We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hide away place for quietness and romance”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ottrott
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostellerie Du Mont Sainte-Odile
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Ottrott
Reviewed 6 October 2013

it's a hotel built on top of a hill 800m above sea level. everything is perfect including the facilities, environment, meals. My wife and I picked the half board package for EUR106 per night including dinner, breakfast free wifi in reception.
It's a place where no one should miss. The panoramic view of the Alsace area is great and an excellent stop over point for hikers and cyclists
only problem is the smaller than usual room size and there is no TV in the room (complete quietness at night)
We are luck to have a room with balcony overlooking the courtyard(may be because of our referrral fromt he Tourist office in Barr!!)

Room Tip: get a room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wingto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Mont Saint-Odile is a very unique place, situated on a top of a hill, on a sunny day it is not uncommont to see the Rhine and Schwarzwald on the German side of the valley. Vineyards and choucroute fields are below you, along with small towns and villages.

The monastery is an extremely peaceful place, well situated in the mountains - you can drive to Champ du Feu for downhill/cross-country skiing within 20 minutes or visit the former concentration camp at Struthof.

The hotel has been nicely renovated sometime in 2012 and the rooms are now nicely furnished along with private bathrooms. Sure, the service leaves something to be desired, but as long as you understand that you're staying in a former monastery and not a Hilton, you'll be fine. Hotel prices have doubled post-renovation, so be ready for the price hike if you've been here before.

There are two dining options - either self-service hall, open during lunch-hours only and then a la carte dining room; the meals in the latter are not cheap, whereas the self-service is very affordable.

WiFi signal could use some improvement, it is mostly available in the reception area - you might get it in a few rooms nearby if you're lucky.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view to the outside, courtyard view is boring and can be noisy because of all the tou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Perfect location, especially when you do not have to share the floor with French school kids... Perfect view all around the hill/forest... very nice historic building... The dinner was nice. The breakfast very poor! We had to wait at least for 5 minutes till somebody came... The staff in general is missing the motivation, not very customer friendly... At the reception hardly said welcome... once leaving the other day - no "thank you" / no "have a safe trip back home"... It did feel a bit strange... The rooms are not big but very clean and newly furnished. It is definitely nice place to go for a trip but not really recommendable to stay overnight (as long as you expect great service).

Room Tip: Both sides of the building are OK, one side - morning the other one the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asTOMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed here as the idea of staying at an ancient abbey on the top of a mountain really appealed. The location did not disappoint, as the views at night of the surrounding towns were memorable. The weather for us was excellent, and we watched shooting stars from the abbey walls, whilst drinking local wine in near total darkness. So far so good...
The room however, did not quite match the location.
The abbey is obviously still developing its rooms, and the floor we stayed on was clearly still in the throng of construction. The room itself was pleasant enough, but lacked a few of the expected items you would normally find in a hotel room. There was no mirror or TV (not a real problem), but the lack of a curtain or blind in the shower room/toilet did mean brushing up on our limbo dancing under the window which faced into the main courtyard outside. Our strategically placed towels around the window helped protect our privacy whilst showering as well.
To be fair, I suspect that the room was not finished, and these items were to follow, but worth checking when you book. 71 eu for a double room including 2 breakfasts was good we thought, as the location really is something different.
Staff were generally all helpful, except the team at breakfast who had taken grumpy pills that morning.

Room Tip: Enquire when booking that the room is complete !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsitch12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Don't be dismayed by the limited English on the website. Booking personel are OK at both English and German, besides French of course. Rooms in the already completed renovation section are small, but adequate. Ask for a room with a view of the valley, the court yard side is where all visitors come through. Only restaurant around, about 12 kilometers down the mountain are other options. A place for quiet soul-searching. Good trails for hiking, well marked. Get up early before the tourist arrive to enjoy the view and peaceful mountain air for your self.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bedste02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

For a cheap price you will sleep in total silence, with great food, and be weaken-up by thousands of birds. If lucky, you will even meet some deers in your morning walk in the woods.A Monastery , open to public, close to Strasbourg, on the top of a mountain. Close to Heaven !

Room Tip: A room with a view on the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hélène K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottrott
0.7 mi away
Domaine Le Moulin
Domaine Le Moulin
#3 of 7 in Ottrott
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostellerie des Chateaux & Spa
2 mi away
Le Parc Hotel Restaurant & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant du Chateau d'Andlau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant L'Ami Fritz
2.5 mi away
Hotel Sainte Odile
Hotel Sainte Odile
#10 of 11 in Obernai
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Du Mont Sainte-Odile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Du Mont Sainte-Odile

Address: 5 avenue des Myrtilles, 67530 Ottrott, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Ottrott
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Ottrott
Number of rooms: 61

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing