We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location: great, hotel: average, staff: average”
Review of Le Strasbourg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Strasbourg
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Mulhouse
Reviewed 18 October 2013

but the overall condition of hotel is so-so. Its lift is in poor condition, can barely accommodate two people. I didn't notice any business centre or other aminities. Breakfast was good. Fits the pocket of a budget traveller. free parking is available, if you look around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 911pradeepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here with our children as a transit stop-over back home.

-The positive:
.the family room with 4 beds and a shower was clean.
.it has its own parking lot which gets closed at night

-The negative:first -and lasting- impressions of absolutely everything here is : "horrid and depressing":

.the car park does not look very reassuring with broken shutters and filthy broken windows overlooking it (see above though),

. the entrance "cubicle" is not inviting at all - depressing atmosphere.

. when exiting the tiny lift and entering the hallway of the rooms you are welcomed by a long dark and grey windowless corridor with broken wallpaper and a neon lighting which does not switch on until you reach the end of the corridor (motion detector not functional). This could be the scene for an Alfred Hitchcock horror film set, except ... it's real.

.the door of the room does not have a secure lock- so block the door with your bed!

.no air-co. We had on a hot night a road side room, the street has some bars so it was very noisy and we didn't sleep much.

Bottom line: .this definitely is not a place you want to take your family on a holiday trip!
If you have to stay in Mulhouse without family and kids , and you need a clean bed then, perhaps, you could consider this as an option.

The only reason we stayed and did not run away when we arrived is because the kids were so tired of the road trip that they wanted to go to bed immediately. We however left in the very early morning and had break fast in a small Alsatian village to try and forget this terrible experience!
We noticed various B&B's in the Alsatian village offering similar prices for much better quality.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrusselsPundit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Booked a room for 4 people. Actually never got to stay in it! Advised the hotel we would be checking in late.... Then emailed to confirm late arrival, no response. Turned up at the hotel and it was closed!! Tried the door, tried ringing them, nothing. Totally wasted our money and have never received any money back or apology, nothing. Luckily there was an Ibis close by. Was also quite difficult to find. If you're after some good customer services I wouldn't recommend this hotel. As for what the hotel is like.... I couldn't say.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Char W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Chose this hotel because price was more reasonable than most others. It was a pleasant surprise as room was renovated. It presented as clean and spacious. The floors were tiled which made room look more modern and clean. Towels were new and thicker than usual.

Location has a trade off. While it is walking distance and very accessible to the Old Town, it can be noisy in the evenings until late at night when the tram stops operating and less people in the streets. There is no air-conditioning so it is not as simple as just closing the windows to lessen the outside noise. We were there in late September so we didn't have to suffer and complain about the temperature due the lack of air-conditioning.

Parking is free and secure. This was one of the other reasons we chose this hotel. Getting into the lot behind the hotel at first can be a challenge because you wonder how you can get to it without jumping the curb where the tram passes. The way to do it is go down to the corner and enter carefully where the tram line runs and drive all the way to the gate to enter the parking area. They do close the gate during the day so you have to coordinate with the front desk when you need to get your car out. If you are just exploring the Old Town, just leave your car in the parking lot.

Wi-fi is available in the hotel room and the 1.50€ per 24 hours is quite reasonable but if would better if they offered this for free.

While the renovation was welcome, basic amenities in the bathroom like towel bars to hang towels, a functional shower, shower curtain or door to prevent one from making a puddle on the
bathroom floor were not considered. I was told that the French idea of luxury is having a bath tub. More often than not, I would think most tourists would just welcome taking a quick shower as this would be more practical for this type of hotel which is used more as a transient hotel. It was an improvement in that the hand-held shower had a place where you could put it and not have to hold it with one hand. Still, one would have to have good contortion skills to prevent the water splashing outside of the tub.

Breakfast is 7.50 € per person. Seemed expensive so we didn't sign up for it. After all, there are several breakfast places nearby which are more reasonable.

Hallway needs to be improved as it looks depressing.

Depending on who is on duty at the front desk, you may get someone who does not speak a word of English. Be patient and creative with use of sign language.

Room Tip: Request for a room not facing the street as it can be noisy until very late at night when when trams...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ermarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We had an overnight stay in the Le Strasbourg on our journey around Europe in Classic cars. There were 5 cars in total and I think we'd all say that although this hotel appears a little "tatty" it is excellent value for money and the owners cannot do enough to help you.
We had a little bit of trouble finding the entrance to the hotel carpark, but after parking close by the hotel owner showed (we spoke little French and he spoke little English) that we needed to drive down the tram tracks and he opened a gate in the hotel/shop frontage to allow us into a very secure, hidden away car park. Breakfast was basic bread, jam, coffee etc but again the owner was there to make sure everything was ok for us.
Location wise it's great for the centre of Mulhouse. Come out of the hotel, turn right, straight down the footpath, cross the main road and keep walking straight ahead, 5 minutes and you're in a square with lots of restaurants. We ate at the 1st one as you enter the square and had some lovely local cuisine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasperella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Large room and ensuite, clean and decorated ok, but with few fittings - not even a towel rail. Hard to fine with little street presence - just a large steel door to parking and a small reception resembling a downmarket American motel. A gruff "minder" behind ahe desk and a tiny lift. That was it. Didn't take up the offer of breakfast, never found out where that was served.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crockadillapig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Plus:center of the town, big room for 4 people,free parking, free wi-fi,friendly staff
Minus:unimproved parking,exterior aspect of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to find rooms at first floor it is easer with the luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduard1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mulhouse hotels
0.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Mulhouse Centre
B&B Hotel Mulhouse Centre
#11 of 25 in Mulhouse
161 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#1 of 25 in Mulhouse
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Mulhouse Centre Filature
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel De La Bourse
0.4 mi away
ResidHotel Mulhouse Centre
0.2 mi away
Kyriad Mulhouse Centre
Kyriad Mulhouse Centre
#12 of 25 in Mulhouse
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Strasbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Strasbourg

Address: 17 avenue de Colmar, 68200 Mulhouse, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Mulhouse
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Mulhouse
Price Range: £40 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Strasbourg 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Strasbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Strasbourg Mulhouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing