We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Villa Bel-Air”
Review of Hotel la Diligence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel la Diligence
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Obernai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the La Villa Bel-Air for 5 nights. The villa is managed by the hotel. Check-in and check-out is done at the hotel which is located in the town center about 1 km from the Villa/apartments.

The Villa is located on top of a hill in a quite residential area with lovely green surronding.

The apartments are lovely and specious. The kitchenette was equiped for cooking a light meal.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and well maintained.

The apartments are serviced/cleaned every day between 10 am -12 noon. The cleaning service does not include washing the dishes.

The ground floor apartment had an independent entrance. The rest of the apartments used the side entrance. Security was good as the building door is looked and the apartments are equipped with a Video door bell.

The apartment had no AC, no cloths washer/dryer, no iron and ironing board. Unfortunately, the town lundary shop was on vacation during our stay !

The Villa has a nice garden but no swings or any kind of playground toys for the kids. Also there is no fence between the garden and the backside woods. You will need to be careful if your allergic to bees as we saw a few bee hives in the woods.

Just down the hill you'll find Match supermarket with a big parking lot. We also used the supermarket parking when we went to the town. When you buy from the supermarket they will give you a free token for the parking otherwise we normally paid 2 euros during the day and it was free in the evening.

I wouldn't recommend walking to the town as the hill is steep and walking up will be difficult.


  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A B, Gérant at Hotel la Diligence, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Sir,
We thank you very much for your feedbacks that we took in consideration.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our Villa and remain,
With best regards,
The GARSTECKI-BALA Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Once again I found this hotel to be excellent. It is very clean and comfortable. The rooms are very nice and the buffet breakfast is varied. The staff are as always very polite. The location is very good right in the main square.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the ones over the main square are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micias10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A B, Gérant at Hotel la Diligence, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for choosing us once again for your stay in Obernai and wish you a good continuation.
Best regards,
The GARSTECKI-BALA Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in room 222 - front of the hotel with bay window and table and window seats overlooking the square - fabulous. What a way to wind down after a long drive. Very good helpful and welcomng reception staff. All you could want on the breakfast buffet. No doubt that we wil stay here again. Private parking possible and good value.

Room Tip: Room 222 excellent on the front but noise not excessive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sashasax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A B, Gérant at Hotel la Diligence, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for your nice feedback and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon again in our house.
Best wishes,
The GARSTECKI-BALA Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Room prices vary- obviously the front rooms overlooking the square are more expensive
We were shown both options and the front room was large and airy-we actually requested a back room because we wanted guaranteed quiet. all rooms are air conditioned. Room 229 was given to us- this is quite small which the hotel are quite up front about and no view- but its kind of the very end of the building so you don't have neighbours. The bathroom was large enough.
We basically cranked up the air con and shut out the world. Breakfast was very good. staff very friendly

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FAMILY34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in room 331 for 3 nights ($135 AUD). The hotel faces the square. It really is a quaint hotel. Our room was quite large and in need of some updating. It had half a bay window and was on the corner of the building. The bed was large and comfortable. The room is also very clean and quiet even though it faces the square. The bathroom was very small. The toilet faced the shower curtain. The station is a 5 minute walk. We took the train to visit Strasbourg. The train ride took 30 minutes. I really liked Obernai. Very pretty and very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were travelling through Alsace and spent the night here. The folks at the desk were very friendly. The hotel is right on the town square and we had a three person room with a little alcove and sitting table which looked out over the square which we loved. The room was comfortable. We had a rental car and reserved a parking spot, which was in an underground garage. As an American driver, I'm not as adept at fitting into tight spaces, so was challenged to get the car into the space and in retrospect would have probably tried to find a space somewhere else. The town seems to close up pretty early, but we went out looking for a bite in the evening and found a great little place with a German feel just down the street.

Room Tip: If you have 3, try and get one of the rooms with the sitting table facing the square. Great place t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A B, Gérant at Hotel la Diligence, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Madam, dear Sir,
We thank you very much for spending a minute writing a nice feedback and are happy to read that you were satisfied with our hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our house and remain,
With best regards,
The GARSTECKI-BALA Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Well if you want somewhere to put your things whilst you party fine. However, if you want somewhere to stay and have a good nights sleep, stay out of town. Party people on the streets at 0230, then, just to cap it off the dustbin men start coming around at 0530. Room okay, but strange set up, AND, you hear all the loos above and next to you. We wont stay here again. Didn't have breakfast, just wanted to get back on the road to our next destination.

Room Tip: The back of somewhere else really
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A B, Gérant at Hotel la Diligence, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and for giving us an opportunity to address some of the issues you experienced during your visit.
We are sad to know that you left our hotel not feeling 100% satisfied but we would like to remind you that before checking-in, we showed you the room first and you were free to confirm the booking or not.
Our hotel is located right in heart of the city center with great access to main attractions and restaurants. Unfortunately with all of the advantages of our location, if you are not used to live in the city, you can sometimes encounter noise...
We wish you a nice continuation and remain,
With kind regards,
The GARSTECKI-BALA Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obernai hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Le Colombier
Hotel Le Colombier
#3 of 11 in Obernai
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Parc Hotel Restaurant & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Gouverneur
Hotel le Gouverneur
#8 of 11 in Obernai
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel De La Cloche
Hotel De La Cloche
#5 of 11 in Obernai
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins d'Adalric
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Diligence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Diligence

Address: 23 Place du Marche | 23, Place du Marche, 67210, Obernai, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Obernai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Obernai
#6 Romantic Hotel in Obernai
Price Range: £56 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Diligence 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel la Diligence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Diligence Hotel
Hotel La Diligence Obernai, Alsace, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing