We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but sweet”
Review of Hotel Le Colombier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Colombier
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Obernai
Certificate of Excellence
Basel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Short but sweet”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had just one night at Le Colombier - but it was a truly nice experience. Modern, clean room with nice view to the mountains. Excellent breakfast. Friendly and professional staff. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaselLars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kinds words on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our modern rooms and your stay in the Hotel Le Colombier.
It was a pleasure for the staff to assist you.

We hope to welcome you again at the Hotel Le Colombier.

Best regards.
Francine FUCHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    292
    58
    10
    6
See reviews for
92
352
10
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A great little hotel with spacious rooms, arty design and colourful touches. Rooms have been thoughtfully designed with taste. Access to relaxing spa area and free wifi make for a few touches to have. Service at reception was a little hit and miss. We reserved two rooms and even although I called before to clarify, left a message on the reservation itself and checked on check-in both of the rooms were double as opposed to one twin, one double. Going back to reception we were told that the cleaning staff had gone home for the day and so a sheet was impossible to be had?! Bed was made up the next day, by asking the housekeeping staff directly in the morning. Not a great first impression.

We didn't sample the breakfast but did look nice.

Had a lovely massage on one of the mornings and would highly recommend their services.

Have stayed in others in the Diana chain and would highly recommend the value for money - although if you have any specific requirements, insist upon them!

Room Tip: The church bells with wake light sleepers so earplugs or a room on the far end of the hotel may be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthMath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and the quality of the massages.

We are surprised, that our service was not up to your expectations, but as we are always concerned with the well-being of our customers, we will do everything to try to improve our services.

We hope to welcome you again at the Hotel Le Colombier.

Best regards.
Francine FUCHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abenra
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our family have been visiting Obernai for 19 times the last 26 years. We just love this beautiful town. Our latest stay just ended a few days ago. This year we stayed in Hotel Le Colombier. What great rooms we had. A lovly hotel with pleasant personnel, a pretty and very clean place. The supperior rooms are just the very best. We loved the view was ferfect. I couls see the town roofs and the tower of city hall and by the entrance the towers of the church. But most of all, I could at any time see the Mount Saint Odile ouside our windows. A lovly sight to a beautifull place worthwhile visiting. I have been there so many times.
The Hotel Le Colombier is getting my very best recommentdation. We would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a change to upgrate to superier room for only lttle mor money, do so. We did and loved a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Searoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kinds words on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Le Colombier and our room with the view over the old town of Obernai.

It was a pleasure for the reception staff to assist you; we are delighted that we were able to help you.
As you have mentioned The Hotel Le Colombier is truly located in the heart of Obernai.

We hope to welcome you and your family again at the hotel Le Colombier.

Best regards.

Francine FUCHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

my review is mixed because we ended up here because the internet booking system messed up;'I had booked for the hotel colombier in colmar and it wasn't till we got there that we became aware the reservations were in obernai.The receptionist was not very helpful.No suggestions on other places to stay or to help rectify the problem .I did learn to in the future read confirmation very carefully.I know i booked thru the colmar booking site but since it is a chain,somehow it got messed up.It was very disappointing that the staff did nothing to help.
Anyway we decided to make the best of it.We stayed in obernai which was 30 minutes away.Its a nice town but if i was staying in a small village in the wine route,I would stay at some of the villages further south which are much nicer.
For obernai the hotel is in a nice spot.The decor is a bit too chic and not very welcoming.
We stayed in the privilege room which is worth the extra price.The room is a nice size with various amenities.The bathroom was specious.The rooms are clean.The shower has a modern fixture but the floor is flat so water runs into the bathroom when showering.
Parking is very difficult especially for a larger vehicle.Its very cramped and i would suggest parking in the public parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your comment.

We regret that you were experiencing problems with the reservation.

However we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in the Privilège Room.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Hotel Le Colombier for your next trip.

Kind Regards.

Francine FUCHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Decent room with modern bathroom, smelling moisture, badly connected fan half hanging out of the wall,,average breakfast, narrow garage, impossible to connect wifi, but in the centre of obernai, not worth the money!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are surprised that the hotel was not up to your expectations, but as we are always concerned with the well-being of our guests, we will do everything to try to improve our services.
However for the breakfast buffet, in contrast to somewhat, we integrate regional and artisanal products, as the Kougelhopf, the munster, jams and bio yoghurt.
We offer parking spaces in our garage, however the guest can also choose the public car parks located near the hotel. The WIFI connection is free of charge, you only must ask the connection code at the reception.
We regret that we do not have given you satisfaction and we hope to welcome you again to give you a best impression.
Best regards
Francine FUCHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The hotel is in a good location witha nice staff. The private parking is expensive but unnecessary because in front of the hotel there is a huge car parking. The rooms are small and dark curtain not good enough. On the first day we were woken before 8am with upstairs works with hammers and drills, an incredible noise that lasted about 40 minutes. When claiming, the concierge had the courage to say that the noise was not in the hotel but it was over. We made the reservation by booking.com with two months in advance. When we arrived there, we saw that there was a promotion offering free breakfast in the morning but that was not extended to us. Go for the location and nothing more.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaMontagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience.
The staff was elated by your kind words, it is rewarding to receive a positive review and acknowledgement from the guests.
We regret that you were experiencing problems with the reservation, indeed we propose on Booking.com the room reservation with breakfast included or only the room reservation. You only booked the room, not the room with the breakfast included.

We are sorry that you have been inconvenienced by nocturnal noises, but our hotel was completely renovated last year, we have therefore did not work this year, however as the hotel is located in the city center, sounds probably had come from the street.

We are always listening to our customers, and we do our best to improve our services and we will try to find a solution of a better soundproof.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Hotel Le colombier for your next trip.

Kind Regards.
Francine FUCHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Männedorf
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Obernai: a cute village in Alsatia with many beautiful houses, shops and restaurants.

Hotel: nicely rennovated Hotel in the middle of the old part of town. Big, bright breakfast room. Modern reception. Good mix of modernized and old parts of the building.

Room: book directly on the website and get an upgrade for an excellent price to the "privilege" rooms. Spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Also here a nice mix of traditional and modern elements. View (4th floor) over the city with all the old buildings. Seperate toilet and bath with bath tub. LCD high def TV, mini bar, good free toiletteries.

Breakfast: Only the coffee left something to be desired. The french bread, croissants, cheese, ham and marmelade were delicious.

Free Wifi and a spa (which we didn't visit) were an excellent addition to an already very pleasant experience. Like I said, book on the hotel website and get a package with excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to a privilege room. They are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aightgenosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kinds words on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the new decoration of our modern rooms.
For the breakfast, to differentiate it, we propose regional and artisanal specialities like Kougelhopf, munster and artisanal jams.
As you have mentioned The Hotel Le Colombier is truly located in the heart of Obernai, near the stores, restaurants, winegrowers…

We hope to welcome you again at the Hotel Le Colombier.
The hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obernai
0.1 mi away
Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace
0.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel Restaurant & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins d'Adalric
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Gouverneur
Hotel le Gouverneur
#4 of 11 in Obernai
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Diligence
Hotel la Diligence
#7 of 11 in Obernai
199 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Colombier

Property: Hotel Le Colombier
Address: 6 rue Dietrich, 67210, Obernai, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Obernai
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Obernai
#5 Family Hotel in Obernai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Colombier 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Hotel
Hotel Le Colombier Obernai, Alsace, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing