We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really excellent restaurant hungry diners well fed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Imprevu

L'Imprevu
Ranked #6 of 176 Restaurants in Agen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$26
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Really excellent restaurant hungry diners well fed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Young hip restaurant where the food really matters. The menu is good value. The name of the restaurant means "unexpected" and it really is just that, unexpectedly wonderful. We had the soup de poisson to start and it was heavenly. The salad with Homard/lobster was worth the supplement, main for hubby's ris de veau was great. My main was fish sole and it was excellent. Desserts were included and sweet and light. Yummy. Go, you will be happy you did!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    120
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
charente
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic steak!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We chose this restaurant from TA reviews and they were not wrong. Service was patchy but always attentive with plenty of nibbles while we waited. Without a doubt worth the trip just for the entrecôte steak, absolutely fantastic, and a very interesting wine list too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perigueux
Level Contributor
195 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks I have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Don't expect speedy service but they keep you topped up with olives why you wait. And the wait is worth it! The food was excellent. The entrecote steak was cooked just how I like it. It was thick and juicy and must have been 500g! You should not leave hungry.

Located right in the centre of the city

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aire-sur-l'Adour, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and stunning value for money.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We chose L'Imprevu after reading the positive reviews on this website and certainly have no regrets about our choice.

The restaurant had a 'Menu du Jour' at 14.50 Euros - four courses and copious choice. The price of apperatives and wine was also incredible.

The food itself was absolutely fantastic. Enormous, fresh and varied salads, beautifully cooked fish and chicken and good side dishes too - more than you could comfortably eat. The desserts were also delicious.

The service was about the best I've ever experienced in France. It's not a very big restaurant, but I counted at least nine staff. Every member of staff was hurrying to serve people and they seemed genuinely dedicated to providing a great customer experience.

Overall, I'd have recommended this restaurant on the basis of its cuisine alone, but when you add the incredible value for money and the service then it becomes a 'must-do'. We live in SW France, but a good couple of hours from Agen - our experience at L'Imprevu had us regretting that we don't live closer!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke_de_Tort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Imprevu also viewed

Agen, Lot-et-Garonne
Agen, Lot-et-Garonne
 
Agen, Lot-et-Garonne
Agen, Lot-et-Garonne
 

Been to L'Imprevu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing