We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be nice, BUT”
Review of Hotel Le Colombier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Colombier
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Obernai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The hotel has everything to be nice: is new, nicely decorated with all basic facilities of a 3star and spacious rooms. Bang on the city center ideal for a city walk. Street parking is possible around the corner at a cheap fee.
BUT, unfortunately we were not lucky, we booked a non-smoking room and ended up on a smoking room. Hotel was full and we could not be moved. Besides we got a wheelchair friendly shower with no glass protection or drainage system...conclusion, the toilet was flooded after a 5min shower. We went to the reception to ask them to send someone to clean it, which they refused because there was only had 1 staff on the hotel. Their "best solution" was to provide us with 5 bath towels to dry the floor, which obviously showed they knew the issue from before, yet they've rented the room!!! I assume the hotel can be nice, for his location and decoration but definitely NOT in room number 04!! If the management of the hotel is taking its customers seriously they should not rent room nr.04 until the shower has drainage and its usable!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mafalda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2012

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience, although it was not entirely positive.

We regret that you were experiencing problems with your reservation and with the shower in your room.
However, following your comments, the problem of room 004 was solved and we added a glass protection on the shower.
We would be charmed to welcoming you back in the future.
Best regards.

Francine FUCHS
Directrice

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

After a long day along the Route du Vins, the Columbier is a welcome rest. The front desk is very helpful and speaks English. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. Parking is available at the hotel but is expensive. Free parking is available after 7 in a public lot less than a block away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank France85Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor and for sharing your esperience.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards
Francine FUCHS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

In te center of charming Obernai, 3 steps from public parking, 1 step from all retaurans and bars, a quite, well decorated hotel. Very good breakfast, and nice fitness room.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We were very happy to have discovered this hotel in the charming town of Obernai. From our first encounter with the receptionist to a last, swift look at the paper in the lobby, prior to our departure, we were well-treated and felt at-home. Our room was a delight with a small balcony where we sat out to drink beer.

Our beds were very comfortable, there was air-conditioning, if needed, and light, comfy duvets. Unusually, for a hotel, there were no sounds from above or alongside our room and we slept well.

Room Tip: There are no shelves for toiletries in the bathroom and no shower curtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendanandSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Our second stay here on a trip to Italy, again the hotel was excellent. Booked an Exclusive room and were not disappointed, a very large room when you compare most French hotel rooms, all fixtures and fittings of a high quality. Great value for money in a very pretty town, we will use again.

Room Tip: Exclusive Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CADS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We stayed here and we were very happy. the room was nice, and exactly what you need. the hotel is very nicely located. near everything.

the wireless didn't work when we were there, and we didn't have milk or creamer in our room, that was the only bad thing, but the room was clean and everything was nice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveTravellingSOmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Le Colombier is a nice hotel in the centre of town , very close to all the atractions .You can walk everywhere from the hotel .
Check-in was fast and friendly .
The room was clean and had all the necesseties you would expect from a 3 star hotel . Mini-bar was well stocked with a LOCAL wine , that was a PLUS ! Our room was a handi-cap room so it was on the ground floor with a window to the street , but gladly we didn't hear too much noise ! Bathroom was big and roomy , only minus was the walk in shower because the water didn't flow down the drain all to well and crept along the floor .
Breakfast was very nice , with a good selection of fresh foods , fresh fruits and breads . The juice was tasty . Cold cuts and cheeses were also good . Coffee was sadly poor tasting , but what to expect from the French , luckly there was an extra espresso machine ! The only downside was that they started to clear the buffet shortly after ten o'clock , even though we were informed that breakfast was until 10:30 .
Parking was also a small problem , because the private lot was full and we had to park in a public lot that was very full and difficult to drive in .
All in all , we had a nice stay in Obernai , such a beautiful town !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obernai
0.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel Restaurant & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins d'Adalric
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Gouverneur
Hotel le Gouverneur
#5 of 11 in Obernai
282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Diligence
Hotel la Diligence
#6 of 11 in Obernai
211 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Colombier

Address: 6 rue Dietrich, 67210, Obernai, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Obernai
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Obernai
#5 Family Hotel in Obernai
Price Range: £66 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Colombier 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Hotel
Hotel Le Colombier Obernai, Alsace, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing