We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A typical Alsacian hotel :-)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Colombier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Colombier
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Obernai
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
159 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A typical Alsacian hotel :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

From the outside, this hotel doesn´t look like much. But step inside and you will see the charm right away. The rooms are very nice and newly renovated (if not -they are very well kept). The hotel is in the center of town, the breakfast is wonderfull and so is Obernai

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterFabricius-Olsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kinds words on Tripadvisor.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Le Colombier.

And it was also a very pleasure for us to receive the positive review about our buffet breakfast.

As you have mentioned The Hotel Le Colombier is truly located in the heart of Obernai, near the stores, restaurants, winegrowers…

We hope to welcome you again at the hotel Le Colombier.

Best regards.

Francine FUCHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    281
    55
    9
    5
See reviews for
87
340
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Killaloe, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here after a very positive stay in the hotel "annex", Pavillon 7, with my family, as the Pavillon 7 was fully booked. We asked for one of their top tier rooms and it didn't suit us very well, so we asked to be moved. The receptionist was very accommodating and though we were probably a bit of a pain, they dealt with us with a smile and were very gracious. Our room was nice, breakfast was lovely, the hotel is centrally located and they gave us an excellent referral for dinner. For the value, this seems like an excellent hotel chain and we were very impressed with Le Columbier/Pavillon 7.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mierman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to read you positive review, thank you for sharing your experience.
The staff was elated by your kind words, it is rewarding to receive a positive review and acknowledgement from the guests.
We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Le Colombier.

For the breakfast, to differentiate it, we propose regional, artisanal and bio specialities like Kougelhopf, munster and artisanal jams…

As you have mentioned the Hotel LE COLOMBIER is centrally located and Obernai, it is a lovely town and it is also a nice base to discover the area.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back at the Hotel Le colombier or at the Hotel Le Pavillon 7 for your next trip.

Best Regards.

Francine FUCHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for a wedding. We had a nice standard room with a bath. The room was clean and well kept. The hotel has a fresh atmosphere and design for a 3* hotel.

The breakfast is modest but good and so is the price

During the weekend there is a 24/7 reception, during the week you need an acces code in the night.

The hotel has a sauna but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to read you positive review, thank you for sharing your experience.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you did enjoy our modern rooms and the breakfast.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Regards
Francine FUCHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We found this hotel on the internet by accident but it was a very happy accident!

Although it is 'only' 3 star the specification is really high, better than some 4 star hotels I have stayed in!

The reception staff were friendly and able to provide good information on the locality.

The bedroom was modern, spacious and generally pleasing with wide and spectacularly comfortable beds, also with effective and quiet AC. I liked the little touches like reading lamps and a mini bar.

The bathroom was well appointed with a nice range of provided toiletries and the buffet breakfast was well provisioned with a wide range of items to suit all tastes.

Although it does not have a restaurant it is almost in the middle of Obernai (a lovely Alsace village, if you've not been to the Alsace do so!) so it's only a short walk to a wide range of restaurants.

Parking can be a bit of a challenge, their parking has limited spaces, but we found a space in a nearby public car park which the reception staff pointed us to.

We are looking to return for a longer stay in future.

Room Tip: We were in a 'Privilege' room for an extra 20 euro but we had a friend in a standard room wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kinds words on Tripadvisor.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Le Colombier.

And it was also a very pleasure for us to receive the positive review about our new buffet breakfast.

It was a pleasure for the reception staff to assist you; we are delighted that we were able to help you.

As you have mentioned The Hotel Le Colombier is truly located in the heart of Obernai, near the stores, restaurants, winegrowers…

We hope to welcome you again at the hotel Le Colombier.

Best regards.

Francine FUCHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel Le Columbier is right of a Main Street and has a parking garage. They have a spa in the basement but we were too busy enjoying the town, cuisine and vineyards to partake. They allow you to bring your animal for free. It was a great 3 days and a close drive to Sainte Odile, Colmar, and many vineyards and wine tasting rooms. Bakeries are amazing and there are so many sidewalk cafes. Enjoy this beautiful area with old city walls still in evidence.

Room Tip: The first and second floors also have balconies but it was a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyBES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to read you positive review, thank you for sharing your experience.

As you have mentioned the Hotel LE COLOMBIER is centrally located and Obernai, it is a lovely town and it is also a nice base to discover the area.

To resolve the parking problem in Obernai, upon reservation we also offer, for an additional charge, a garage space.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards.

Francine FUCHS
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mo i Rana, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Nice hotel, good price
The Le Colombier is a nice hotel in a old, renovated house in the center of Obernai. It may be hard to find if you come by car, but fortunately the hotel had sent us a map with driving instructions which made it a lot easier. We had booked a space in the hotel’s garage, but didn’t find enough room to manouver our hire car around the corner from the narrow street and into the garage. The hotel's receptionist told us we could park for free in the public parking outside the hotel until 9 AM the next day. Luckily we found a vacant space there, a little later in the afternoon the place were full. Saved us the €13 garage fee!
We had booked a triple room for one night, and got a nice Exclusive room on the 4th floor with separate bedroom and a sleeping couch in the main room. Flat-screen TV in both rooms! We had great views to the nearest mountains over the rooftops.
The room was clean, and there was a big bathroom and a separate toilet room. A washbasin in the toilet room would have been nice too, but this doesn’t seem to be customary in Alsace. Lighting could have been better, both in the main room and in the toilet room. It was a hot afternoon so we were happy for the effective A/C. WiFi was good too, but the login procedure was a little annoying.
Good breakfast buffet, even if €12 is a bit expensive. But we got a reasonable room price through booking.com, so the total price was good anyway.
Hotel staff were helpful and polite, and the receptionist spoke english well. Would definitely stay at Le Colombier again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oskaalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kinds words on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our modern rooms with air condition and with the view over the rooftops.
For the breakfast, to differentiate it, we propose regional and artisanal specialities like Kougelhopf, munster and artisanal jams.

We also would like to thank you for your great comments about our staff. All colleagues are doing their best in all possible way to exceed guest satisfaction.
We hope to welcome you again at the Hotel Le Colombier.
Francine FUCHS
Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

My second choice for staying in the Alsace on business on a regular basis. Same owners as the Diana in Molsheim. A bit more basic than the Diana - rooms are good, but gym not a well equipped and too hot, breakfast buffet very minimalist. Parking is at a premium and the hotel garage seems to cause many people difficulties. Staff is polite, well trained and multi-lingual. Superb location in centre of beautiful Alsatian town. Good value for money.

Room Tip: the DeLuxe rooms are extremely nice, but out to the front and you get a lot of road noise and return...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hardtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COLOMBIEROBERNAI, Directrice at Hotel Le Colombier, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to read you positive review, thank you for sharing your experience.

As you have mentioned the Hotel LE COLOMBIER is centrally located and Obernai, it is a lovely town and it is also a nice base to discover the area.
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you did enjoy our rooms.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Regards
Francine FUCHS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Obernai
0.1 mi away
Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace
0.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel Restaurant & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Gouverneur
Hotel le Gouverneur
#4 of 11 in Obernai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins d'Adalric
0.5 mi away
Hotel la Diligence
Hotel la Diligence
#6 of 11 in Obernai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Colombier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Colombier

Property: Hotel Le Colombier
Address: 6 rue Dietrich, 67210, Obernai, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Obernai
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Obernai
#5 Family Hotel in Obernai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Colombier 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Colombier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Colombier Hotel
Hotel Le Colombier Obernai, Alsace, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing