We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value for money”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riquewihr
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Restaurant Au Dolder
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Riquewihr
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great location - position in the heart of the picturesque, pedestrian only town - Riquewihr ( be prepared for a hike with your bags). We came by chance and stayed for 2 nights.
stayed 4 pers (2 adults + 2 children) in a triple room costs 85 Euro per night (excluding breakfast)
The rooms are OK, though there is no aircondition and in the heart of the summer you have to sleep with open windows

We arrived at around 9pm and were very hungry, but they would not serve food after 9PM.
on our departure day we took the breakfast, that was only average and at 8.5 euros per person (also for kids) we have had much better.

The place has a private parking, placed outside the ancient town walls and costs 5 Euro a day (when parking in Riquewihr regular parking (also outside the ancient walls) it costs 2-3 Euros but it allowed only for 2-3 hours (9:00-19:00).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ori1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

The hotel is owned and run by a wonderfully friendly chap called Jacky. It is situated right on the main street. The room is comfortable and clean - good value for money. Check-in takes only a few seconds as they were expecting us. We have no problem with language as the owner speaks English. The hotel has its own parking garage outside the city wall. Although the city is car-free, you can drive in to load and unload your luggage. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HockLyeLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel, its position in the heart of this pedestrian only town is second to none. The rooms are OK though there is no air con and in the heart of the summer it does get very hot in the rooms.

We arrived at around 6pm and were very hungry, but they would not serve food until 7pm. However with our drinks, when I asked for some bread, the waiter brought some pretzels to have with our drinks, which was very kind.. The food is quite expensive, but it seems the norm in this town as it is so picturesque

The breakfasts however were only average and at 8 euros per person we have had much better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroleNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2008

The hotel is located on the main pedestrian-only cobbled street at the upper end, so be prepared for a bit of a hike with your bags. Although our room's furnishings were a little dated, it was still comfortable with a double window that opened to the street and made for great people-watching. Fortunately the crowds leave by dinner time.
The second-floor room was fairly priced at 59 euros. As with any hotel anywhere, I would recommend bringing your printed e-mail confirmation if you're not fluent in French.
I would also recommend the 8-euro buffet of cereals, meats, cheeses, fruit, breads and coffee, which sustained us for all the great hiking in the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestCoastRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

We had a LOVELY stay at the Dolder! It is in a perfect location within the town - right near the clock tower. It is an amazing, story-book like town and the Dolder is the perfect way to experience it. VERY charming and romantic. We stayed only one night, but will definitely return someday and stay longer.

The room was incredibly inexpensive - the least expensive of our whole 12-day vacation, but one of our two favorites hotels of the trip. It was a small, but comfortable, lovely and clean room with an incredible view of the town. We were on the second level just above the hotel's restaurant. The views were incredible (see photos).

The bathroom was separated - toilet in one room, shower and sink in the other. The bathroom was also small, clean, efficient and lovely.

The staff was very friendly and kind, and check-in literally took only about 30 seconds.

I just can't say enough about this hotel - it's phenomenal. We loved it and would DEFINITELY stay again. It's very charming, historical and romantic - and so is the town. Plus the price was so good I just couldn't believe it. I thought there had to be a catch, but there wasn't!

NOTE: In this town, you park outside the "walls" and walk in. Come up around the right side of the town and continue up until you see the "town center" sign toward the end - park near there if possible, as it's the closest pathway in and leads right next to the hotel. If not there, continue up to the parking lot just above the town and head in from there. The parking said it was 2 Euro an hour, but we (and several other visitors) discovered that 2 Euro printed out a ticket that was good until the next morning. Just put it on your dash and you're done!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank darcysmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadineP51200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ssibille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riquewihr
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg
0.1 mi away
Hotel De La Couronne
Hotel De La Couronne
#3 of 8 in Riquewihr
560 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Saint-Nicolas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Riquewihr
Hotel Le Riquewihr
#5 of 8 in Riquewihr
246 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Le Menestrel
Hotel Le Menestrel
#6 of 11 in Ribeauville
127 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hostellerie Schwendi
Hostellerie Schwendi
#1 of 2 in Kientzheim
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Au Dolder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Au Dolder

Address: 52 rue du General de Gaulle, 68340 Riquewihr, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Riquewihr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Riquewihr
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing