We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very French, authentic and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chateau des Jacobins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Chateau des Jacobins
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Agen
Yeovil, Somerset
Level Contributor
157 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very French, authentic and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Lovely, older building, well located in the centre of Agen, within very easy walking distance of all you would want to see and do in the town. The rooms are large, very high ceilings with furniture to match! It is a fascinating house to look round and the patron, Stephane, speaks good English and will recommend restaurants to try that are very close to the hotel.

Breakfast was served on the terrace outside our ground floor room and was what is expected, with the addition of some Agen prunes. All very nice, and the terrace area, in front of the house is quiet and beautifully laid out, although it is the main parking area as well. Little expensive, but worth it and it was well signposted and very easy to find. Recommended!

Tip: when you arrive if the two large, metal blue doors are closed, get out and ring the door bell/ intercom, Stephane will then open up to the courtyard car park ( all very secure) .

Room Tip: Ground floor, at the front, we had French windows direct onto the terrace, with a small table and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SomersetSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    13
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
21
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

A beautiful old Chateau right in the centre of the old city, running as a hotel / guest house. The room sizes vary (therefore the prices - suggest you check) but you can still feel the grandeur of the building and its furnishings. It could double as a museum. Quirky.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

The main attraction of Jacobins is that it is an attractive old house centrally located in Agen and with secure parking (see photo). The house is decorated in a very imaginative style and contains many antiques and good quality furniture. Our room, on the ground floor, was very well appointed and with, what appeared to be, a newly renovated bathroom - with bath and shower. The room was very clean and well-maintained. We were welcomed by a rather frail lady, who explained in detail all that we needed to know (in French, my wife is a native speaker). The lady's grandson, Stephane, seemed to run the hotel on a day-to-day basis. He was very helpful, particularly in recommending a fine resaurant just down the road (Le Morgoton - see separate review). Agen is an interesting city and the ability to park safely and centrally is a real plus. My only real gripe was the wi-fi which was very poor in our room. However, this was a very comfortable and welcoming place to stay. We enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perniticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Despite its name, this is not a hotel and does not offer the services or facilities of a hotel; however it is a pleasant bed and breakfast establishment with traditional decor and furniture, very well located in the centre of Agen.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank connaisseuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valroufie, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location in the middle of old town in Agen. There is free secure parking in the hotels courtyard. The owner is very friendly and speaks very good English. The hotel and our room were filled with antiques and period furniture. All very nice. Breakfast is served in the lovely courtyard. It's about a 5 minute walk to either of the farmers markets if you are there on those days.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

This is a find. Perfect location right in the old section, quiet, with parking in the courtyard. 4 star, Nice sized, air conditioned, Room 16, ( a two floor walkup), twin beds, table chairs, free wifi throughout the hotel, CNN, minibar, Kleenex but no washcloths. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2010

To start, I am a fairly high maintenance traveler and I was a lot worried to stay here based on the reviews, but as it was recommended I went for it. It was GREAT! The owner, a quite elderly woman is a bit eccentric and her grandson runs the place and his English is not the best which, but the rooms are darling and spotless. It was the first good night's sleep I had had in France. I had everything I needed. There was a little fridge in the room with different waters and juices, TV (which i never turned on), extra blankets, plenty of pillows. The bathroom was very large with a over-sized tub. The hair dryer didn't work right, but I had my own so in was not a problem.

The building is more like a private home than a hotel. Walled with a lovely little courtyard. There are two large rooms on the 1st floor where breakfast is served. And what a great breakfast...an orange, bread basket, coffee, dates...it was just right. They new i was vegetarian and that was no problem. There is the cutest little dog - Petris. Who joined me for breakfast on the first day (he likes oranges).

The decorations are authentic and really beautiful. If you spend some time int he sitting rooms you can see the family pictures displayed. Really good design sense. They also had wireless internet and a guest computer downstairs. I attached some pictures. This is a little bed and breakfast in a southern France manufacturing town so be realistic. If you want a unique and cozy experience give this a try.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thg07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agen hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel le Provence
Hotel le Provence
#5 of 14 in Agen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stim'Otel
Stim'Otel
#2 of 14 in Agen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Astoria
Residence Astoria
#3 of 14 in Agen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Agen Centre
Ibis Agen Centre
#4 of 14 in Agen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Ambans
Hotel des Ambans
#8 of 14 in Agen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
4.1 mi away
AKENA City Agen Castelculier
AKENA City Agen Castelculier
#1 of 1 in Castelculier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau des Jacobins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau des Jacobins

Property: Hotel Chateau des Jacobins
Address: 2 rue Maurice Jacob, 47000, Agen, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Agen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Agen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau des Jacobins 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chateau des Jacobins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing