We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and excellent value, but ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bristol
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Mulhouse
Zürich
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable and excellent value, but ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed one night over a long weekend and the hotel was excellent value for money. The room appeared to have been recently refurbished, it was large, comfortable, quiet and air-conditioned - which was just as well as this was the hottest Whitsun weekend on record.

We live in Switzerland and have visited the Alsace many times. This was our first visit to Mulhouse, mainly to check out the Euro Velo 6 cycle-route. We were not impressed with the city as a place to visit as tourists and the hotel, while being extremely well placed close to the city centre, was not in the most salubrious part of town. That aspect aside, I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-CH J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    197
    61
    14
    8
See reviews for
98
181
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here twice in August 2014, as a stopover on the way to and from Italy. They offer a family room that sleeps 5 at a very reasonable price, which on our first stay was upgraded to 2 rooms (sleeping 2 and 3 respectively) at no extra cost. The hotel is fine, of a good standard throughout and as it is an old building it has more character than some of the newer style hotels. Check in and out was efficient, with the desk staff speaking very good English. We didn't do breakfast (8 euro per head) but did try dinner on one evening as we arrived late and the food was very good.

Mulhouse is not a great town to visit, but it has a nice little centre with a few places to eat.

One tip: parking options are available at the hotel, but they do charge 4 euros which is added to the room bill. On our second stay, the car park was very busy so we opted to park in the nearby 24 hour shopping centre car park which was secure and cost 6 euro for one night. Apparently there is an underground car park at the hotel but we did not try it out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glyncoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Very warm welcome close to the city centre ,rooms very clean . Air con nice, most rooms quiet
You can dine here food is good standard , good continental breakfast , lacks a bar you have to order at reception most staff understand English ...........

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank chriswasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here on July 12th, while chasing the Tour de France. It's a nice place with friendly hosts. The room was clean and reasonably roomy, and the hotel was well maintained. Secure parking was a plus and we had no problems with the wifi.

It's easier to get to the parking lot if you don't go all the way to Avenude de Colmar. If you are led into town by your GPS, you will find yourself driving toward the old part of town. As you approach to within a couple of blocks of Avenue de Colmar, you'll see the mall parking lot on your left and a small sign on the right indicating that the hotel is to the right. Trust that sign, even though you have not reached Avenue de Colmar, as it will lead you to the parking lot at the side of the hotel. Follow the road to the T-intersection (Rue D'Illzach), turn left and the parking lot will be on the right side of the street. Pull up to the gate, push the button and announce yourself and the hotel will buzz you in to the parking lot.

The old town center area is close by but modest. There is a coin laundry just down the street from the hotel in the direction opposite from the old town. We were a bit disappointed with the food options in the area, and particularly in the mall that sits on the edge of the old town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gcannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lapta, Cyprus
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I can't quite understand why anyone would want to stay in Mulhouse unless, like us, it was a convenient place to break a long journey. We were pleasantly surprised by the Bristol. We had a lot of luggage because we were on a very long trip and particularly pleased that there was secure parking as we left a lot of our belongings in the car.
Our room was a good size, the twin beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was modern and well appointed.
We did not dine in the restaurant as it didn't look very inviting at night but when we had breakfast there, we were very happy with the choice offered.
All in all, it was very good value for money and we would recommend it for a short stay.

Room Tip: Chose the courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

A very nice hotel located within two blocks of the old town center.

The room was very large and clean. This is an older hotel but it is obvious that it had recently been remodeled.

We paid 65 Euros, no breakfast, but free garage parking was provided.

Only negative was the wifi did not function.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel and away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

I loved my stay at the Hotel Bristol. My French is poor but was greeted with smiles and asked which my preferred language is after attempting French. Comfortable room, good quality buffet breakfast with nice meats and cheeses, cereals etc. Was also politely asked if I would like tea or coffee. If you don't understand them first time they very patiently help you understand. They really make non French-speaking customers very comfortable. The breakfast was only 8 EUR too Excellent customer service at all times. I would say that the overall service you get here is more than 3*, especially given how cheap it is.

Room Tip: I upgraded from the standard room and found myself with a small suite. It was really comfortable (we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mulhouse hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De La Bourse
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Mulhouse
Holiday Inn Mulhouse
#3 of 26 in Mulhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Mulhouse Centre
Mercure Mulhouse Centre
#4 of 26 in Mulhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Mulhouse Centre Filature
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Musee-Gare
Hotel Du Musee-Gare
#6 of 26 in Mulhouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kyriad Mulhouse Centre
Kyriad Mulhouse Centre
#9 of 26 in Mulhouse
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol

Property: Hotel Bristol
Address: 18, Avenue de Colmar | 18,Avenue de Colmar, 68100 Mulhouse, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Mulhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Mulhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four story traditional hotel with multilingual staff, set in building dating from 1900 in the city center, near the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Mulhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing