We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful bed and breakfast in an interesting house.”
Review of Peonia at Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Peonia at Home
Ranked #1 of 3 Mulhouse B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

A short walk from town (12 minutes or so) this is a nice place to stay. The owner is an architect and he has remodeled the old house with some interesting modern designs and furniture. The house is filled with modern art by the owners.

Breakfast was beautifully presented and delicious.

You might find the rooms a little hot if the weather is warm, and a little dark if you like to read in bed.

Delicious home made jams and preserves.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickKhobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Peonia at Home
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stopped in Mulhouse to spend a night on our way to Lyon and booked Peonia at home. What a great choice. The house is beautiful and very interesting. The hosts are very welcoming. We were lucky to be able to have dinner there and it was delicious. The hostess is quite the chef and every course was perfect. The breakfast was great too. Everything prepared from scratch. It was also fun to meet other guests and share meals with them. Our room was nice. The bath a little small. We were in a third floor suite and there was traffic noise with the window open. No A/C. It is in a beautiful neighborhood and in walking distance of the train station and center of town. It is pricey but well worth it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ash2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a gem. The house is simply gorgeous and we were so lucky to take up the suggestion to stay in for dinner. We were tempted to pick up our plates and lick them clean. Unfortunately there were other guests at the table, so we didn't . If I have to come up with a negative point, I would pick the smallish bed. For tall people not so easy but still comfy enough. An absolute gem in Mulhouse which we will surely book again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Akilah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I booked a one night stay at the end of a six day bike trip through Alsace-Lorraine. Our choice was based solely on the proximity to the Basel-Mulhouse airport. What we found was an unexpected jewel! The gorgeous 19th century home was built by Captain Dreyfus (of the Dreyfus Trial) and later owned by another Dreyfus, who manufactured fine textiles. The French/Italian owners, a painter and interior architect/chef, painstakingly restored the house, over 10 years. It is decorated with exceptional mid-century furniture, Persian rugs and modern art and textiles. The owners could not have been more hospitable and the breakfast spread (all home-made) was better than any of the top-rated hotels we had stayed at. We left hoping we could come up with a reason to visit Mulhouse again so we could book another stay here!

Room Tip: I was worried when I saw we were going to the third floor but it turned out to be exceptional. All t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were coming into Mulhouse to spend the night before embarking on a bicycle trip. From the very start, this B&B was a real gem. It's a bit funky, a bit idiosyncratic, but the owners have thrown their hearts into the endeavor. The wife cooks - and superbly well! Dinner was as good as one might hope for at a fine restaurant, and breakfast was as good. A highlight was the multilingual crowd at the table. When we left it was raining, so the husband drove us to the train station (in fair weather it would be an easy 15 minute walk). All in all, we were very glad to have stayed there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jojoAnnArbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We booked the B&B more than a month before our stay, and actually forgot how the photos looked like. So all we could say when we saw it was "WOW". The place is an old mansion about 10-15 mins walk from the centre of the town, and has on-site parking. We were greeted by the hosts and they helped us to take the luggage upstairs. The room was small but cozy, and the bathroom was huge and super-modern (the entrance to the bathroom is from the hall, not directly from the room. but robes were provided) Breakfast was a gem - everything was home made, including 6 types of jams, a few brioches, croissants, yogurt, and so on.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laurence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mulhouse hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel De La Bourse
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 25 in Mulhouse
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Mulhouse Centre
Mercure Mulhouse Centre
#4 of 25 in Mulhouse
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Mulhouse Centre Gare
0.8 mi away
Kyriad Mulhouse Centre
Kyriad Mulhouse Centre
#11 of 25 in Mulhouse
312 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Mulhouse
Holiday Inn Mulhouse
#3 of 25 in Mulhouse
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peonia at Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peonia at Home

Address: 48 boulevard Leon Gambetta, 68100 Mulhouse, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Mulhouse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Mulhouse
Price Range: £114 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Peonia at Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing