We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At least a 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel le Gouverneur
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Obernai
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“At least a 3 star hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Why on earth is this only a two-star Hotel? There is no minibar in the room and no elevator to the second floor but this hotel should have at least 3 stars. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated.

We have stayed in at least 20 different hotels in Alsace and this was one of the best considering price quality. Being located so close to the pedestrian zone with all the restaurants there is no need for the hotel to have its own. During the evenings, before going to bed, you can have a nice glass of Alsace wine in the courtyard at a very decent price. Breakfast was simple but sufficient.

We will definitely stay at the hotel Gouverneur again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lux2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    125
    30
    2
    1
See reviews for
49
120
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

As a group of nine people we stayed in this very rustic but comfortable hotel in Obernai, Alsace
for two nights. All rooms where very comfortable and well decorated. The service given to us by the very well trained staff was outstanding and could not have being better. Breakfast was a buffet and very well equipped. The whole hotel and all the rooms where very clean. the only set back, there was no elevator which was very hard on our female travelers.

Room Tip: The rooms to the side and in the back where a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ungerhausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Historic and beautiful hotel -- solid stone construction with wood timbers and central courtyard. 700 years old, built into town wall, residence of town governor. Totally converted into comfortable hotel several years ago. Attractive good-sized rooms, good furnishings, very clean, quality bathroom. Each room named and uniquely furnished. Fine buffet breakfast at very reasonable 9 Euro price. Hotel price reasonable as well. Perfect spot for easy drives to Strasbourg, Colmar and other Alsace Wine Route towns.
In center of preserved, beautiful, mid-sized Renaissance town with many restaurants, stores, hotels and sites for strolling without cars or crowds. Helpful staff. Free parking close-by. Only negatives were lack of air conditioning and no elevator.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbb543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

It seems hard to believe that this hotel is only a two-star one. The rooms have a lovely luxurious feel to them, are spacious and representative of the region's traditions. Each room is named after a regional wine, dish or attraction. You begin your hotel experience by entering the old elegant courtyard, climbing the wooden staircase and finding your room (the doors all face out to the courtyard, motel-style, but our room (and perhaps all rooms) had a private entrance/hall shared with one other room, so there was absolutely no noise coming from the courtyard.

This was the fourth hotel I stayed in in Obernai and by far the most comfortable. The bed was huge, there were nice basic amenites including shampoo, a hairdrier and extra pillows. Of course, this was reflected in the price, as it will cost you around 30-40 euros more to stay in Le Gouverneur than the other, smaller hotels of the town.

Walls were still a tad too thin for my taste.

The breakfast was completely worth the price; lovely setting, good coffee, lots of fruit and you can even boil your own egg.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anchorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The town’s original Gouverneur lived here; central location with stunning courtyard, ramparts on one side, the Old Town on the other.
Cosy room, roomy shower and separate WC, free WiFi and free protected and locked garage.
Restaurant for buffet breakfast only; many restaurants walking distance in the Old Town.
Excellent price for date booked, efficient and friendly service from all staff, well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Although our room was facing the main road, there was no traffic at night, so we slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orleans51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode-Saint-Genese, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Arrived only at 11pm because of horrible traffic jam, but we were helped by friendly personnel at the front desk, which only closes at midnight.
Reserved a room with 4 beds, but got a well furnished communicating one, with a double bed + a single bed (of no use for us) in the first quarter, and 2 single beds in the second, separated by a door, with bathroom in common.
Delicious breakfast at 9 EUR/p., room at 90, and a private parking at 5, what else to be happy on our way to the ski?

Room Tip: If travelling with 4 or5 persons, try to book this room 201 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilAnneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed here twice during February to break up the long drive from the UK to Austria.

The hotel was easy to find (only 20 minutes from Strasbourg), and the friendly (English speaking) staff made us feel very welcome upon our arrival.

The rooms are set around a picturesque courtyard and are beautifully decorated. Both the rooms that we stayed in were really cosy had AMAZING showers; however they didn't have any tea/coffee making facilities which was a bit of a shame.

There is a large (free) public car park which is ideally situated just behind the hotel and free wi-fi as well which was an unexpected bonus.

The breakfast was lovely - hassle free and there was a good choice.

The town seemed really nice - lots of little shops and restaurants. It was a real shame that we didn't get the chance to explore it properly.

Highly recommended. We would defiantly visit again - Hopefully with more time to spare!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obernai hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Colombier
Hotel Le Colombier
#3 of 11 in Obernai
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel A la Cour d'Alsace
0.6 mi away
Le Parc Hotel Restaurant & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Les Jardins d'Adalric
0.2 mi away
Hotel De La Cloche
Hotel De La Cloche
#6 of 11 in Obernai
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel la Diligence
Hotel la Diligence
#7 of 11 in Obernai
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Gouverneur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Gouverneur

Property: Hotel le Gouverneur
Address: 13 rue de Selestat, 67210, Obernai, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Obernai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Obernai
#4 Romantic Hotel in Obernai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Gouverneur 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gouverneur Hotel is ideally located in the heart of the town of Obernai, in the Alsation region. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi internet access. The guest rooms are all soundproofed and individually decorated. They surround a central courtyard. The Gouverneur Hotel also serves a buffet breakfast, which can be enjoyed on the terrace ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HRS so you can book your Hotel le Gouverneur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Gouverneur Obernai, Alsace, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing