We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, small hotel for stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Du Musee-Gare
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Mulhouse
Angus
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Clean, small hotel for stopover”
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We selected this hotel on the basis of previous comments on this site. It worked out half way between Italy (Tuscany) and Belguim (Zeebrugge). We arrived in Mulhouse quite late when it was dark but it is easy to follow signs for the station and then find the hotel. There is only a small sign from the main street to the side street where the hotel is. The hotel is easily recognised from the web site and in a very distincitive building. Our rooms were very comfortable and we had an adjoining room for the 2 children which worked well. The car park is secure with large gates. This was shut when we arrived but the road was quiet so there was no hassle or problem waiting. The hotelier was there in the morning and spoke pigeon English. We did not have breakfast as it seemed to be over priced for coffee and a criossant. The hotel is clean and quiet and we would happily recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngusAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    133
    43
    21
    13
See reviews for
79
146
26
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ironbridge
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This must have been quite an imposing mansion once. There's a great old fashioned grandeur about the place but with just a hint of fraying at the edges. It's also fair to say that they're working on refurbishing the communal areas.
Our room was clean and recently redecorated with a good size en suite that didn't intrude. The shower was a bit of a trial in that it didn't fit the receptacle properly and aimed its jet horizontally. If we'd been staying for more than one night this would have been a nuisance.
The buffet breakfast was decent, apart from the UHT milk, with cereals, croissant, yoghurts, compotes and cold meats and struck us a fair value so perhaps that's improved recently.
There's a large free and secure car park. Six hours wifi per day is included which is pretty useful.
Very handy for the station and there's a canal tow path very close at hand if you want to go for a run away from the traffic in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PNeame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portofino, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

If you find yourself driving between Italy and the UK, it's always a struggle to find a "pit-stop" exactly half-way which meets the basic needs of comfort, a quiet room, secure parking and a warm reception, all at a reasonable price.
I confess I had some initial misgivings. This hotel --a big old townhouse near the station -- looks as though it last had a lick of paint applied during the 1950s. And I was greeted on arrival by a stern reception manager who impatiently corrected my clumsy schoolboy French. But the room was big with high ceilings and very quiet at night. Parking was behind iron gates and free. Breakfast was just right (8 euros) with great coffee and croissants in a beautiful fin-de-siecle dining room. All the staff in fact proved to be charming and helpful. After a short walk into town, there are a plethora of restaurants, including Japanese and Indian. One departed feeling rested and happy to have avoided yet another encounter with so-called "boutique" hotels which ape this old-style charm but somehow fall short of expectations. Total bill:- just over 60 euros, including all taxes.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaPietra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Given a room off the courtyard with separate entrance. Charming! Though a bit squashed in order to fit in the en suite. Very helpful owner, who gave a map and personal recommendations of the restaurants in Mulhouse. Adequate breakfast. Good location for the station.
That was helpful since it's now necessary to give extra time to get to the airport, since one needs to take the train to St Louis and then a bus shuttle.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ollielollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turnhout, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

Nice hotel, not a typical chainresort.
Old house with great atmosphere.
It was in renovation.

The room was nicely renovated, they should have renovated also the bathroom.
But is was ok !

Near to the railwaystation and not far from the city center.

  • Liked — The old house !
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2007

I stayed at Hotel Du Musee-Gare for three days.

I was given a room on the 1st etage (floor) which is actually up 2 sets of stairs. I did not see an elevator. There are no rooms on the ground floor.

The room was small, but clean with nice windows that opened to a courtyard. There was a bed, a nightstand, a desk, and a TV. The room had a small bathroom with a small sink, toilet, and stand up shower.

The room was no smoking, as is the hotel, but I was (eventually) given an ashtray and told I could smoke out the window. I say eventually because I had asked for a smoking room and was told there wasn't one. When the same person later saw me going out to smoke, she gave me the ashtray.

Communication was a problem. My French was good enough to be understood in many of the shops restaurants, and bars nearby, but I had a lot of difficulty speaking with the staff. They speak little to no English.

The price was definitely right, 43 euros a night, on Venere.com.

Breakfast, which was 7 euro, is a rip-off. You get some bread, some cheese and meat slices and a cup of (American style) coffee. Espresso was 3 Euro extra. One is much better off having a walkabout and finding a patisserie for a fresh croissant (about 90 centimes). I couldn't find a cafe right nearby, as it's on the edges of the center of town, but I didn't look that hard either.

There is at least one cafe closer to the center of town only 5 minutes away.

The hotel also has the advantage of being near the train station, and being far enough away from the main street so that it is quiet.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The price.
  • Disliked — Inability to communicate.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevinazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2007

Very charming Hotel with a lot of cachet, Very friendly staff helpful & knowledgeable, owner is personally on the premises, great location 1 block from euro high speed train station and in walking distance to center town. The rooms are very cosy with cabled TV, shower with great water pressure and private toilet. Free wireless Internet; quiet at night. And to top it all we could park our hired car in the hotel’s private parking yard. Possibility to order a typical French “petit déjeuner” with croissants.

We highly recommend HOTEL DU MUSEE, should you stay in MULHOUSE for the great neighbourhood (centre town) and for the interesting price.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank twahechtek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mulhouse hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De La Bourse
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 25 in Mulhouse
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Mulhouse Centre
Mercure Mulhouse Centre
#5 of 25 in Mulhouse
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kyriad Mulhouse Centre
Kyriad Mulhouse Centre
#12 of 25 in Mulhouse
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#11 of 25 in Mulhouse
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Mulhouse Centre Filature
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Musee-Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Musee-Gare

Property: Hotel Du Musee-Gare
Address: 3 rue de l Est, 68100 Mulhouse, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Mulhouse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Mulhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Du Musee-Gare 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 2 minutes walk from the TGV train station. A private mansion, very well preserved with a lot of character, located in the heart of the city. The hotel offers comfortable rooms, all equiped with satellite TV and private bathroom. A bar, a lounge, a dining room where you can enjoy your breakfast and which shows antique mirrors, a genuine old parquet floor and a marble mantelpiece. Closed garage for free, enclosed court yard, garden, shed for bicycles, ADSL and WI-FI for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Du Musee-Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing