exceptional value for the money. The produts provided in the bathroom were first class and more than expected for a small hotel.
Do not be put off by the fact that this hotel is right in the main square. Parking is readily available and the owners help you with checking in, checking out and finding a spot. Being right in the center of Eguisheim gives you a magical experience and The Hostellerie du Chateau's owners run a beautiful, clean, comfortable and welcoming hotel. Stay here when visiting Alsace!

Room Tip: The corner room on the second floor has wonderful views and a great cross breeze in warmer weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paintermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sipos M, Propriétaire at Hostellerie du Chateau, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sir and Madam,
We are delighted that you had a good stay with us in our hotel.your satisfaction Is the most important for us and we ary very happy to read this comment.
THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    93
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
163
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the junior suite. Hospitable owners. Couldn't find parking due to a wedding in the village so owner gave us her parking stall. Helped us with the luggage. No air conditioning but it was nice to have the windows open at night. Huge room. Can I emphasize clean. The owner checks every room after it is cleaned. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MustTravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We have read quite a few excellent reviews about the Hostellerie du Château and find ourselves baffled. To those who write that the welcome was warm and magnificent, the owners were kind and helpful, we say our experience was the opposite. No welcome to speak of, reluctant help with luggage (we are in our sixties and seventies). Perhaps worst of all rude and argumentative owners when asked very politely about hotel services. Clearly, they are not in agreement with the famous chef Thomas Keller who says "The customer is not always right, but the customer is always the customer."
The room was small, but clean. Minimal space for suitcases, no air conditioning, just a small noisy fan, one tiny rectangle of soap for 2 people for 2 nights. A request for more towels was met with a look of astonishment from both owners, and only reluctantly granted. Breakfast was good.
We cannot recommend this hotel. In fact, stay clear.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CATHERINE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sipos M, Propriétaire at Hostellerie du Chateau, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sir and Madam,
We thank you to take Many Time for your comment for our établichement.we would you like to say that yes, you are very right when you say that you hâve read Many comments excellents about our hotel from our guette before.perhaps that Is you and your personnalité Is very différant from they.
In conserne of our welcoming and helpful, we are welcoming you with smile and with helpful. Be cause we helped you to bring up your luggage,as we do with all our clients , opposite that you say in tripadvisor.in conserne of the towwels in your room,you had two littles and two big towwels in your baht room,normal,and that why we didnt understand your ask,we thougt that we Forget to prépare in your room.y
Just the Day After ,the Day of your check in we was very surprise when we saw our towwels.there were black (our white towwels) we find that you use it to clean your shoes.there were very dirty.
You asked the breakfast in your room we say yes,and you phoned the réception before 7 cliock the morning,however the réception Is open 7 30 and the breakfast Is from 8 clock.
We informée you when you arrived the timing of breakfast.
You say that we are not helpful and kind,but read just our comments.
And your opinion Is very personal car let us tell you that we never saw one person unpleasant and disrespectful during our profession.
Hostellerie du chateau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I took a month-long driving trip around France staying at 14 different hotels, and the Hostellerie du Chateau was our favorite. It has the best location in Eguisheim, right on the main square. Five paces from the hotel door is an impressive town square, with its lovely fountain, church and chateau. In fact, Eguisheim was voted the most beautiful village in France in 2013. Our room was small and rather plain, and the view through the window was nothing special, but I am giving the hotel 5 stars because everything else about this lodging is notable. The owners, whom I assume were husband and wife, were the most welcoming that we found during our journey in France. From the moment we arrived they went out of their way to be helpful. They quickly grabbed our bags and whisked them to the room before I could tell them that we could carry the bags ourselves. The man then helped me park our car. Once we settled in they gave us suggestions for what to do in town. When we mentioned that we had seen some storks on the way in they came outside with us to point out storks nesting on the church steeple. Every time we encountered them during our stay they were cheerful and helpful. Another thing of note was the breakfast. The dining area was beautifully appointed and there was a good variety of tasty choices. We had a marvelous view of the square while eating our breakfast. I highly recommend the Hostellerie du Chateau.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sipos M, Propriétaire at Hostellerie du Chateau, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Sir and Madam,

We are glad that you had a good stay with us in hostellerie du chateau,in Eguisheim.
We would like to say THANK You for your message,we apprécieted very much.
We hope to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Hostellerie du chateau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Right in the centre of the story book quaint Eguisheim. Hostellerie du Chateau is very clean and beautifully decorated. Bearing in mind that this is a town dating from before the Middle Ages you might think there would be compromises with accommodation. Have no fear. This is a delightful hotel and the couple that run are friendly and helpful. It was very hot when we were there and a fan was left in the room without us asking. They speak good English and were kind enough to adapt to my school boy French. The breakfast is superb.
It's not possible to park next to the hotel but there is a stopping point to drop off bags. With that in mind aim to arrive in the evening or early morning to avoid the crowds. The rest of the day Eguisheim is packed with day trippers and tourists. After 6.00pm everyone had gone and you can wander the narrow lanes and photograph the cartoonishly rickety timbered houses on your own.
I've no idea about value for money. My lovely wife pays the bills.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirazHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sipos M, Propriétaire at Hostellerie du Chateau, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Sir and Madam,
We are delighted that you had a good stay with us in our hotel.your satisfaction Is the most important for us and we ary very happy to read this comment.
THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamtonshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our road trip to the Swiss passes. It was a very convenient first stop en route from Calais and one of the prettiest little towns I have seen. The hotel was extremely comfortable and clean and the breakfasts were delicious. It was very hot during our stay and a fan was provided in our room without asking which was very thoughtful. The owners are very friendly and helpful, there is a drop off area where you can park to unload luggage, it was fairly easy to find a parking space in the town which is small so nowhere is far to walk. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RugBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night (which was plenty in a place this size) and I'm so glad we did because this town is so picturesque and quaint. It truly looks like something out of a fairy tale. We had the junior suite on the top floor, which had a really neat, huge bathroom and a queen bed. It was clean, but the furniture could definitely use some updating and parking was pretty difficult. The best part was definitely the breakfast and the price was ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacKennaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eguisheim
0.1 mi away
L'Auberge Alsacienne
L'Auberge Alsacienne
#2 of 8 in Eguisheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hostellerie des Comtes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint Hubert
Hotel Saint Hubert
#4 of 8 in Eguisheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
A la ville de Nancy
A la ville de Nancy
#6 of 8 in Eguisheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
6.8 mi away
Le Relais du Ried Hotel - Restaurant et Spa
4.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Expo Colmar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie du Chateau

Property: Hostellerie du Chateau
Address: 2 Place du Chateau Saint Leon, 68420 Eguisheim, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Eguisheim
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Eguisheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie du Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostellerie du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Du Chateau Eguisheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing