We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent once again”
Review of Hotel la Diligence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Diligence
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Obernai
Certificate of Excellence
lake garda
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent once again”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Once again I found this hotel to be excellent. It is very clean and comfortable. The rooms are very nice and the buffet breakfast is varied. The staff are as always very polite. The location is very good right in the main square.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the ones over the main square are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micias10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A B, Gérant at Hotel la Diligence, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for choosing us once again for your stay in Obernai and wish you a good continuation.
Best regards,
The GARSTECKI-BALA Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    96
    22
    3
    0
See reviews for
54
82
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in room 222 - front of the hotel with bay window and table and window seats overlooking the square - fabulous. What a way to wind down after a long drive. Very good helpful and welcomng reception staff. All you could want on the breakfast buffet. No doubt that we wil stay here again. Private parking possible and good value.

Room Tip: Room 222 excellent on the front but noise not excessive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sashasax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A B, Gérant at Hotel la Diligence, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your nice feedback and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again in our house.
Best wishes,
The GARSTECKI-BALA Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Room prices vary- obviously the front rooms overlooking the square are more expensive
We were shown both options and the front room was large and airy-we actually requested a back room because we wanted guaranteed quiet. all rooms are air conditioned. Room 229 was given to us- this is quite small which the hotel are quite up front about and no view- but its kind of the very end of the building so you don't have neighbours. The bathroom was large enough.
We basically cranked up the air con and shut out the world. Breakfast was very good. staff very friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAMILY34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in room 331 for 3 nights ($135 AUD). The hotel faces the square. It really is a quaint hotel. Our room was quite large and in need of some updating. It had half a bay window and was on the corner of the building. The bed was large and comfortable. The room is also very clean and quiet even though it faces the square. The bathroom was very small. The toilet faced the shower curtain. The station is a 5 minute walk. We took the train to visit Strasbourg. The train ride took 30 minutes. I really liked Obernai. Very pretty and very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were travelling through Alsace and spent the night here. The folks at the desk were very friendly. The hotel is right on the town square and we had a three person room with a little alcove and sitting table which looked out over the square which we loved. The room was comfortable. We had a rental car and reserved a parking spot, which was in an underground garage. As an American driver, I'm not as adept at fitting into tight spaces, so was challenged to get the car into the space and in retrospect would have probably tried to find a space somewhere else. The town seems to close up pretty early, but we went out looking for a bite in the evening and found a great little place with a German feel just down the street.

Room Tip: If you have 3, try and get one of the rooms with the sitting table facing the square. Great place t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A B, Gérant at Hotel la Diligence, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you very much for spending a minute writing a nice feedback and are happy to read that you were satisfied with our hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our house and remain,
With best regards,
The GARSTECKI-BALA Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argenton-sur-Creuse, France
Level Contributor
139 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Well if you want somewhere to put your things whilst you party fine. However, if you want somewhere to stay and have a good nights sleep, stay out of town. Party people on the streets at 0230, then, just to cap it off the dustbin men start coming around at 0530. Room okay, but strange set up, AND, you hear all the loos above and next to you. We wont stay here again. Didn't have breakfast, just wanted to get back on the road to our next destination.

Room Tip: The back of somewhere else really
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A B, Gérant at Hotel la Diligence, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and for giving us an opportunity to address some of the issues you experienced during your visit.
We are sad to know that you left our hotel not feeling 100% satisfied but we would like to remind you that before checking-in, we showed you the room first and you were free to confirm the booking or not.
Our hotel is located right in heart of the city center with great access to main attractions and restaurants. Unfortunately with all of the advantages of our location, if you are not used to live in the city, you can sometimes encounter noise...
We wish you a nice continuation and remain,
With kind regards,
The GARSTECKI-BALA Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We travelled with friends (who have a baby) and we were beyond pleased with the location and calibre of the hotel. It was clean, beautiful, charming and had great wifi. It was the perfect setting for a holiday trip between Christmas and New Year's. There was even a Christmas Market right outside the hotel. We loved it. The only downside was that parking was a little tricky but not a huge hurdle.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alublink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A B, Gérant at Hotel la Diligence, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you very much for your really nice feedback and are happy to read that you were satisfied with our hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our house and remain,
With best regards,
The GARSTECKI-BALA Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obernai hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Colombier
Hotel Le Colombier
#3 of 11 in Obernai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel Restaurant & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Gouverneur
Hotel le Gouverneur
#4 of 11 in Obernai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel De La Cloche
Hotel De La Cloche
#6 of 11 in Obernai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins d'Adalric
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Diligence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Diligence

Property: Hotel la Diligence
Address: 23 Place du Marche | 23, Place du Marche, 67210, Obernai, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Obernai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Obernai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Obernai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Diligence 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel la Diligence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Diligence Hotel
Hotel La Diligence Obernai, Alsace, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing