We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Riquewihr
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simple and nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The staff was really nice and speaks french, german and english. Our room was tidy, clean and calm. The bathroom cute and functional. The hotel is really well located in a little street perpendicular to the main street. They have a restaurant but I didn't try it. One thing to know, there is no lift to access the 1st and 2nd floor so keep that in mind if you have a big luggage or fragile knees. The wifi is only available near the hotel reception not n the bedrooms but they have a nice salon where you can sit to use internet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatie_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    156
    25
    3
    0
See reviews for
92
132
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We chose Riquewihr to stop off on-route to the Italian Lakes and so needed to find somewhere we could reach with one day's driving from Calais - we had not realised that we would finish up in such a magical town.

We chose Hotel Saint-Nicholas based upon our budget (very good value) and the wish to be within the walled town. It proved to be an excellent choice, so much so that we booked again for the return trip five days later. We had a very warm reception by the owner. Parking outside the town walls was a bit of a problem in the late afternoon, however, once the tourist not staying in the town had departed in the early evening there was not a problem. In fact the town can be best enjoyed in the evening and the early morning.

Close by the hotel there was a delightful Christmas shop with the most amazing displays and a huge stock of all things Chirstmassy. Great bread and cake shop to buy our picnic for the onward journeys. Stunning architecture and lots to see.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FPHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Situated in the picturesque medieval town of Riquewihr in the heart of Alsace. The hotel has loads of character & the staff could teach UK hotels a thing or two about hospitality. The room was cosy, with ensuite shower/ toilet ( also very clean)& the rates very reasonable considering it's amazing location.
Breakfast was great.. Bread & croissant so fresh it was often still warm, plentiful supply of coffee & tea, yoghurt, fruit, etc
Nothing was too much trouble for our host Raphael, he tolerated my shaky French, helped us hire a car cheaply, booked taxis & helped with other travel arrangements.
This hotel was a pleasure to stay in & I would recommend it to anyone who wants to explore this beautiful region of France.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StNicolasRiquewihr, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Many thanks for your advise and for taking time to write it ; hope to welcome you next year.
Regards from Hotel St Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel is located in the midst of the little village, but not exactly at the main road, therefore quite. The rooms are simple and clean. Breakfast is 'not a big deal', sort of expensive (around € 8.- p.p.), but o.k.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Don_Pedro_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StNicolasRiquewihr, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Madam, sir,

You wrote an advise on the St Nicolas a few month ago. When did you stayed there ? the 11th of April the hotel was still closed for works. You probably went here last year, at that time the hotel was run by previous owner.
Now the breakfast is 10,50€/pers but served at the buffet , lot of works has been done for making the rooms much confortable and silent, bathrooms has been renewed.
We are expecting you for a new experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riquewihr
0.1 mi away
Hotel De La Couronne
Hotel De La Couronne
#3 of 8 in Riquewihr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Schoenenbourg
0.1 mi away
Hotel l'Oriel
Hotel l'Oriel
#4 of 8 in Riquewihr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Riquewihr
Hotel Le Riquewihr
#6 of 8 in Riquewihr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.9 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chambard
Chambard
#1 of 5 in Kaysersberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas

Property: Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas
Address: 2 rue Saint Nicolas, 68340 Riquewihr, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Riquewihr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Riquewihr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Saint Nicolas is ideally locatel in the heart of the historical village, close to the main street, shops and museums. The hotel offers 31 rooms, all located in 2 charming houses of the XVIIth century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Nicolas Hotel Riquewihr
Hotel Saint Nicolas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing