We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic castle with nice view over Brindos lake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Brindos

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chateau de Brindos
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Anglet
Certificate of Excellence
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
166 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A fantastic castle with nice view over Brindos lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in this fantastic castle. We were uppgraded to a big suite with terasse and fantastic view over the lake.

All stuff are friendly and helpful and the restaurant prepared good food for our two children after there wishes.

The hotell has a nice garden and a swimmingpool.

It's a very good option when you come tired from a flight. It only takes five minutes to drive from the airport to the hotel.

We will come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    98
    38
    25
    8
See reviews for
64
299
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel made a favorable initial impression. The main building is in the Mediterranean Revival style that was popular in the 1920s and '30s (think Hearst Castle, California, on a much smaller scale); the property is attractively landscaped and has a lake; and the rooms are well-appointed.

The favorable impression came to a sudden end when I asked where the control for the air conditioning was. The clerk at the front desk responded that because we were in the "low season," the management had turned off the air conditioning in the rooms. In late June. In southwestern France, near the Spanish border.

To make a bad situation worse, when I went to dinner I left the terrace door open to cool the room off while out. Upon my return, I discovered that someone had entered my room and closed it.

The air was humid enough to begin with, but the lake makes the humidity worse. And the flying insects did not respect the room boundaries.

I closed the terrace door when I went to sleep, but the room was still uncomfortable. There is no fan.

Lack of air conditioning would be understandable in a pension. But this purports to be a luxury hotel, and costs €190 per night. Without air conditioning, it wasn't at all luxurious. I did not appreciate the insinuation that guests in the "low season" are not worth the expense. The season may have been low, but the temperatures were not.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadsScholar62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent three days in Biarritz for the "Wheels and Waves" Event 2014. It was the best idea to have the Chateau de Brindos as homebase for the long weekend.

This beautiful small luxury hotel is located at a small lake in a quite region near the city center of Biarritz. We had a very warm welcome from the management and got a nice upgrade to a suite with a view to the lake.

The service in the hotel is outstanding and remarkable. We had a great time in Biarritz. Thanks to all the people from Chateau de Brindos.

We will be back for Wheels and Waves 2015

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentleydrivers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The experience we had as a family was out of this world! We will certainly be back.....soon!
The chateau is just beautiful, wonderfully placed by the lake and managed most efficiently by the friendly manager, Arnaud Sehebiade and his staff. Enjoyed the breakfast thoroughly.
We would highly recommend the hotel to our friends!
Thank you for a lovely experience!
Nick, Mandy, Abigail& Rebecca Horton

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Horts667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with family and friends for our wedding which was celebrated onsite. Lovely private setting in BAB (Biarritz/Anglet/Bayonne). Bedroom and living accommodation were very luxurious, clean, spacious and comfortable and kept with historical character of the property. There was a few activities onsite to keep people busy including outdoor pool.

The wedding reception area was excellent and the food succulent.

The only drawback was the waitstaff... Waitresses and waiters were smarmy and really not up to the standard this establishment is trying to set. That's a shame and this should cost Brindos their 5* in my opinion.

Overall I would highly recommend though. We did have our glorious moment! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cedric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Chateau is stunningly beautiful, and the rooms well appointed.
The disabled rooms, which our party were allocated despite all of us being able bodied, are very smart, but the bathroom floors have been incorrectly laid. In consequence whenever the shower is used the bathroom floods. This in turn has led to the floor boards curling up and blocking the door opening. Not what we expected in a five star hotel.
The restaurant is very beautiful but expensive even for Biarritz.
I would describe this as a high end hotel for people with deep pockets.
There were two weddings in the hotel during our stay, and the music was still playing after 2 a.m.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife & I love this hotel.The staff led by the most hospitable general manager,Arnaud are without a doubt some of the best in the business.
We had a beautiful room & enjoyed a delightful dinner outside sitting by the side of the lake.Magical!
Breakfast was also taken outside & although its a buffet it is very good & includes hot food.
We thoroughly recommend the hotel & are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anglet
2.2 mi away
Le Regina Biarritz Hotel & Spa - MGallery Collection
4.1 mi away
Atlanthal
Atlanthal
#1 of 14 in Anglet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Resort & Spa Biarritz Anglet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais
Hotel du Palais
#2 of 64 in Biarritz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
8.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
Grand Hotel Thalasso & Spa
#2 of 29 in Saint-Jean-de-Luz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#13 of 64 in Biarritz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Brindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Brindos

Property: Chateau de Brindos
Address: 1 Allee du Chateau, 64600 Anglet, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Anglet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Anglet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Brindos 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Basque Coast, close to the Biarritz Beaches, the Château is tucked awayin the heart of lush greenery near the calm waters of the largest private lakes in France. The Hôtel gives its guests a unique, warm reception and offers elegant cuisine with original flavours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Brindos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Brindos Hotel Anglet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing